We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
Ranked #74 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed July 16, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bristle98
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureCNX, secretary to general manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank B0eing777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureCNX, secretary to general manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureCNX, secretary to general manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very dated hotel, but everything works fine. Located just north of town, about 200 metres from the Old City wall. From check-in to check-out the staff were wonderful, nothing was a problem. A special mention must go to the main bellboy- night time van driver, who took us to the night market daily, nice touch. Would definatly stay again

Room Tip: high floor deluxe renervated rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefrequentflyer4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, secretary to general manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Mercure Chiang Mai, Thailand.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Phattharaphan Promnoi
Secretary to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A little old, previously was the Novotel. Just north of the Old City Wall. Good staff and decent breakfast. Attended a function in the ball room and the service staff was excellent. There is a grocery store conveniently located a short walk down the hotel entrance road and also and outdoor club with music a little past that. I checked out the pool up near the top and it very good, clean and shaded.They also have tour desks right outside the lobby with some interesting offers.Hotel offered us complimentary van service to go the "after party".

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Secretary to General Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Mercure Chiang Mai, Thailand.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Phattharaphan Promnoi (Aam)
Secretary to General Manager
Mercure Chiang Mai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Look, the place is certainly dated and I'm not quite sure how it is 4 stars but do you know what? It was cheap as chips, it was super clean and everyone there was as helpful as they could be so, you know - it was absolutely fine. Would I stay there again? Wouldn't be my first choice but hey, if it was cheaper than the others then potentially!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sassimo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, secretary to general manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Mercure Chiang Mai, Thailand.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chiang Mai. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Phattharaphan Promnoi
Secretary to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed staying at the Mercure Hotel in Chiang Mai. Although it is not in the center of things, it is only a short 5-7 minute ride away. A tuk-tuk for 2 would cost 100-120 Baht to get you to the center of town. The rooms themselves were nice and clean, large, and the beds were comfy. The bathroom could've used an update, but it wasn't something that really bothered us. The best part about the hotel was the breakfast! Plenty to eat and lots of options!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, secretary to general manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Mercure Chiang Mai, Thailand.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Phattharaphan Promnoi
Secretary to General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
#90 of 394 in Chiang Mai
483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#72 of 394 in Chiang Mai
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#73 of 394 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,689 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $38 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing