We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a pleasurable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Truly a pleasurable experience”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very spacious and well appointed room, wonderful friendly staff, excellent breakfast, beautiful lobby and bar, and excellent food in the restuarant. My 4 nights at the Holiday Inn Chaing Maai really was a pleasure, and I would rate it as one of the best value for money hotels that I have stayed in.
The only minor negatives are that they need more staff on the check-in counter, a bit more attention to cleaning the rooms (old soap in the shower and rubbish still in one of the waste bins when I checked into my room; and it is too far out of the city centre to be able to walk.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    727
    292
    97
    43
See reviews for
310
601
149
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

A very good hotel at a very good location.The rooms are old but decent enough.The breakfast was good and the staff very polite and courteous.Overall value for money hotel and would recommend it to travellers.

Room Tip: Take the city view rooms and not the back side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsjhaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at this Holiday Inn in Chiang Mai, it was a beautiful hotel with great decor and the service was first class. All our needs were taken care of and there was no complaints. Every employee greeted with a smile and it was wonderful. The only thing was that the coffee bar lacked employees, so the service was a bit slow. But I will definitely return to this hotel when I come back to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonevaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My friend and I were pleasantly surprised by the big room that we were given at this hotel. Check-in was fast and the staff were very welcoming and warm.

The room was large with a set of sofa at one corner and we had a river view room.

The toilet was also very clean and had a glass-enclosed shower and also a bath-tub

We didn't take our breakfast there as we wanted to try their local food.

We would stay here again should we visit Chiang Mai in future

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orkidmunsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is a bit older but very nice... it is clean. They serve a buffet in the evening where everyone should go. The breakfast was one of the best we had so far in Thailand.

Room Tip: Book a standard room and ask for a offer to the executive room inkl. breakfast. We got it for around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I know the saying of "You get what you pay for", but in this case, having stayed in 2 other 3 star hotels elsewhere during our recent trip to Thailand, we were very disappointed. We were in a room on the 20th floor (no cell reception), I had to phone reception to have the doorknob in the bathroom fixed(to be able to use the door) and to have the remote's batteries changed, after which I had to phone again to have the television cable plugged in correctly. The continental breakfast had many different noodle dishes, all cold and tough by 8h30 am and I had to ask the chef behind the counter on TWO occasions to kill small cockroaches running on the counter. Which he did by simply flicking them off the counter and carrying on making omelets. Their evening menu is ridiculously expensive for the quality of food they offer and their wine, at around 320 THB per glass is a laugh. The hotel is also not walking distance from the main shops( 50THB for a tuk-tuk)/ or the night market

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Very impressive reception area, with helpful staff.
The room however was not!!!
The windows were so dirty you could hardly see through them, never mind take a photograph.
The bed was comfortable, with sheets changed every day. A Plus point there.
Breakfast was fairly good & comprehensive, although some mornings we had to wait for a considerable time to be served tea & coffee.
The laundry service was excellent, with clothes being returned the same day, neatly pressed & folded.
The reception staff were friendly & very helpful,arranging taxis/hotel transport. etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#56 of 381 in Chiang Mai
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing