We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful family stay at the Royal Princess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #56 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful family stay at the Royal Princess”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

we had 10 days in the area, looked for a hotel that would be flexible and helpful as we checked in and out every second day. (2 adults + 12 + 13 yr old)
the staff where super, always smiling, very helpful, breakfast was wonderful!
Free WIFI, location perfect. Accessible, pool very nice. View not great but location makes up for it. tea/coffee in room free, soap/shampoo very nice. Very good value for money - recommended!
we changed rooms a lot due to our schedule the first check-in we got a smoking room - our fault as we did not specify No smoking, the teenagers where on the other side of the corridor - which was fine. the second time we got a non smoking, but since we asked for connecting door (and the hotel was full) we made do with connecting rooms both which had 2 single beds. the final time we checked in - we got connecting 1 double bed, the kids 2 single beds.

Room Tip: make sure you request what you need i.e. Non Smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    591
    251
    54
    40
See reviews for
243
528
122
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in October 2012.

Pros: Good location - in the middle of the night market, and yet it's quiet inside. Very friendly and professional staff.

Cons: Looks and feels old and in urgent need for a lift-up / renewal. The elevators are old and take time to arrive. The carpets look old and not very clean. The room equipment is oldish - there were some loose wires in my room. Overpriced laundry (80 baht for a T-shirt? Come on..). Expensive breakfast (350-450 baht). Late check-out wasn't possible.

Still, an "OK" value for money (if you do not take the breakfast). I guess I'll only stay there again if they renovate the place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 779Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice hotel, nice room in the good spot of Chiang mai. The hotel located in Night Bazaar area, easy to walk to any attraction places in Chiang mai old city gates. The area is 24 hours eating street, party & late night shopping.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front site of the hotel have a beautiful city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anaputtachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently renovated in early 2012, the rooms are large, clean and well appointed. Bathroom was very clean and modern. Air con worked great! Located in the heart of the night market with plenty to see and do around the area. There are some great restaurants close by. Coffee shops, 24 hour fast food - McDonalds and Burger King, supermarket and 7 11 store 50 meters away.

Staff were OK. Besides check-in and check-out, I barely spoke a word to them because I had no problems with my room.

Walking distance to the old city, restaurants and the night market right out front. Overall, great hotel for the rate of the room and in a very good location.

Room Tip: Stayed in the the Deluxe room which was spacious and comfortable. All rooms are non-smoking. None of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night.
Located just outside old city on eastern side.
Was a large hotel with clean rooms and service as expected.
Breakfast was nice but pricey given not included with the room.
Would not stay here again only because we found something better!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our group of 15 stepped into the lobby and as we go through the registration process we are greeted with a Thai greeting and a fresh (pine coconut ?) juice (yummy).. this hotel is right near the night markets... the pool was a great venue during the hot days, then we hit the markets after the sun went down... the staff are friendly and helpful... the room was clean and quiet... breakfast was a delicious buffet... lobby bar and restaurant or McDonalds over the road and Starbucks close by.... we certainly had no complaints for our short stay...next time we will be staying longer! I couldnt get the "add photos" to work otherwise I would have added an entrance and pool photos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raynor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were given a room on 6th floor - carpets were worn and dirty and room was small. I requested another room and was given one on the 8th floor. Obviously renovated and bigger so we were much happier.
The location of the hotel is right in the middle of the Night Market so buzzy and busy.
The staff are fantastic - so helpful especially with tour information and restaurant recommendations. Printed our boarding passes for the next flight. Requests for extra towels and even an alarm clock were met with promptness - all with a lovely smile and wai :)

Room Tip: Request a room with newer carpets and bigger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#44 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#53 of 379 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#106 of 379 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 379 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant business. We are a member of Dusit International and going to change our hotel name to Dusit Princess Chiangmai Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing