We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't write home about it...”
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
Ranked #68 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't write home about it...”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at Mercure Chiang Mai recently and weren't too impressed with our experience. The hotel is pretty old and run down and the service had a lot to be desired. The rooms were clean and comforatable, but really dated and the breakfast was ok (not great). The hotel wasn't in a great location, with the only benefit being that it was right next to a pretty good supermarket.
They offer a daily transfer to the night markets (which were great!), which was really handy however 1 night they left 5 minutes early for the final pick up and left us there which we weren't impressed by. Would definately look elsewhere when we next return to Chiang Mai

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclarknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear jclarknz,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor regarding to you stay at Mercure Chiang Mai. We are sorry to here that your experience didn't meet you expectation and that we were failed to deliver our service. Please be assured that we will continue improving our quality of service and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future!

Sincerely,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    430
    294
    93
    46
See reviews for
218
310
150
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A bizarre experience, the 4-star hotel that God forgot.
On the outside you are welcomed by a stylish fountain, on the inside the towels are torn and broken and have been washed a thousand times too many.
The bathrooms and showers are modern and nice, while the carpets in the rooms and hallways are greasy, spotty and should have been changed five years ago.
I could go on.
The hotel is proud of its "shuttle to the night market", but for hundreds of guests there are only a handful of places on the shuttle that only leaves once an hour, with no exceptions. What's the point in having one?
The hotel also has a shuttle to the airport that leaves on certain times about five times a day, but bizarrely enough the shuttle costs more than the drivers always found directly outside the hotel, that you can use anytime you choose. Why does the hotel even bother?
All in all the hotel is a very strange mix of quality chain hotel and badly-planned budget guesthouse, for instance the bed was huge and comfortable but I have never stayed at a hotel where my bed was so half-heartedly made by the cleaning staff.
Still the place wants to pretend it's a luxury hotel, and with no pubs nearby the Mercure is kind enough to provide a lobby bar where a tiny Chang beer costs 140 baht, extremely high for Chiang Mai. Why oh why?
Somebody badly needs to sort this place out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear StoffeH,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We very much appreciate your sharing your concerns and it is always a pleasure to receive valued comments from you.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

I have noted your observations and recommendations for improvement to concerned departments. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We hope that this experience will not alter your confidence in Mercure Chiang Mai and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Chiang Mai
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great smiling and helpful staff. However the rooms are quite dated, the beds are the usual high level of comfort wigh the Accor group., Especjallythe bathroom. The lication is a bit ou t of the way but a walkable distsnce to the old city. The price reflected these points but I probably wont stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear aulynch,

We are pleased having you as a guest and thank you so much for your review on tripadvisor! Sorry to hear that we could not make the hotel one of your preferable choices due to the location and so on. Therefore, we still keep working on the rest of renovation project.

However, we are pleased to read that you appreciated with our staffs' friendliness. It definitely encourages us! :)

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we do hope that we will have you as a repeat guest. :)

Best Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Wide Traveller
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is about 10 mn and 80 bath TukTuk away from the Night market area.
It is a bit outdated and could need renovations, even if everything was in working condition.
The pool area is surrounded by walls but quite and clean.
Staff was nice, buffet breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benchmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staff were friendly enough, especially the tour agent John! The hotel is quite old- to give you an idea, the room door opens with an actual key.. :O the room itself is ok, at least it was clean, but definitely not what i would expect from a Mercure. Towels were forgotten, the double bed was 2 singles pushed together and uncomfortably hard. The window also did not shut properly (mosquitos!!) and the walls were thin enough to hear next door's tv AND snoring!
The value is great, I paid $30 per night, and the location is about 15 mins drive from the airport, and a 15 min walk into town. there is a supermarket and bank just next door. The hotel also runs a free shuttle to the night bazaar, handy. The pool looked good too!
All in all, maybe I shouldn't complain for the price, but just don't have high expectations!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear thegorbs,

Thank you for writing us a review! So pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff as it is what we strive for everyday. :)

However, since we ran a high occupancy and it's also a peak season, please accept our apology if there was any inconvenience occured during your stay. Please rest assured that we will continuously improve the quality of service to all of our guests.

Wising you all the best and hope to welcoming you again!

Warm Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
#76 of 386 in Chiang Mai
453 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
894 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#55 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#67 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,644 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 386 in Chiang Mai
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Property: Mercure Chiang Mai
Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing