We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm 100% sure this is an accor hotel for trainees”
Review of Mercure Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Chiang Mai
Ranked #68 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm 100% sure this is an accor hotel for trainees”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I went to this hotel December 2012 and these are my impressions towards this hotel.
Staff friendliness : if you are commission-able to them, they'll greet you warmly ,especially the bellman.
Room cleanliness : It's been re-branded. What do you think.
Pool area : From the line above, why should bother going there.
Breakfast : In good standard. But the cooks were not wearing proper uniform. They should wear hair net.
Atmospere : spooky in the night time.
Bad jokes about this hotel : It's been low graded. The staff did the card verify on my wife's credit card upon check in. But upon check out, she did not know how to deduct the actual amount from the blocked amount. This is really laughable.
Finally, you cant complain much anyway. Since it is less than one star hotel.

Room Tip: The bellmen here will always try to rip you off. Everything they offer is commission-able to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzeCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share us your feedback. We also appreciate that you have given us another opportunity to address your concerns during your stay.

We would like to apologies for the disappointing stay you had with us. Please be assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our guests. For this reason, I hope that we will have another opportunity to improve your stay experience in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    430
    294
    93
    46
See reviews for
218
310
150
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have seen other pictures on here with other peoples reviews and their rooms were much nicer than the ones we got...
it was ok because it was really cheap! $19AUD a night so we really couldnt complain.
the staff all kept to themselves and spoke very minimal as im the person who hates being bugged with questions every minute like 'how are you' 'hows your day' which was great.
they smiled when we walked by so that was ok too.

the hotels food was not the best especially the buffet breakfast, i wouldnt even bother, gave us bad stomach aches all morning and afternoon.
ordered room service for my friend and i, i was fine but she felt sick in the morning.
all food there are cheap outside of the hotel so id suggest to find a nice place....

great location as there are supermarkets and dvd store next door!
found a great cheap massage place further inside on the right of the supermarket 300baht for 1.5hrs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmySjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

After reading reviews before arriving at the Mercure, we were very worried about the accommodation we had booked, but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised! The rooms were quite dated but clean and spacious, but the bathroom old and tired, the staff very helpful and friendly.The hotel has a taxi/sightseeing desk inside and out, we used their services and it was the best thing we did, they advised and took us where we wanted to go in Chaing Mai at a very reasonable cost, the person to ask for is Jac he was wonderful. Some reviews also stated that there was no pool or it was being renovated, well it wasn't and there was! It was a great area to eat and swim with sun beds, quite relaxing after a hectic day sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p_clarke343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Super value for money. Spacious and big bed to sleep on. The hotel js a bit dated but for the price I paid it is worth every cent. Excellent service. Was supposed to get a refund from them due to change of room but forgot about it and left for Bangkok. They were quick to arrange for the Accor hotel in Bangkok to refund when I emailed them. Thank you for the efficient service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgcoolguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is really run downed. Even they are renovating since many months, it didn't become better. Standard and suite rooms are equipped with old facilities, dirty carpets and blankets for sleeping (wrapped in sheets). Front desk staff is nice but restaurant staff is unfriendly and unprofessional. Pool was closed while we were there but they announced that before arrival.

Room Tip: try to get a room to the back as the parking lot in front can be busy by supermarket customers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Bad points

Sorry for the bad points first but I was so disappointed. I booked this hotel on the premise that it had a swimming pool. We are quite active people and do not necessarily want to sit by the pool all day but we do like to chill out around the pool during our spare in between times, especially in the hot weather .

i) We booked 2 weeks from 24th October but when we got to the hotel it was in the middle of being renovated and there were signs saying that the pool would be open from 31st October. I was quite disappointed with Chiang Mai itself so we decided to go to Pai for a few days, leaving on 1st and returning about 5th November thinking the pool would be open but when we got back it was still closed and would be for the duration of our holiday. My daughter complained and the Assistant Manager was very nice and offered us a free meal - hardly compensation but a step in the right direction

ii) The food & service in the restaurant was ok but I have been in better places

iii) The actual hotel is not in a very good location. There was not much to do in the surrounding area and was too far to walk to the city centre (in the heat) so had to get cabs each day

iv) Our room overlooked a "concrete jungle" - not impressed with this at all

Good Points

The staff were really polite and nice - could not fault them, they were a credit to the hotel

Our highlights

i) Trip to Pai - full of character, well worth a staying for a few days. Stayed in Baan Phasa - basic room but clean and in the middle of the "village"

ii) Overnight trip to the Longneck Hilltribe, I really struggled to climb to the top. I'm 54 years old and overestimated my ability. However the guide, Mr Ping Pong was terrific - he even made me a birthday cake when we got to the top. Fantastic views above the clouds and worth the struggle. First day we visited the Karen Longneck, then went elephant riding. Next day was easier, all down hill - went whitewater rafting and bamboo rafting. Really great trip if you are fit!!

iii) Flight of the Gibbon - Jungle zipline - expensive but fantastic!!

iv) Old Chiang Mai Cultural Centre - good show and food

v) Thai boxing - quite a contrast to the cultural centre but good entertainment as well

vi) Night Safari - a bit expensive for what it is but worth the visit, especially when you can feed the animals

Went to
Tiger Kingdom - good. The tigers looked well cared for and the cubs were really playful
Snake show - good
Crocodile show - good
Monkey show - absolutely hated it - thought there was a real sadness about this
Butterfly farm - good
Shooting range - good

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedlam86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureCNX, Manager at Mercure Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Mercure Chiang Mai. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our hotel and that we could not make your stay more comfortable. As we are keen to make improvements to enhance our guests’ overall stay at our properties, I have shared your feedback with the management team and entire team members to ensure to better product and service will be provided.

Please accept our apologies and we hope that the matter will not deter you from making use of our services again.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
Ibis Styles Chiang Mai
#76 of 386 in Chiang Mai
452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#51 of 386 in Chiang Mai
893 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#55 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#67 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,641 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#47 of 386 in Chiang Mai
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Napat
The Grand Napat
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chiang Mai

Property: Mercure Chiang Mai
Address: 183 Changpuak Road | Sri Poom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Chiang Mai, the second largest city in Thailand and only 10 minutes from the airport. Mercure Chiang Mai offers you comfortable rooms with free WiFi for your business and leisure stay. Book conferences, seminars and social events for up to 600 people with parking available. Our restaurant and bars will tempt you with a range of delicious dishes and a relaxing atmosphere. Supermarket and banks are available next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Accor Chiang Mai
Novotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mercure
Chiang Mai Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing