We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel, fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #57 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our group had 7 rooms for 4 nights at this hotel and were really sorry to leave. It has individual charm and the service was excellent - all staff were delightful. The location is fantastic, a short walk or tuk tuk ride from most places. Very good value for money. Good breakfast but didn't eat in the evening. Previous comments about being obliged to take the NYE gala seems to be pretty standard at Thai hotels. Would happily go back.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank JerryH950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was easy to find and also have a parking space for 14 cars..if you arrive too late they will sent you to park in another hotel that just behind the building.

The staffs was friendly and lobby look nice.The room looks new have bathtub,free internet wifi,complementary fruits when we arrive at first night.Check in Dec 20 and check out 22Dec,2012.I paid 1800 baht/night.

The breakfast choices was very good.Also it's easy to go out for a meals and drink :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0_Gyrfalcon_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a really nice hotel, smack bang in the centre of Chiangmai, perfect for a couple of nights stay! We had our own driver from the hotel show us the sites including to an elephant sanctuary and the grand palace. It's an amazing place and don't miss it out! Check out the Thai cooking courses too they are brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would say this is a decent 3* hotel not a 4* but the location is really good. (Apologies for the long review)

We arrived on Tuesday 27th as part 1 of 3 of our honeymoon. We had already arranged private transfers from the airport to the hotel through trail finders but were surprised to see the hotel transfer service were also waiting for us this is a free service provided by the hotel which is a nice touch.

We arrived at the hotel around 10am our room wasn't ready so they offered us some alternatives a standard twin room on the second floor which we weren't to pleased about as we were on our honeymoon and had paid extra for a king room but they promised to swap us the next day I was happy to accept as we had arrived early were knackered after 16 hours of travelling. The first room was nice, very spacious and had a sofa and a decent sized bathroom the next morning, they also offered to push the beds together but this never materialised. We were looking forward to switch to our new room, the hotel informed us they had upgraded us to a "superior king room" on the "executive floor" however the new room didn't live up to the name, the first room was bigger all we seemed to get was more toiletries and a better view but no sofa and a room where you could touch the walls from the bed, also the room backed onto the lift shaft which was pretty noisy. We decided not to complain and just accept the new room as we only had two days left.

In general the rooms are clean tidy and what you would expect, the rooms were cleaned daily and to a good standard.

The pool was nice and never too busy, however the gym was pretty poor, it had a good weights selection but only one cardio machine a sit down cycler.

You get free wifi in the hotel but you need one password per device and it keeps logging you out which is a bit of a pain.

The best part of the hotel is its location, its bang in the middle of the towns night market which is really good. its also a 10 minute walk from the old city centre which has lots to do including a massive Sunday night market.

Food was expensive in the hotel so we only ate breakfast at the hotel which was included in our room, there was a good choice from fruit to cooked breakfast. One bad point is that we had to steer clear of the omlets as the mix was kept in a big bowl at room temperature and uncovered. I think they also used this mix to make the french toast other than that breakfast was good.

There are a number of great places to eat around the hotel in particular The Red Lion pub which is an English theme pub and offers lots of English food but the best food is from the Thai selection I had the best Thai Green curry of my visit here. Also there is a food hall in the night market which has some amazing food we normally ate out for two people with drinks for £4. We ate here most nights due to the amount of choice, it's kinda street food but in a clean environment.

We did one trip with the hotel to the main temple in Chang Mai which was very expensive for what it was I would suggest you do it on your own.

Anyway to summarise apart from the room swap fiasco the hotel was good clean and in a great location. I wouldn't recommend as a honeymoon resort but would probably stay again if the price was right!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_lewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel itself was very nice. Excellent rooms, very clean and well situated in the Night Bazaar. However that was where the good points ended. Myself and my fiancee were here for our wedding with my son. We had booked a one bedroom apartment with an extra bed. When we arrived and checked in we had two single beds. We asked for the bedding arrangements to be fixed and were informed that there were no double beds available as they were fully booked and we may not even be able to get an extra fold out bed. I don't know what happened to our booking at the hotel end but my wife and I were not impressed to be sleeping in two single beds however they did manage to find us a fold out bed for my son...VERY POOR SERVICE. As part of our booking we were also required to pay 90 dollars each for a compulsory gala dinner for NYE. The food was average at best, we could have eaten far better food from a street stall for a fraction of the cost and there was only one drink included and not even water. We ordered 2 Moscow Mules ( a type of cocktail) which was listed on the drinks menu as vodka, ginger beer and lime and were given drinks containing vodka, lemon lime bitters and soda water...not very impressed to say the least.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Chiang Mai for seven nights, and chose it primarily for its central location. The hotel is right in the centre of the Night Bazaar, and is an easy walk to the river side of Chiang Mai, and a 15-20 minute walk to the Old City, which makes it a great base from which to explore the city. The hotel room itself was clean and comfortable, although the carpet was a little worn and the bed a tad on the firm side. The pool was also very nice to sit and relax by. Our accommodation rate included breakfast, and it offered a good selection of food, including an omelet station. Apart from the great location, the service from the hotel staff was however exceptional, and we were made to feel very welcome by the hotel staff. The door staff were very attentive to our needs as well, including inquiring for us when we were waiting for transfers/pick ups. We utilised the hotel information staff on several occasions, and were given recommendations for cooking classes (Asia Scenic Thai Cooking), rang up and booked our classes for us, and also were assisted with hiring of cabs for some of our day trips. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzzo193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in between travelling to Bangkok and Phuket. I hadn't put much thought to this hotel as it wasn't a significant part of our trip and we were doing a lot of activities whilst we were there so wouldn't be in the hotel much. From what I had seen briefly online I wasn't expecting that much but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was modern and freshly decorated and the bathroom was also with a big shower. The room was also very spacious. Free wifi was available in the room. The breakfast buffet had a good selection. The location was also very good right in the middle of the night market. The restaurant opposite was good and the Red Lion pub nearby had huge portions. We also went to Riverisde which was a nice restaurant with a view over the river. McDonalds, Burger King and Hagen Dazs are nearby. Elephant trekking is a must when visiting Chiang Mai! Also the thai cooking class which we did with Air's Thai Culinary Kitchen and included a tour of a local market which was interesting!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday_boy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,944 reviews
0 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#72 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $50 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing