We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 3rd to 6th October in Room 418. Lovely room but looked out on to the wall of the neighbouring building. As we were there for only 3 nights did not see any reason to ask to be moved. The room itself was very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. You step out of the front door into the famous Night Market which obviously puts the hotel in a bustling area but this did not create any noise issues in our room. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was because of the view from our room and as mentioned by some of the other reviewers the carpets in the hallways were somewhat grubby. I do feel this was down to poor choice of colour originally.

I would have no reservations about recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comment and we have shared with all members.

Trust you had good time staying in our hotel at a nice location and look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Good points :
- Great location - with the night market just below it. It is also between two 7-11 convenience stores which you could get your simple groceries.
- Checking in and out were pretty smooth, no major hassles.
- Internet access and speed quite decent, no major lag in the rooms and lobby.
- Quite near to the Saturday and Sunday night markets if you are keen
- Room was clean and quite spacious.
- Spacious lobby with internet stations too
- Firm beds with good back support.

Areas for improvement:
- The bottles of water given to guests were not made clear whether complimentary or chargeable. There were two types and I was given confusing stands as to whether both are free or which is chargeable.
- Breakfast spread had no variety. I had the same food for 3 days consecutively...and were already very sick of eating the same thing on the last day.
- The egg frying was done just outside the dining area and due to limited ventilation, the smell got into our shirts everytime we dined there.
- Lifts closed TOO FAST. It also looked like an upgrading is necessary.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoteLExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your time and detailed comment whcih we have taken note of all.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent for shopping, food and catching up with friends. Nice pool terrace with drinks, food. The rooms are carpeted and comfortable. My teenage daughter LOVED the location as she could have a bit more autonomy than usual given the closeness to everything and what she could see and buy in a half hour hour period. Pantip Plaza is just down the road.

Room Tip: We had plenty of room in our suite for myself and 16yo daughter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherryblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your comment.

We all look forward to welcoming you and your lovely daughter bak to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was in a great location, staff were always very friendly and helpful.

I tried both room service and Garden Cafe food, and both were excellent.

I had pre-paid the airport shuttle from the hotel, and confirmed the previous morning, but there seemed to be a bit of confusion that I had not pre-paid and whether the shuttle was coming at that time at all. The staff however, did end up getting the bus and driving me to the airport.

Great value for money in a great location. Free Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm the shuttle service to the airport the day before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronte000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for yout time and value comment.

We apology for any inconvenience and look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Nice hotel, perfectly located near the night market.

Rooms were very clean and the service was pretty good too. Compared to other places around the area the value for money is only so-so

The staff were also very helpful accommodating many of our request, including providing a 3rd bed in the room.

Overall, hotel made out time in Chiang Mai much more enjoyable

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayden P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your time and kind comment.

We all look forward for your return to our Royal Princess Chiangmai in the near future.

SIncerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

in the middle of night market, where everything can be found. room is large and clean, no noise as we had asked for a quiet room. family oriented. Carpets needed to be replaced. breakfast was good and fresh . free internet access. staff are helpfull . We were satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afsar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we have recorded this details for our renovation plan.

Once again, many thanks and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerly yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel room is located just a step away to the night market with a lot of restaurant around to choose from. We stayed in a twin bed hotel room and it is clean and big. Staff are friendly and helpful. But there is no free breakfast if you book thru Agoda.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Angeline_1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your time and feed back provided.

Please note that we offer special price for breakfast for all guests book room only and afraid our staff did not properly inform on arrival.

Please visit us again during your next trip to Chiangmai, Thailand.

Sicnerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,916 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $52 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing