We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORLDS WORST SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #57 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Checking in was a Huge hassle. We had booked a Deluxe room, not a basic room, and specified a double bed and non smoking , and so you would have an expectation of getting a reasonably decent room. And after a long tiring day of travel, having a hassle was last thing that we needed. I suspected a problem when it took them 10 minutes on the computer, and then they said 'Your room has 2 single beds'. They then started a mantra of "room preferences are not guaranteed". Well a large bed in a non-smoking room should not be considered as a special request, but as a basic requirement for a room. They said "We have had a lot of people check in today". How can that be an excuse when we had booked months in advance. After a lot of 'to and fro' they said that there is a room with a King bed, but that it had not been cleaned - this was at 6.15pm.. We looked at the first room offered. It was at the back of the hotel with a brick wall very close to the window and 2 single beds - terrible! They would not show us the other room, but said that we would have to come back in half an hour to check in. When we came back and checked in to that room we found that it did have a large bed, but not a King sized bed as they had stated. It turned out that the hotel had charged the previous occupier for a late checkout (without any consideration for the next people needing to check in). The worst service that I have ever experienced in a hotel in my entire life. The hotel is right in the middle of the night market which is basically a bunch of stalls blocking up the footpaths and selling the same crud that you can get anywhere. Throughout the nights there was the noise of noisy tuktuks. Why anyone would like this location is beyond me. Swimming pool area was run down and neglected. Breakfast was good. If they get the service aspect right, then this could be a 3 to 3.5 star hotel, but never a 4 star.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere. Their attitude is "customers preferences cannot be guaranteed". So they...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Privateyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights abd found it good value. Ideal location next to the Night Market and other parts of Chianh Mai rechable by tuk-tuk or cab. Good breakfasts and a charming group of staff - particularly the lady who was running the bar.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, get a room at the top floor, so you are not disturbed by the Nigt Market...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very friendly staff,clean and spacious.Excellent location,right in the middle of the night market and also for those wanting muay thai,Burklerk muay thai gym is within 5minutes walk.The food was excellent in the hotel.The hotel provided shuttle to the biggest shopping mall,which was handy for me.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiwitKongNakMuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a pretty good hotel, in a great location if you want to benear the night markets. Staff are great, rooms are pretty big, but some aspects are looking a little tired. The carpets really could do with a clean, and there was a strange smell we just couldn't get rid of. Despite this, agood choice as a reasonably priced high end hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarreninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you like a modern hotel that has a certain traditional "feel" then this is the one for you. Right in the heart of the night bazaar, it's a very clean and well run establishment, staff are very efficient and friendly. I've stayed here four or five times over the last few years, it's good enough to stop me checking out the competition.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

So I had been travelling in rural areas for 10 days and then arrived at Chiang Mai to stay here - having a long hot shower was awesome! Sadly we only had one night here, wish we had time for a longer stay, however the night we had was terrific. The night market is right outside the front door - very handy. Dukes across the road was a terrific place to eat - great western food. Internet access was good and the staff were all friendly. Everything in the room worked well and the elevators were prompt.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank MurrayCollingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is just a lovely place to stay. It is clean, friendly, impeccably maintained, breakfast is excellent, the location is right in the central Cheng Mai area.
All you need is within easy reach. You can walk to several wats. Bars and restaurants are also nearby.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone in the Cheng Mai area.
There are some Thai style hotels which also look very inviting, but if you want a modern hotel with all the conveniences of a western hotel, you won't do better then the Royal Princess.
Even the toiletries are good.
The pool is well looked after, and while small is the perfect place to spend time if you need some down time. You can have drinks in the lobby of an evening, served by lovely friendly Thai staff.
Wifi is available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2happycampers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#56 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,056 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $39 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing