We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Guesthouse in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #103 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had visit Chiang Mai last year and stay with Kamala Guesthouse ,The staff very friendly and very helpful ,Kamala the owner all so take care me very well .Good value for your money and all so the room very nice and clean .I very can't wait for my next visit in April .I will recommend for anyone staying Chiang Mai .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sansaniwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Kamala's Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here for three weeks. We've had a room at the front & although it is a busy soi the traffic was quieter than it is at home & with the window closed we weren't disturbed.
Around about ( 5 minutes easy stroll ) are plenty of good choices for food, drink, a haircut : ) laundry services,(we used the lady next door to Top Garden (3 kilos washed & beautifully ironed 190 baht) moped hire, tours, pharmacies, off sales, food markets, etc etc.
The mattress was very firm & we both got a good night's sleep.
The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels.
The guesthouse could certainly use a ''deep clean'' spruce up in many areas & although the service we received, even when we had a problem, was helpful & friendly I wouldn't class it as ''enthusiastic or ''outstanding''.
We preferred to eat elsewhere after the first couple of days mostly based on price, choice & quality.
We did not book any tours through the Guesthouse.
Overall it served a purpose & I would stay here again if other places on the same soi were booked as with this occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thank you for posting a review of our guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Kamala's is awesome, clean cheap rooms ( 790 THB Double en-suite ),lovely food and very helpful friendly staff. Highly recommend for anyone staying in Chiang Mai ( motorbikes from here are cheap too ) We'll be back, thank you so much! =)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spunkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

And thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've been staying at Kamala's guesthouse for few days, everything was great: the rooms are simply but clean, you can ask everything you want about trekking or boxing or anythong else and they can book for you. The staff is very very cool and warm. Ad the price is not expensive at all !!
Next in CM, i'll be back, i promise ! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed for more than 10 days at Kamala's GH ! The rooms are really clean and fresh ! The main quality of the house is its staff !!! Thanya (the biggest smile on earth), Nok and Jojo are such amazing persons. Always smiling and very helpfull ! Try Jojo's curry !
The location is perfect to visit Chiang Mai !
You can book your room with your eyes closed !
Enjoy Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The website and fliers were taken with rose tinted glasses. The rooms are functional but a bit run down. It was clean, gave fresh towels and we always had hot water. WiFi was slightly temperamental. We had a larger room over the front initially (2 nights) but fortunately we managed to move to a quieter (no late night road and street noise) smaller room (3 nights).
Breakfast (not included) was ok but we much preferred the Cat House a little up the road.
We paid £13 a night which we thought was ok value. Room safe and fridge were appreciated.
You can book tours though the reception rep. Always worth shopping around though.
Staff were friendly but most only spoke the most basic English.
Location is good with the centre of Chaing Mai only about 15min walk away.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back if you prefer a quieter night.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LankySiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Your comments are appreciated. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

There's nothing terribly wrong with Kamala's, and some things are quite right--but it is a bad value for what it delivers. Stayed here because I love the location -- this is a great soi, convenient to some quiet residential streets and the tourist center inside the moat -- and Top Garden, where I had stayed the previous week, was full. Tanya is a great ambassador for the place -- exceedingly welcoming and friendly, as were a few of the other staff who spoke English. Those who did not (which were most of them) were much less interactive. It also has a kind of now-classic "big guesthouse" large common area that is welcoming, and nice western breakfasts.

But for the 790 baht we paid, the room and halls were quite shabby. It's very institutional -- the opposite of cozy. Our "superior" room was quite cramped, and while it had a fridge and safe, it felt very barren. The shower was hot, but the bathroom also unrenovated. It was a huge pain to get the wireless working -- the directions in the room about how to access it were completely wrong, and the staff could not explain it well either despite several tries.

There is so much competition in Chiang Mai for guesthouses that this one should renovate and spruce up if it wants to charge these prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataliaRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Thank you for posting a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#80 of 387 in Chiang Mai
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#151 of 776 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#10 of 776 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#45 of 776 in Chiang Mai
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#101 of 776 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#39 of 776 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $11 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing