We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Night Bazaar, disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 4, 2010

If you are looking for a hotel right in the action, Royal Princess certainly fits the bill. Unfortunately, my stomach began to sink when we pulled up--it looks seedy from the outside, and the while it has clearly been renovated sometime in recent years, it doesn't feel much better from the inside.

Our room was fine--the air conditioning worked incredibly well. The bathroom was dated and dingy. It desperately needed a deep clean and a renovation.

The breakfast was good each morning, with Western, Thai, and Chinese options.

The concierge/tour desk was completely unhelpful; they did not speak English well enough to help us with the problem we were having. Luckily, we dealt with it on our own. Also, you need mosquito repellent for the lobby itself.

The one bright spot of this hotel is the pool, which is this sweet hidden quiet oasis.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetiteSyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2009

I stayed 3 nights. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel upgraded us from a superior room to a junior suite. Little did we know that the room window faces a solid wall ; a junior suite with NO view. Since we were staying there for only 3 nights and reckoned that we'll be out most of the time, we took the room. The hotel could do with some renovation. The furnishings are a little dated and old. The bathtub leaked and we need to put a towel to prevent a wet bathcoom. This was made up by the friendly staff, superb service and great location. All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants easy access to the night bazaar and food outlets. Just remember to check out the room first and ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Princess Chiang Mai for 3 nights. We were very happy with it. The hotel is a bit old, but has been recently renovated.. The room is a good size, had been repainted and recarpeted, with very good air-con. The bathroom is a bit old and dated, but very clean. The buffet breakfast is great, with good variety. The staff are friendly. The location is excellent, very very close to the Night Bazaar. Right opposite the hotel is a very good open air night market, which has a lot of restaurants and selling all kinds of local handmades and souvenirs. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Part of the Dusit family of hotels. Close to the night market. Many fast and not so fast food restaurants and pubs nearby. Service always friendly and accommodations clean and pleasant

Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
Thank RogerB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed at the Royal Princess for 3 nights. The room was neat and clean, aircon worked well, was fine for what we required. Its not luxurious but we didnt come there to sit in the room all day!Service was great, they tried their hardest to help when you asked a question even though the language barrier can be a bit of a problem. Good pool and gym. We had room service once for brekky which was quite good, didnt eat in the restaurant at all though. We would reccommend getting breakfast there as there is nowehere near there to get brekky except for maccas or starbucks because nothing is open until about 11am!Get your laundry done across the road at Den Dueng restaurant (also an internet cafe there), the prices are so much cheaper than the hotel and they do a great job.The food there is good too. If you want to book day trips there are plenty of travel booking places on the side streets nearby. Its right in the middle of the night bazaar so its a fantastic location at night if you want to shop.All in all a good stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

It's a good solid place in Chiang Mai and the price certainly is cheap. Yes, the place is a bit tired but they are helpful and kind and it is clean. I checked out two times and then back in (due to some excursions I was taking) and they were accommodating in letting me leave all my excess luggage with them. Great location for the night market.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisainChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Royal Princess is not a new hotel.. We booked a superior room, but after seeing that one and getting a good offer for an upgrade at the reception we changed to an executive plus room on the 8th floor.
And that was really a room you can expect for the rate you're paying. Yes indeed, design wise it's not very novel, but it just looks nice and new. Bathroom is nice - warm water going freezing and very hot was annoying.
Service wise I think they're doing a very good job! Turn down service, personal attention from the staff, this was all very good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundtheglobe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#67 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#52 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $53 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing