We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure brand to be avoided”
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
Ranked #68 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mercure brand to be avoided”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at Mercure Grand Roxy Singapore in October 2012. Arrived late and ordered room service, it was delivered under cooked. Hotel in desperate need of refurb, which was happening during my stay. The room I was given was dark, with dirty carpet and the smell of old particle board furniture. Breakfast buffet was 3 *** attended by staff that didn't want to serve you. Fortunately after complaining to FO manager, I was moved to a refurbished room.

Mercure Chiang Mai, needs to be demolished. The standard here is probably 4* back packer. This hotel is also being refurbished and once again I was moved to a refurbished room. The breakfast buffet has a poor western selection. This hotel is also, I believe, a bit of a fire hazard. Prior to leaving I was offered a complimentary dinner with wine. The waiter informed me that the only wine available was cask and that it didn't smell nice. This should have been the warning sign for me, but I persevered and ordered a pepperoni pizza. Next morning I woke with vomiting and gastric, and a flight just 2 hours away. After this I will never stay at another Mercure hotel. Most Accor brands are fine and have high standards, but suggest you avoid Mercure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_traveller369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Aussie_traveller369,

Thank you very much for selecting Mercure Chaing Mai for your accommodation choice and for writing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are truly sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience with us and that we couldn't deliver the best service to you. Also, we sincerely regret the discomfort and illness you have suffered. We undertook an investigation as to whether any other cases of illness or sickness were reported and we are pleased to say that no other incidents.

We hope that this experience will not alter you from your trust in Mercure Chiang Mai and as your comments lead us for further improvement so please rest assured that we always seek to satisfy the expectations of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely Yours
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    430
    294
    93
    46
See reviews for
218
310
150
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel staff very helpful. Hotel was within walking distance of most attractions and food outlets. Good shuttle service at night.
Hotel lobby was clean, well presented but dated. Staff always available in this area..
Pool was fine, some umbrellas had holes and some sun beds were rather old and tatty.
Our bedroom was very large; bathroom in need of renovation. Bedroom needed some thought as carpet sported several large stains. The bedding was clean but grey, old and threadbare. Towels were of the same condition.
Suggest putting in new bed lined and new towels and getting carpets cleaned or replaced prior to an overdue refurbishment .
Overall we had a good stay but thought the bedroom lacked the usual accor standard.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ChiangMai341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear ChiangMai341,

Thank you for your kind review regarding to your stay at Mercure Chiang Mai! Recently, we are still under the renovation project. However, the swimming pool and rooms on the 5th floor are now completed. We really wish to welcome you back with our new look so soon!

Warm Wishes
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Mercure and enjoyed adjoining rooms at this Hotel for my family.Service was exceptional and you can tell that the staff had been well trained in Hospitality.The room was quite large with a massive King size bed and quite comfortable. Free wifi is available everywhere in the Hotel and on the ground floor is also 2 computers that you may use (at no charge) with a printer attached.We had 2 standard rooms but the Hotel upgraded to us to the next standard(,superior rooms)We would highly recommend this Hotel as we were totally relaxed there.

Room Tip: Be an Accor member for an hopeful upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OS_here_we_come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear OS_here_we_come,

Thank you for your kind review of Mercure Chiang Mai! We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay with us and that you will recommend us, which is a very kind of you. Your kind words will be definitely spread out to our staffs as well.

Thank you again for your review on TripAdvisor!. Hope to welcoming you and your family again once you're back visiting Chiang Mai! :-)

Warm Wishes,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Actually we ain't criticising much about it although still ranked as a 4 star Hotel. It may have been a 4 stars 25 years ago but since everything remained the same let's say it's a 3 star plus in international ranks. Service is good, Thai service is always best. Rooms are old fashioned but at least you get free WiFi all over the place. Honestly for the price we paid it's fair enough!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innovation Sola... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Innovation Sola... R,

Thank you for your review regarding to your recent stay at our hotel and also, we really appreciate your sharing your experience especially with our staffs' friendliness. However, our room renovation is still under the project which the swimming pool and rooms on the 5th floor are now completed and the rest is on process. We really wish to welcome you back with our new look so soon!

Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Mercure Chiang Mai has a great location with a Top Market right next door to purchase water, drinks, food and snacks. The hotel staff is very friendly but the tour desk staff did not speak English very well. So I had to book an independant taxi with Chiang Mai Driver.com website that was recommended by friends and he was fantastic. The hotel staff were very helpful and there is a free shuttle to the night market and the Sunday walking market. Very good hotel would highly advise staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Andrea J,

We so much thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It was very pleased to read that you appreciated the help & friendliness of our staffs. We will pass your regards to them of course and we're sure that they will be happy to hear such good feedback from you. :)

Thank you again for your kind review and for recommending us to anyone

Warm Wishes,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My previous stay here, in January this year, was less than satisfactory. On that stay, we stayed in the older, unrenovated rooms. This time, the deluxe rooms were extremely comfortable, modern decor, modern bathrooms and a HUGE bed. Bigger than any kingsize bed I've seen.
We had a car and there was plenty of free secure parking.. The pool is okay, could do with some atmosphere but it's a relaxing if somehwta barren area.
Really pleased with our stay and I suppose, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have been renovated whilst the lower 2 floors, Superior rooms are quite dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear aulynch,

Thank you again for your return! Thank you for your kind review as well and we are so much delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Hoping to welcome you back once you visit Chiang Mai again in the future. :)

Sincerely Yours
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is getting a bit old and tired and was not quite the usual Mecure standard in terms of modern bathroom fittings etc. The location was a little out of town in a local rather than tourist area, but transport is very available and cheap in Chiang Mai and it was easy to travel to and fro the old city and the restaurant area etc. and there was a free hotel shuttle to & fro the night market every day. Cleanliness was excellent, the pool nice though it closed at 7pm and the beds very good. The price reflected the slightly dated condition and location and was excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Annj_bobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
#75 of 386 in Chiang Mai
454 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#50 of 386 in Chiang Mai
895 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#56 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,645 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 386 in Chiang Mai
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Property: Mercure Chiang Mai
Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing