We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a very centrallocation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #57 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value in a very centrallocation...”
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Stayed with family for 3 nights after selecting from TA reviews of hotels in the Night Market area. The rooms were 'fussier' than suits are taste, but clean, if slightly careworn, with decent bathrooms and a good selection of toiletries.

I was surprised to learn that the hotel is part of the Dusit Group of usually, very upmarket hotels, and can only assume the Royal Princess will receive the Dusit 'treatment' in due course.

Breakfasts offered excellent choices and the staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. We have absolutely no complaints, and didn't experience any of the negative aspects noted by some reviewers. The hotel is very good value and I will stay here again.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — room decor, but outweighed by everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    610
    259
    55
    40
See reviews for
253
543
124
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

For what we payed to stay at this hotel we were expecting no more than average. However from the moment we walked in we were stunned by the service, location and ambience of the place. The night bazaar is right outside the front door (although you can not hear it from inside). I have to admit we did not eat or use any of the amenities but the room was faultless and so was the location. If you are planning a trip to Chiang Mai you can go wrong with the Princess!

  • Liked — Location/Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tess1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckenham kent
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

This was a very average hotel, i'm sure when it was first built it was really lovely but that must have been sometime ago.

The rooms are clean but do smell abit of damp.

The swimming pool was the best thing about this hotel.

The food in the resturant was overpriced and not very good.

  • Liked — proximity
  • Disliked — damp
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diysos63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

We stayed here for four nights and wished we had booked for longer. It was the poshest hotel I had ever stayed in! A pianist in the lobby, doors being opened for you, a man with an umbrella sheltering us from the rain as we got out of a taxi!

Everyone at the hotel was very welcoming. Great friendly staff at reception.

Breakfast was amazing. Anything you could want was there. The omelettes were particulary nice. There was even sea bass one morning!
Our room was large with tea and coffee facilities and a tv with a range of channels. Air con was very good and quiet. Good powerful shower. We didn't have much of a view, but we had gone for one of the cheaper rooms.

There was a lovely swimming pool there too, but we didn't get to go in it as we were so busy!
I would definately stay at this hotel again. Chiang Mai was my favourite place when we travelled around Thailand. I would recommend you did the cookery course, 'The best Thai cookery school' run by Permpoon Nabnian, and the one day treck to hike to see the hill tribes, ride elephants and go rafting - fantastic! Chiang Mai zoo and botanical gardens was worth going to just to see the pandas!

  • Liked — Value for money.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lucia0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Fantastic accommodation and excellent service - cannot fault it. We stayed here for 4 nights with our 21 month old daughter and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. All of the staff from reception to security, porters and waiters were incredibly helpful and always able to assist. The room was excellent and spacious enough for lots of luggage and a baby cot, and the pool, restaurant etc. were all clean and perfectly fine. Great location right in the heart of the night market too. Highly recommend and we will definitely stay here next time!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Upon mid afternoon check-in, we were greeted with tasty cold juice on platter with fresh flowers, but had to wait about 20 mins before our room was ready. Room was attractive but sparsely furnished, with a bench but no western style chair. There was no place but small closet to store clothing, so we unpacked some hanging clothes but otherwise could not unpack our suitcases. Since room was large with lots of open space, there was plenty of room to store golf clubs, etc. Air con was questionable, was worked on and improved a couple days into our stay. Getting an iron or extra towels delivered to the room took at least a half hour or longer. The slippers & robes provided were pleasant. The bathroom amenities that we used up, such as the q-tips, were not replenished.

Had booked an upgraded room since we were celebrating a special occasion; in retrospect the regular rooms are supposedly western style and we probably would have been more comfortable in one of those.

Breakfast buffet was ok, with fresh fruit and a good variety of options. Did not eat in any of their restaurants or use the pool.

Location is good for markets, and hotel is quiet in spite of being in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Front desk staff was very helpful in making phone calls to help us make additional arrangements, and made excellent recommendations as far as restaurants.

Bottom line, some nice touches in decor and front desk service, but room quite utilitarian. Next time, I would spend more money to be a little more comfortable.

  • Liked — Location, front desk assistance
  • Disliked — Deluxe room not comfortably or adequately furnished (at least for western taste), slow housekeeping service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank alohalucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

When checking in at 3pm we were told that our booking for a double room was not available until the next day!!! When I asked why I was told that the couple using it were having a late check out and that there would be" problems for everyone checking in this afternoon, not just us" I wasn't happy about this and was told my options were a twin room and then change the next day or wait for the couple to check out and the room to be cleaned and we could check in at 7pm.I said that very reluctantly we would take the twin room, but I would be contacting my travel agent when I got home (I know that this agent sends a lot of clients here) and tell them what we had experienced at check in, and suddenly, guess what.....an upgraded revamped double room became available, which we accepted. The room and bathroom on the seventh floor were tired and weary, paintwork was grubby and linens and towels had seen better days.

Breakfast was nothing special.
Location was great, Pool was lovely but not used a lot. There is a complimentary shuttle bus to the Airport shopping mall which is good for shopping.

Directly across the road is an internet cafe and beside it a great little local restaurant serving great food and used by local people as well.

When staying there we booked a cookery class at Asia Scenic Thai Cooking (www.asiascenic.com) which was fantastic. Gay picked us up at the hotel, we chose what we wanted to cook, visited a market to pick up some herbs and spices and then cooked and enjoyed the lovely meal we cooked.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — tired rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sentosa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,855 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#38 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#56 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#111 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing