We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in CM !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #90 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay in CM !”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I've been staying at Kamala's guesthouse for few days, everything was great: the rooms are simply but clean, you can ask everything you want about trekking or boxing or anythong else and they can book for you. The staff is very very cool and warm. Ad the price is not expensive at all !!
Next in CM, i'll be back, i promise ! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
19
48
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed for more than 10 days at Kamala's GH ! The rooms are really clean and fresh ! The main quality of the house is its staff !!! Thanya (the biggest smile on earth), Nok and Jojo are such amazing persons. Always smiling and very helpfull ! Try Jojo's curry !
The location is perfect to visit Chiang Mai !
You can book your room with your eyes closed !
Enjoy Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The website and fliers were taken with rose tinted glasses. The rooms are functional but a bit run down. It was clean, gave fresh towels and we always had hot water. WiFi was slightly temperamental. We had a larger room over the front initially (2 nights) but fortunately we managed to move to a quieter (no late night road and street noise) smaller room (3 nights).
Breakfast (not included) was ok but we much preferred the Cat House a little up the road.
We paid £13 a night which we thought was ok value. Room safe and fridge were appreciated.
You can book tours though the reception rep. Always worth shopping around though.
Staff were friendly but most only spoke the most basic English.
Location is good with the centre of Chaing Mai only about 15min walk away.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back if you prefer a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LankySiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Your comments are appreciated. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

There's nothing terribly wrong with Kamala's, and some things are quite right--but it is a bad value for what it delivers. Stayed here because I love the location -- this is a great soi, convenient to some quiet residential streets and the tourist center inside the moat -- and Top Garden, where I had stayed the previous week, was full. Tanya is a great ambassador for the place -- exceedingly welcoming and friendly, as were a few of the other staff who spoke English. Those who did not (which were most of them) were much less interactive. It also has a kind of now-classic "big guesthouse" large common area that is welcoming, and nice western breakfasts.

But for the 790 baht we paid, the room and halls were quite shabby. It's very institutional -- the opposite of cozy. Our "superior" room was quite cramped, and while it had a fridge and safe, it felt very barren. The shower was hot, but the bathroom also unrenovated. It was a huge pain to get the wireless working -- the directions in the room about how to access it were completely wrong, and the staff could not explain it well either despite several tries.

There is so much competition in Chiang Mai for guesthouses that this one should renovate and spruce up if it wants to charge these prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the staff they were fantastic, the 50baht breakfast was great as well. The room are simple, not overly comfortable but decent. First night we experienced bed bugs, brought this to the attention of staff and they changed all the sheets. Still nervous we slept in our hostel sheets. The WIFI is crappy and very unreliable. It has actually gone off once in this review. So while trying to finish the rest of the planning of our trip was very hard. Overall I would rate as average, when I come back the Chiangmai it will be at least plan C if the other 2 place are full. It can get very noisy very early in the morning from the street so be prepared.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were also recommended this place by Funky Monkey when they were all full. The location is great, right in town. We also were able to check in to our room early since it was available which we were so grateful for after an all night bus ride to Chiang Mai. We were a bit confused at first because it turns out we actually booked at the Kamala Boutique Guesthouse (owned by the same people, slightly nicer and a bit more expensive) about 1/2k down the road but were happy they let us stay at this Kamala guesthouse since it was a little cheaper. The Top Garden next door looked a bit nicer from the outside so we might try that place next time but we were happy with our comfortable and clean room at Kamala's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
We are pleased that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was recommended this place by Funky Monkey when they were overbooked. It's location is quite handy right next to the old town. Staff are friendly and speak good English. We arrived earlier than the check in time and subsequently our room wasn't ready but they let us have a shower in the meantime which was much appreciated. The room was clean and quiet and met all our needs. You can book trips from here and we booked a few, cookery course, elephant trip and Doi Suthep with a visit to a less than authentic hill tribe village. (If you want to visit Doi Suthep, I would recommend going in one of the red trucks rather than a trip. There are plenty coming and going from Chang Mai - much cheaper and you miss out the village) We didn't have breakfast here as there were so many interesting places to eat round about so I can't comment on their food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1967Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamalas_CNX, Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, hop to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#165 of 747 in Chiang Mai
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#56 of 747 in Chiang Mai
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 747 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hi Guest house
Hi Guest house
#102 of 747 in Chiang Mai
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#15 of 840 in Chiang Mai
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 747 in Chiang Mai
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Property: Kamala's Guesthouse
Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing