We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4 stars”
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
Ranked #68 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Definitely not 4 stars”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
1. Free shuttle to Night Bazaar.
2. Big rooms.

Cons:
1. Rooms in the old part (not yet renovated) are old and ugly.
2. Unhygenic! I was given a used paper/cloth slipper with stains on it even!
3. The rooms are just empty, not much amenities.
4. Internet, they'll give you ONE access. In this day and age when people have multiple devices, it's really uncalled for, and they will argue with you that they will only give one.

The worst part is the unhygenic atmosphere. Something you DO NOT expect of a 4 star hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear vodkacran23,

We would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of Mercure Chiang Mai on Tripadvisor. We are truely sorry to learn that your stay experience at our hotel didn't meet your expectations. It is through feedback such as yours allow us to improve our hotel standard. Please rest assured that we have instructed our housekeeping department to rectify and we do emphasise more about the cleanliness as well.

For the internet access, once again, we are so sorry for the inconvenience occured. However, this is under the improvement of our internet service.

vodkacran23, thank you again for sharing your concerns. We do hope that the unpleasant incidents will not alter your confidence in Mercure Chiang Mai and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    425
    291
    92
    46
See reviews for
212
307
148
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had the best time staying at the Mercure for 2 weeks recently. The staff are amazing and our many thanks to the massage man for his friendly hello every day and for keeping the pool clean. Also a huge thank you to Supachaya and Wuttipong for their amazing service and smiles and to "phone number 3" whenever we wanted a nice cold beer by the pool.
We would stay here again. The rooms, while a little dated, are clean and huge and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisvegas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear brisvegas56,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at our hotel. Thank you for giving us a review about your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor and your kind words to our staffs which is so much encouraging! It will be definately shared to them.

Thank you again for staying with us and that you will come visit us again! Thank you for making us one of your prefered accommodation choices. Can't wait to welcome you again in the near future. :)

Best Wishes,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to deluxe rooms on the 5th floor. My only complaint about the rooms is that the beds were quite hard for my taste. the supermarket next door was a great convience however it was a bit of a walk to the old city. Getting a "red bus" or taxi outside the hotel was easy enough. The only place close enough for massage was behind the supermarket, but it didn't look too inviting...didn't use them but would highly reccomend spending a day in the old city where you can find plenty of massage places. Overall the hotel was a good value but bit out of the way

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Arrive in the evening was told to not reserve a room, but we clearly has confirmed the booking before departure, and then was introduced to another hotel. On the next morning, Mercure hotel manager Mrs.Suree to help us solve this problem, sincere gratitude to her help.




  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hank558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Hank558,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your compliment, especially mentioned of Mrs Suree, will be shared with our management team and herself accordingly. We really appreciate your sharing your experience.

However, we wish to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can only comment on the deluxe rooms on the 5th floor. These have recently been renovated and are worth the extra few dollars/euros/etc. New tile floors (many have complained about the old, gross carpets on the lower floors) and new furniture and beds, newly tiled shower stalls...the whole experience was good. Also the pool has just had a renovation and is very clean with new loungers, though quite basic as pool facilities go.

The location - being a bit out of the old town center - is a source of complaint for some. I saw it as a bonus and liked not being in "tourist central" but that, of course, is a matter of opinion. Past trips to Chiang Mai I've stayed on Loi Kroh road where you'll find le Meridien, Centara Duangtawan, Royal Princess, etc. as well as the night market. Going down there this trip I found the whole thing a bit depressing, very touristy, and looked forward to getting back to Chang Puak road and the Mercure.

The Tops supermarket directly next door is brilliant and even has an extensive prepared food section for the nights you just want something to eat without the fuss of a restaurant. On the subject of restaurants, there aren't many - or any - in the immediate vicinity. The best we found was the outdoor restaurant at the Chang Puak hotel, a ten minute walk south towards the old center on Chang Puak road. Really very good food at local prices, no tourist rip-off as the restaurants at the night market have become. We were the only diners at 8 p.m, usually a very bad sign, but we bit the bullet and were very, very happy.

Lastly, but importantly, very kind and helpful staff at the check-in desk.

Room Tip: The 5th floor deluxe rooms cost more but are worth it. Most is new, from the floors to the ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan15046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Dyland15046

Thank you very much for your compliment regarding to your stay at Mercure Chiang Mai. We were so much delighted to learn that you enjoy your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standard. Receiving such feedback from guest like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferable accommodation choices. Also, glad to know that you will return and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future! :)

Yours Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Mercure Chiangmai's location is slightly away from the touristy night spots and bustling tourist traffic. Yet it's within easy reach by public transport and the courtesy Night Bazaar shuttle service provided by the hotel.

The room although aged is well appointed, comfortable and clean.

Staff service is excellent and restaurant served delicious and good value cuisine.

Overall for it's rate, it's good value, being the renown Accor Hotel chain.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the highest 5th floor, being the only floor with rooms being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WChanBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for 11 days in January, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The entrance (foyer) is very impressive and has a lobby bar within it.

The staff here were pretty friendly and very keen to help. English is understood by most of the staff.

Check-in was smooth, and very fast.

The room was big, and had everything you needed, including good AC and opening windows which was nice.

We didnt eat at the hotel due to the fact there are so many options in Chiang Mai.

The hotel do a free shuttle to the Night Bazaar and back which is great but make sure you book in advance.

The location is ok, it is not within the moat, but it is close enough to walk or if it is hot, you can usually find a tuk tuk hanging around outside. It is between 60 and 80 Baht to anywhere in the city.

Next door is a huge supermarket where you can buy drinks, etc which is VERY handy.

Also because the hotel has been there a while, the tuk tuk drivers know where it is so it is easy to get home after a few drinks!!

I would definitely recommend this hotel, and the new pool area and bar is very nice for whiling away a few hours in the afternoon.

Bearing in mind we only paid $500 AU for 11 days, I think this was amazing value.

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matandrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
#72 of 381 in Chiang Mai
443 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#56 of 381 in Chiang Mai
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 381 in Chiang Mai
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Property: Mercure Chiang Mai
Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing