We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room without a view” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chompor Lanna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chompor Lanna
Ranked #254 of 787 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room without a view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We suffered the same fate as the last reviewer and were given a room without a window, though we did have curtains! I had booked a "superior" room, though I don't know what it was superior to.
In addition to the no window issue the wall backed on to the kitchen so it sounded like we were in there with the kitchen staff and the shower flooded the whole bathroom floor. On the plus side the gardens were lovely and the location was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcbalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room at agado at chompor lanna. At first sight we were in a great place, perfect location, a beautifull hotel and serene garden. After checking in we were very disappointed, a moisty room withour a window. I approached the friendly staff but there was nothing they could do about it and because our stay was for one night they gave us this room. Please don't damage your beautifull hotel with great staff by rent this room again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

After a very long flight - this was the perfect place to arrive! Really helpful staff, great restaurant and a quiet setting.

We had a deluxe room with a garden view - and we loved it. The wood is beautiful, it was clean with AC, fridge and TV. The only down side to the room was the shower - the pressure fluctuated from barely anything to decent and the hot water seemed to show up randomly throughout our showers which definitely wakes you up first thing in the morning!

The hotel is within walking distance of restaurants, and we walked to the night markets in about 15 minutes.

Staff helped us to organise trips, and gave great tips on good places for massages etc.

I would advise printing the directions/address in Thai before arrival as even with Thai directions the taxi driver had a bit of trouble finding the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferrisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel is right in the centre of the Old City so all the temples, restaurants etc are in short walking distance.

There was an initial mix up with our room but the staff were very apologetic and moved us to a superior double room after our first night. My one issue was with the shower, the water pressure wasn't great and sometimes smelt of suplher.

The room was a great size and air conditioned! The hotel has a very authentic and calming feel about it and is a great base for any length of stay in this wonderful City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHA1N3Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes uk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Chompor Lanna was built last year and the rooms are new and in great condition. The hotel is situated in a quiet soi next to Wat Duang Dee, close to three king’s monument and behind Tamarind Village, so a convenient location for exploring central Chiang Mai.
The hotel has ample parking and the large site has three small rice paddies, some tradional buildings and a large pond and waterfall. The landscaping is nice and there is a lot of space.
The rooms are in two blocks, one of five regular rooms by the reception and restaurant and five superior “villas” by the pool and rice paddies. All the rooms are upstairs.
I stayed in a villa and the room was very nice lanna style, ample space and fridge, kettle, flat screen tv with BBC/NBC etc. I had a twin first and then a double which was nicer. Linens good and bed comfortable. the double had a mosquito net which the twin didn't. Air con was quiet and worked well. There was a lack of drawers and hanging space however.
As others have said, the bathrooms are a let down. Tiny and not well fitted out, with some “lanna” features like an earthenware jar in the shower that just gets in the way. The sink is too rustic and there is nowhere to hang towels or put toiletries. Interestingly the twins bathroom was smaller than the doubles. It's a real shame about this and just some simple hooks, a shelf and new sink would make an enormous difference, also loose the jar. Sink only has cold water.
All The water around the hotel does mean there are Mosquitos and there were a lot in the rooms. I think the hotel should provide some room spray to combat this (I bought my own).
The staff are lovely and very helpful so top marks for that and the breakfast was good. I didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked good and prices reasonable.
I liked the hotel a lot with those few caveats and would happily stay again as it offers good value in a great position, but don't expect luxury bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Chompor Lannna located in the central area of ChiangMai. It is easy to walk around a visit many temples in the central area.The customer service was great, staff here could provide all kinds of help,such as day-tour,motor rent,taxi calling,even massage & spa booking, all you need is make a choice,and tell them,they would calling for you request.Rooms are nice and very clean.Breakfast and restaurant are all nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just wanted to thank the staff at Chompor Lanna for a wonderful stay. They were so helpful throughout our entire stay. They assisted us with directions, helped us book local tours, called us taxis, and were flexible with check-out times when we had a late flight out. The staff there are so friendly, speak English well, and were always pleasant and delivered service with a smile.

The hotel is in a great location of Chiang Mai. We loved the interior of the room (we stayed in the Deluxe Garden View room) with the dark wood details. Very unique. The restaurant is also very tasty and at a reasonable price. Nice ambience with the open patio and hanging lanterns.

Thanks again! Great hotel and great value!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#69 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nawa Sheeva
Nawa Sheeva
#154 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirilanna Hotel
Sirilanna Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel The California
Hotel The California
#202 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#14 of 710 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estia Chiang Mai Hotel
Estia Chiang Mai Hotel
#119 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chompor Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chompor Lanna

Property: Chompor Lanna
Address: 27, Soi 12, Phra Pok Klao Rd. | Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 787 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chompor Lanna 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Chompor Lanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing