We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great location breakfast buffet is okay, not many choices in the food. Rooms are not to bad lots of room. The Staff was very nice, helpful and friendly. We had a great stay, the World Travel Agency was very helpful with making arrangements for the vans and drivers.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank captmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Royal Princess and enjoyed it very much. Large, modern and clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff and very nice restaurant (excellent food and good service). The real bonus is the location. The night markets are right outside the door and included many small bars and restaurants as well as all the shopping/bargaining we could handle. Highly recommend this centrally located, well appointed, hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank LeeSaintJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed for three weeks in the Royal Princess Hotel in Chiang Mai. What a fantastic experience. Wonderful staff ,great food and lovely room. From the moment I entered the hotel to book in I felt at home. Such a warm and friendly welcome. All the staff were always friendly,helpful and smiling. Breakfast was superb and nothing was too much trouble. The Hotel price was very reasonable and the location ideal - right by the exciting night market. Nice swimming pool too. I cannot praise this hotel enough for its outstanding value and customer service.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 7th floor but all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffAustell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our group had 7 rooms for 4 nights at this hotel and were really sorry to leave. It has individual charm and the service was excellent - all staff were delightful. The location is fantastic, a short walk or tuk tuk ride from most places. Very good value for money. Good breakfast but didn't eat in the evening. Previous comments about being obliged to take the NYE gala seems to be pretty standard at Thai hotels. Would happily go back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank JerryH950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was easy to find and also have a parking space for 14 cars..if you arrive too late they will sent you to park in another hotel that just behind the building.

The staffs was friendly and lobby look nice.The room looks new have bathtub,free internet wifi,complementary fruits when we arrive at first night.Check in Dec 20 and check out 22Dec,2012.I paid 1800 baht/night.

The breakfast choices was very good.Also it's easy to go out for a meals and drink :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0_Gyrfalcon_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a really nice hotel, smack bang in the centre of Chiangmai, perfect for a couple of nights stay! We had our own driver from the hotel show us the sites including to an elephant sanctuary and the grand palace. It's an amazing place and don't miss it out! Check out the Thai cooking courses too they are brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would say this is a decent 3* hotel not a 4* but the location is really good. (Apologies for the long review)

We arrived on Tuesday 27th as part 1 of 3 of our honeymoon. We had already arranged private transfers from the airport to the hotel through trail finders but were surprised to see the hotel transfer service were also waiting for us this is a free service provided by the hotel which is a nice touch.

We arrived at the hotel around 10am our room wasn't ready so they offered us some alternatives a standard twin room on the second floor which we weren't to pleased about as we were on our honeymoon and had paid extra for a king room but they promised to swap us the next day I was happy to accept as we had arrived early were knackered after 16 hours of travelling. The first room was nice, very spacious and had a sofa and a decent sized bathroom the next morning, they also offered to push the beds together but this never materialised. We were looking forward to switch to our new room, the hotel informed us they had upgraded us to a "superior king room" on the "executive floor" however the new room didn't live up to the name, the first room was bigger all we seemed to get was more toiletries and a better view but no sofa and a room where you could touch the walls from the bed, also the room backed onto the lift shaft which was pretty noisy. We decided not to complain and just accept the new room as we only had two days left.

In general the rooms are clean tidy and what you would expect, the rooms were cleaned daily and to a good standard.

The pool was nice and never too busy, however the gym was pretty poor, it had a good weights selection but only one cardio machine a sit down cycler.

You get free wifi in the hotel but you need one password per device and it keeps logging you out which is a bit of a pain.

The best part of the hotel is its location, its bang in the middle of the towns night market which is really good. its also a 10 minute walk from the old city centre which has lots to do including a massive Sunday night market.

Food was expensive in the hotel so we only ate breakfast at the hotel which was included in our room, there was a good choice from fruit to cooked breakfast. One bad point is that we had to steer clear of the omlets as the mix was kept in a big bowl at room temperature and uncovered. I think they also used this mix to make the french toast other than that breakfast was good.

There are a number of great places to eat around the hotel in particular The Red Lion pub which is an English theme pub and offers lots of English food but the best food is from the Thai selection I had the best Thai Green curry of my visit here. Also there is a food hall in the night market which has some amazing food we normally ate out for two people with drinks for £4. We ate here most nights due to the amount of choice, it's kinda street food but in a clean environment.

We did one trip with the hotel to the main temple in Chang Mai which was very expensive for what it was I would suggest you do it on your own.

Anyway to summarise apart from the room swap fiasco the hotel was good clean and in a great location. I wouldn't recommend as a honeymoon resort but would probably stay again if the price was right!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_lewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,916 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $52 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing