We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“After 5 visits over 8 years, I look forward to the next 6 in Royal Princess ChiangMai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“After 5 visits over 8 years, I look forward to the next 6 in Royal Princess ChiangMai”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Location : The location is very ideal for travelers. Right outside it's front door is part of the extended night market which extends 0.5 km to the left and 0.5 km to the right. Exchanging currency is easy, there are two Thai banks across the street. There's a starbucks and mc donald on it's left and further down is the older Night Bazaar which is a big one. To the right, just 50 meters down is another night market and restaurants. And several massage stations that go for Baht 150, I think it was. Saw gellato stations, stalls that sell fresh fruits, dry fruits stands, spices, back packs, decors, clothes galore ! You can spend an hour or much more in this area.

Steps away is a Japanese buffet restaurant that is fully airconditioned for Baht 200; and another one that serve bento box meals for Baht 150.

Pricing : Moderate .... Affordable ... Worth it if not more that what we pay.

Breakfast : Very good daily buffet breakfast for me. If you are a gourmand, you might want to cross the street instead. For culinary ( more $$$$$ ) meals.

Floor Area : 32 sq m .... which is a gem. More and more hotels are doing 24 sq m. Oh please. The managers should try living in them. Here in Asia, any hotel with less than 24 sq m needs should be in the bottom of the list.

Amenities : Ensuite bathroom with tub and shower, room safe, AC.

I'm excited to be back. Will take a few friends along. And I'm not even in the travel industry.

Most of my travels now are for leisure. So, i don't access my emails when overseas. Clients sms or call my mobile phone if they need me. This hotel's internet service is expensive. Cross the street instead.

Caveat : Most floors have renovated rooms. A couple or so have yet to be renovated. Even if not yet renovated, the rooms are bearable. I don't like to complain much when I'm on holiday with the rates this hotel charges. For those that have high standards, there
are two that may suit your taste buds - on the same street. And one that is on the other end of the night market that I think is "to die for".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oskrehoboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    583
    247
    54
    39
See reviews for
240
520
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Had 4 nights in Chaing Mai.

Walked out of the hotel straiight into the night markets so perfect location.

Loads of cheap places to eat too.

Hotel was clean and staff friendly, no need to stay in the posher hotels.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank liz73Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Had 3 nights here and for our purposes was a great choice. The location is its big selling point, as its right in the middle of the night markets that line the street in front of the hotel and across the road from the night market area. Also plenty of decent food and bars within a couple of minutes walk. The hotel was still under renovation and there was banging and noise from 9am-5pm, which didnt bother us at all, but if we intended on sleeping in, it might have been a concern. Our room was on the 9th floor and had already been renovated. Overall, the room was nothing out of the ordinary, but was comfortable and the bathroom was great, except for the poor design of the shower area, which let water flood out onto the bathroom floor whenever you used it. The view we had was to the wall of the building next door, but really, there's not much of a view around Chiang Mai anyway, so you're not missing out on much. The pool area was ok, it was a bit tired and in need of a face lift and the pool bar wasnt manned, so you had to ring from the phone there for drinks, but its not a hotel you want to be at to sit around the pool anyway. We had breakfast included and it was more than acceptable, not the best we had in Thailand, but a good selection of western and asian. The rest of the hotel was clean and well kept and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I also made use of the hotel transport service, which was only 100baht to get to the airport in one of their mini vans, very reasonable. I would have no problem staying here again, but for me, 3 days in Chiang Mai was enough, as there isnt a lot to do aside from an elephant camp (go to Mae Tang river camp with ox carts and bamboo rafting, its awesome) and tiger kingdom day trip, a rainforest flying fox and the night markets.


Our pics were the all you can eat sushi on the corner at the lights to the right of the hotel, the cafeteria in the Alare markets across the street and to the left about 200m and the open air bar there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuchy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights with my two young children. We had a inter-connecting room which was fantastic so we could all have privacy!

Room was large, very clean and modern. All the staff were amazing, porters, door men, reception, restaurant, bar & cleaners couldnt do enough for you.

Most of all we loved the location, right in the action and great to go back to our hotel when we needed a break from the heat & to rest our feet!!

We would stay here again and really cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

After reading some reviews on Trip Advisor I was a little apprehensive about this hotel. My fears were unfounded. All the staff were very friendly & helpful. Many were keen to practice their english language conversation skills & we had a great time talking with them.
Our room was large,clean & comfortable & serviced everyday. The carpet & paint work were new.
The only comment I could make re the bathroom was there was some mould on the grouting. I had actually taken disenfectant cleaning cloths with me as I was worried re the cleanliness of the bathroom, the packet came home unopened.
Breakfast was great, loved the pancakes & french toast, & the pineapple was increadible, even better than ours in Australia.
We ate in the hotel cafe a few times, only complaint was tough pork/chicken.
The location could'nt have been better - right in the middle of the night markets with a Strakbucks a few door down.
We loved Chaing Mai & will return. Would definetly stay at the Royal Princess again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Nice hotel in the heart of the night markets. Close to everything. Good value for money with a full buffet breakfast included every morning and a newspaper delivered to our room everyday. When we arrived we found our toilet leaked, they sent someone up to fix it. We went out and when we returned later we found it was still leaking. We went down and told them at reception and they had us in our new room in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addictedtotravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This hotel is located near the night market so everything is within walking distance. This is a plus (not having to haggle with tuk-tuk drivers). The rooms are bit pricy for the quality. The breakfast is not worth paying for if it is not included with your room. The staff was very friendly, which is common for most hotels in Thailand. That being said, I knew I was going into a lower-end hotel when I booked the room. However, I have stayed at nicer hotels in Thailand for a cheaper price so this hotel did not meet my expectations. You pay for the location here; if you only go for a four day trip like I did, and you plan to shop a lot, then take this room as you won't spend much time in it :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahandJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant business. We are a member of Dusit International and going to change our hotel name to Dusit Princess Chiangmai Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing