We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #56 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had 4 nights here and it was fine but not outstanding. We had booked a 'superior' room but this turned out to be just another way of saying a standard room. It was v small and had no where to sit. I. Would have asked to change if we had been staying longer. There was also a musty smell in both the room and the corridor. The bathroom was just about ok but there was a rim of black mould under the washbasin.
The staff were universally courteous and the buffet breakfast was the usual mix of Asian and European choices. For me, however, and I accept that this is a very personal question, I had difficulty with its location. It is adjacent to a Starbucks, opposite a McDonalds and within sight of a 24 hour Burger King. The night market is a collection of stalls aimed almost exclusively at tourists as are the myriad of local massage shops.
So in all we had an ok stay but if thinking of booking here look carefully at the room descriptions ( go for deluxe at least) and note the drawbacks as well as positives to location.


Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your time to complete this comment.

We have shared your comment with all member of staff, reinstate room type to be called, information to partners to have the same.

Room cleanness had also been well noted and check all rooms.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai to during your next visit to the North.


Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 4 night during a month long trip in Thailand. Very impressive hotel. Unbelievable value for money. The staff were lovely and booked all our trips for us. The hotel is located directly opposite the night bazaar. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niamhsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your time to complete this comment.

Your kind words had been shared with all staff and we are all happy hearing it and we all look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai to during your next visit to the North.


Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Fell in love with Chaing Mai.. This Hotel was perfect . Location was right in the heart of the night bazzar which is very good and close to many restaurants and bars ,but you didnt hear a thing at night from the street .Breakfast was nice with a lot to choose from with lovely fresh fruit.. The Staff are excelent i dont think i opened the hotel door once for myself. even the maids are happy and ask how your stay is . they even have parking wardens outside and when it was raining one night cross the road and stop the traffic and put a unbrella over you and walk you to the hotel door .. All in all loved and will be returning soon .. thanks to all hotel staff for a wonderfull stay

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dinlonation82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your time to complete this comment.

Your kind words had been shared with all staff and we are all happy reading this.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai to during your next visit to the North.


Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wife and I stayed here for 2 nights four our quick excursion to Chiang Mai. Staff is very friendly and resourceful, and always eager to help. The hotel itself has seen some renovations but still feels a bit dated in some areas, though we feel this just adds character. Our room was on the 6th floor which could feel a bit warm during the daylight hours, but the room was spacious and clean. Bed was a bit hard for us, but it didn't keep us from getting rest!

The hotel is situated right in the mix of the night bazaar, which is a really neat experience. It's close to several good food options, many of which open later in the day. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the old city which has our favorite - the morning market. It's also only about 10 minutes from the airport via taxi.

In all, we were pleased with our stay. Sure, there are likely nicer and newer hotels in the area, but this one had a good price and great location for all that WE had in mind.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jaceofbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your time to complete this comment.

Your words had been shared with all staff and we all look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai to expreience our new look after all renovations during your next visit to the North.


Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas, the Christmas Eve Dinner was superb, Breakfast was great. Its position for the night markets and the old town where good as was the accommodation. A special thanks to all the staff for finding my rings and sending them to me in Phuket. amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordSnowBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your time to complete this survey and comment.

Your words had been shared with all staff and we all look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai during your next visit to the North.


Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and I was really impressed. Staff were lovely and friendly from the moment we arrived. The rooms had been renovated and were large and airy. The beds are a little hard but this is more a personal issue than the hotels.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice without going overboard and the restaurant had a lovely minty smell, quite unusual!
The location is fantastic, step outside and you are pretty much in the centre of it all. Plenty of restaurants and little bars to choose from.
Betty at the tour desk was helpful and not at all pushy and she helped us arrange a last minute afternoon tour.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone, especially for the location. It was faultless.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your comment.

We do our im[rovement part of room, restaurant, public area every year and we look forward to welcoming you back to experience our new entrance and lobby soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nothing bad to say about this hotel. It is in a great location right outside the night bazaar, rooms are relatively big and the cost was about average for the location. Staff was very helpful and when they put us in a smoking room, offered to move us the next day, but miraculously, we never smelled smoke in the room at all, so we never moved.

Would recommend this place for a family.

Room Tip: Ensure you call before check in to ensure a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmperorMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your comment.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

SIncerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,916 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $51 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing