We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the night market of Chiang Mai, this is a great location for those who want to shop. Even though it is noisy outside, the rooms are really quiet and no noise from outside can be heard.
In the room you have all you need, bath robes, mini bar and TV. It is very clean and quite new.
The only disadvantage is the expensive breakfast. When you book the room it is available only without breakfast and if you want to buy one it will cost you 340 THB for each person. Even though the breakfast is really good and rich, it is still expensive for Thailand.
Long story short, for 58$ this is a great 4 star hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PashaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and tome to ocmment.

Point is taken about a special price of buffet breakfast.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to the north of Thailand.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    604
    257
    54
    40
See reviews for
248
541
124
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Royal Princess leaves a reasonably stylish first impression it faces what becomes the Night Market in C. Mei. Virtually a hop from this main street lands you into an airy lobby area housing a long reception and a bar area towards the back. The general feel of the hotel is very pleasant with a beautiful dining area and typically good choice and quality for breakfast. The corridors do complain for a makeover and the pool, whilst gratefully accepted was a little plain.

Chaing Mei attracts an eclectic mix around town and i did get fed up with the gauntlet of stalls every evening. Over the river and downward toward the left, however, we stumbled upon a set of bistro/bar/restaurants that each offered very good quality live contemporary music. This was a great find and we were truly fed, watered and entertained.

If you are planning an excursion I would recommend a Mahoot experience we chose a supplier affiliated to animal welfare and returned fairly confident that the elephants were well cared for by their custodians- and we gave them exercise, washed them and then fed them ourselves, too. There is no doubt a variety of suppliers so please do consider the elephant's experience too, when booking.

A final note on air quality. It seems to be a regional practice to burn off local vegetation. This combined with traffic and the effect containment due to hilly areas nearby does give the area a deserved reputation for fumes.

We did not find it too oppressive but noticed it nevertheless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandjaneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your value comment.

We have taken note, shared with all members and look forward to welcoming you back you to our Royal Princess Chiangmai during your next visit to Thailand soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I am on my last day in Chiang Mai, and must express my extreme disappointment in the Royal Princess.

I experienced a health issue while here and asked for assistance to book a dental visit. The young man at the front was kind enough to book a visit for me, but when it came time to get to the dentist, nobody would help me.

I asked if I could walk or take a taxi and was told a taxi cost 300 baht round trip! Such a SCAM!!!! The dentist was only a 10 minute walk, so should have been no more than 30 baht one way, but no, the hotel would not help me.

Then when I wanted breakfast they seated me in the restaurant, charged me 420 baht and told me I only had 25 minutes at the buffet. In reality, they started cleaning away the food after 10 minutes, thus I barely got any food.

While I liked the location of the hotel and the staff was mostly friendly, it was these unfortunate incidents at the end of my trip, that made me very irritated.

Beware of getting scammed in Chiang Mai. Apparently it happens at the hotel too!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jkcarnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying wiht us and this comment.

We shared with our team and improve our manner, behavior.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is located in town & is about 15 mins from the airport by car. Just outside the hotel are restaurants & shops, in the evening a bustling night market, although we were warned that the goods here are more expensive. We arrived at 9am to be told that our 2 rooms were not ready yet, after asking the receptionist, she gave us 1 ready room for us to refresh ourselves. I thought the receptionist was not in a very good mood, almost sullen but she warmed up in the end. The room & bathroom are clean with fresh towels & toiletries everyday. If you are looking for a day tour or just van hire, there are touts outside the hotel, remember to bargain, they can be persistent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkjs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying wiht us and this comment.

We shared with our team and improve our manner, behavior.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived at 5pm and the employee of Dusit makes me wait 1 hour for my room. She pretends that the room was not cleaned yet.
Then the day after, my friend went to the lobby to exchange 100 euros. The employee said: « Your bill is too crinkle »
We had to go outside to a bank to exchange the bill. The bank did not say anything!!
On the check-out, we have been charged 250 thb flat fees for the minibar. We only took one coke in the minibar.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
6 Thank Boubaker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your time to comment in detials and we have shared with all staff members.

We learn from you comment about staff behavior, communication and we would re-train, educate all staff from this value comment i,.e. why could not we provide all those one big bed at the time, offer alternative for other vacant and clean room but with two separated beds, an instruction we had from bank of thailand about kind of note we must not accept and lastly the one price for minibar itemswe promotein all guest rooms etc.

Once again, manay thanks and we all look forward to welcoming you to experience our upgrading facilities during your next visit to the north of Thailand.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was one of the hotels selected by the tour group we were travelling with. The location was superb for at least the following reasons:

1: Right in the middle of night market area;
2: Starbucks right next door;
3: Excellent massage place right in the shopping center across the street;
4: Good restaurant across the street; and
5: Said good restaurant also accepts and delivers laundry for overnight wash-dry-fold service at very reasonable prices.

Other than the location, the hotel was pretty much unremarkable. The elevators were small and slow, the public areas needed to be thoroughly cleaned, the service was hit-and-miss. Some of the front desk staff were extremely helpful and responsive, others seemed to have been recruited from the Thai DMV and had the "why are you bothering me with your pesky question or request" attitude.

We upgraded our room to a two-bedroom suite, which oddly had only a single small window facing out towards a construction site. Despite its bunker-like darkness, the room was definitely not sound proofed and we could hear a lot of noise from the adjoining rooms. Fortunately, everyone quieted down in the evening and it was not a real problem. Everything was sufficiently clean to be acceptable. Oddly, some of the light controls were built into a bedside DRAWER. So you had to pull out drawer to access the switches. Once we figured it out, it was not a problem.

The breakfast buffet was mobbed by Chinese tourists who were there for the new year holiday and was a very loud and aggressive affair which required tackling and blocking skills if you wanted to get any of the food, which was, like everything else in the hotel, adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: There was a lot of construction during our stay and the higher rooms were generally better. If the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexFugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your time to comment in detials and we have shared with all staff members and keep an important part for our upgrading plan. Entrance, Lobby area, elevators will be upgrading before end of this year.

We learn from you comment about staff behavior and we would re-train, educate all staff from this valuse comment.

Once again, manay thanks and we all look forward to welcoming you to experience our upgrading facilities during your next visit to the north of Thailand.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for six days and encountered no problems apart from one of the two lifts being out of service for the duration. Rooms are decent size and adequately furnished and equipped don't have a a balcony and lack much imagination. Part of the Dusit group but the poor relation thereof as it bears no comparison with the Dusit Thani or Dusit Resort. Rooms lack any character but with a little imagination and colour and some decorative pictures could be vastly improved at minimum cost. My room was situated at the front of the hotel and there was some noise which may affect light sleepers but it all seemed to die off about midnight. Pool area is relatively small and pool barely adequate for serious swimming. Never ate the breakfast as you can eat at O'Malleys Irish pub across the road for 170 baht which is at least half the hotel's price. I paid 28 pound sterling + 15% service and tax with Agoda which I thought was pretty fair value. Quite happily stay here again as the location is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and time to provide comment in details.

We would complete our upgrading of the room decoration, entrance and lobby plus both elevators during the year.

We all look very muuch forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai during your return to Chiangmai.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#104 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,907 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#55 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing