We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Hotel was OK”
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
Ranked #79 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure Chiang Mai for three nights in April 2013. The location was okay... About 30 minutes from the train station and about 20 minutes from the airport. It was easy to walk into old town if you wanted to, and equally easy to get a tuk tuk or taxi wherever you wanted.

The rooms were simple and okay. We found the bed extremely uncomfortable - it was rock hard and led to a horrible sleep for three nights.

The pool area on the 3rd floor was beautiful and very relaxing. A spa is also located there, along with a bar.

There is a Tops Market right in the plaza by the hotel, and a travel centre if you want to book any tours - less expensive than the travel agent inside the hotel.

Room Tip: opt for the upgrade on arrival, 300 baht/night for a bigger room and to include breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Alexandra S,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are truly sorry that we could not deliver a better service to you regarding to the comfort of bed.

However, the swimming pool and rooms on the 5th floor are now completed and still, we are under the renovation project for other areas. We really wish to welcome you back with our new look so soon!

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we wish you have a great day!

Sincerely,
Management Team

With Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

the hotel good location and provided van service to walking street, all the staff very nice and good take care to all guests. room very clean, free wifi and internet corner provided. food are good , information for the guests from the staff very helpful and give some tip for the good idea.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AustinoBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

By far my worst stay in an Accor branded hotel... as we where arriving and getting our luggage from our taxi, the bell boys didn't even come out to help, they waited until we where in the hotel to take our stuff and place them in their luggage carts, we finish checking in and decided to take our own luggage to the room due to their poor service they should not be tipped for the poor service, they knocked the luggage from the cart and dropped it to the floor. When we got to our rooms, the rooms where so old that you could compare them to hostels. So I called the front office and told them that this was not what was advertised on the accor page and I wanted a change to a proper room, I don't like to brag about my accor frequent stayer status but in this case I had to, so I told them I'm Platinum with you guys and this is not acceptable even for someone that is just a regular guest. Once I told them I'm a Platinum member everything changed which should not be the case being Platinum status or not a guest is a guest and should be treated as such, they change me to the rooms pictured in the accor page and service completely turned the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hiramgotanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear hiramgotanez,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry to read that our bellboy did not deliver a good service and that your room experience did not meet your expectation.

Your remark has been carefully noted. Please rest assured that your raising issues will be on discuss with our management team and the additional training will be given to our staffs to avoid this kind of incident from happening again.

Thank you again to stay with us. We hope this expericnce will not alter your confidence in Mercure Chiang Mai and that you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staff, amazingly helpful. Room, clean and well maintained. Pool, freezing cold. Just dated and showing its age. A little far from the centre of everything. Limited Internet. Family adjoining room was on the smoking floor and totally inappropriate. Staff very accommodating to move us but by this time it was after 11pm and miss 6 and mr 4 were beyond exhausted.

Room Tip: Specify non-smoking floor, despite not being the best rooms. Eat breakfast outside, it was much nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Jordi S,

Thank you for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor and the compliments for our staffs! We really appreciate your sharing your experience on here. It will be shared to our staffs, of course. :)

However, please accept our apologize that you felt uncomfortable once you received the room on the smoking floor. We might run a very high occupancy which caused a hectic day and that you could not get the room on a non-smoking room straight away.

Thank you again for your comment. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you again soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Pros:
1. Free shuttle to Night Bazaar.
2. Big rooms.

Cons:
1. Rooms in the old part (not yet renovated) are old and ugly.
2. Unhygenic! I was given a used paper/cloth slipper with stains on it even!
3. The rooms are just empty, not much amenities.
4. Internet, they'll give you ONE access. In this day and age when people have multiple devices, it's really uncalled for, and they will argue with you that they will only give one.

The worst part is the unhygenic atmosphere. Something you DO NOT expect of a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear vodkacran23,

We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of Mercure Chiang Mai on Tripadvisor. We are truely sorry to learn that your stay experience at our hotel didn't meet your expectations. It is through feedback such as yours allow us to improve our hotel standard. Please rest assured that we have instructed our housekeeping department to rectify and we do emphasise more about the cleanliness as well.

For the internet access, once again, we are so sorry for the inconvenience occured. However, this is under the improvement of our internet service.

vodkacran23, thank you again for sharing your concerns. We do hope that the unpleasant incidents will not alter your confidence in Mercure Chiang Mai and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the best time staying at the Mercure for 2 weeks recently. The staff are amazing and our many thanks to the massage man for his friendly hello every day and for keeping the pool clean. Also a huge thank you to Supachaya and Wuttipong for their amazing service and smiles and to "phone number 3" whenever we wanted a nice cold beer by the pool.
We would stay here again. The rooms, while a little dated, are clean and huge and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisvegas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear brisvegas56,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at our hotel. Thank you for giving us a review about your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor and your kind words to our staffs which is so much encouraging! It will be definately shared to them.

Thank you again for staying with us and that you will come visit us again! Thank you for making us one of your prefered accommodation choices. Can't wait to welcome you again in the near future. :)

Best Wishes,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to deluxe rooms on the 5th floor. My only complaint about the rooms is that the beds were quite hard for my taste. the supermarket next door was a great convience however it was a bit of a walk to the old city. Getting a "red bus" or taxi outside the hotel was easy enough. The only place close enough for massage was behind the supermarket, but it didn't look too inviting...didn't use them but would highly reccomend spending a day in the old city where you can find plenty of massage places. Overall the hotel was a good value but bit out of the way

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#66 of 395 in Chiang Mai
273 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
#88 of 395 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,710 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#73 of 395 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $38 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing