We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING - Don't stay here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #108 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As the title says, don't stay here! We had the cleaning staff go through our bags that we left in the room and they stole money from us!
Kamala tried to say that we couldn't prove it and it probably happened on our way to the airport but that isn't the case!

The hotel staff was nice to us until they found out we booked our tours online and not from them. Then they did a 180 a barly acknowledged us.

I would highly recommend avoiding this place, they are plenty of other guesthouses to stay at which won't rob you!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomasbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamalas_CNX, Owner at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Hi Thomas,

I am really sorry what had happened to you. I have police to investigate this but you were not here to do the report to the police. I have been finding out this problem your behalf. No evidance that things had been stolen from the guesthouse according to the CCTV in the building. All my staff got investigated by police and made a record. You left my place without notify us striaght away which police find it hard to investigate and questioning you both. Only emails between you and that they had seen.

I have been trying to do my best for you two and I am so sorry to hear that you both are quite sure it happened in my place. I can't compensate everybody if no evidance. I hope you do understand me that all guest reviews mean a lot for this business. And I run this business with my profession and spiritual. I did my best for you. All the best.

Thanks,

Kamala khemapirak (Nok)
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We moved to Kamalas Guesthouse from the Elegant Lana after we had had enough. With the breakfast included, it was a very similar price and very good for the location and what you got! The room was clean and cheerful, good air con, good tv, good bed, clean and modern bathroom - all very nice. The reception room was also great with everything you might need. Wifi was fine for us. The food was good. And most of all the staff were so cheerful and helpful. We really wish we had taken action sooner and spent our whole stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4besie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I like this place . Friendly staff , lovely owner . Close to city center . Great breakfast .
Comfortables bad and room . Clean and quiet . Can play pool table . Tour agency service and laundry service working good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haluk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Yes, the rooms are pretty large. The guesthouse is definitely ok, but not more. He are the backdraws:
- Wifi constantly breaking. Unable to seriously do anything online. Totally annoying when having to organize remaining trip.
- Noise: GH is very noisy. Despite of earplugs I woke up early from street noise and vendors outside. Even aircon is super loud so that you have to turn it off if you would like to sleep.
- slippery floor: the floor is extremely slippery. You can easily hurt yourself
- Not clean: my linen was extremely dirty. Same is true for bathroom which was obviously not cleaned from previous people staying there. Super dirty floor from shower. Was never cleaned during my several nights stay.
- Security box not working: defined my pin, put stuff in, closed and could not open anymore despite using my PIN. Could get key from reception to open it though. Did not leave any stuff in there afterwards. Also I asked reception whether they could secure it for me - they just put in their room without securing at all. I asked to get it back immediately and rather carried it all day.

During my SEA trip, I have stayed in a lot nicer GHs for less money. I am sure, there are better options for Chiang Mai to sweeten your trip. This was not my first Choice originally - other options were booked out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel_Consult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamalas_CNX, Owner at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I am really sorry to hear this and apologize that cause you unpleasant stay. I will definitely taking in for my top issue to improve this and train my staff more about how to do their job properly. As we are located in the centre of town, It really difficult to control the noise but we also have some room in the back of the building which is quite. Internet now I am using fiber optic connection 30mb. I will look into my software. The rubber floor is slippery because my maid put too much duster polish spray and I will look into this. I have already started to change all floor to be a proper tiles on unoccupied rooms since the beginning of last week. I am totally understand about slippery floor. Hopefully I have a chance to provide a better service to you again in the future.
Regards,
Kamala Khemaphirak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend are staying in this guesthouse for 4 nights and it is truly worth the money. We have a twin bed shared bathroom with a/c and pay only EUR 5 per person per night. The rooms are super clean, the beds are more than nice, staff is friendly, great location (near the old city) and the café below is good to chill-out. All in all, a really cheap place to make you feel like home. Really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capetownuniversity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, two in a double en suite room and one in a double room with shared bathroom. The en suite rooms are huge, the beds are rock hard and the bathrooms are dated but have good shower units with hot water. The furnishings are adequate but the bare Lino floor is a bit harsh. The room with shared bathroom is smaller with a floating ceiling which had seen better days, we also heard scratching and scuttling throughout the night. We just put up a mosquito net and tried to ignore it, the shared bathrooms are ok if a little grubby, I think they are used by staff/long term inhabitants. They are full of shampoo bottles, soap etc. all in all not terrible considering an en suite room was £15 per night and the non en suite £8.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I honestly can't fault this place, my only disappointment was how quiet it was. That might sound strange but I'm a solo traveller and was hoping to meet some people through my stay at the guesthouse, which was pretty much impossible as there was no one around (even though the guesthouse was quite full). I stayed in a double room which was fantastic! Clean, good size, huge bed with clean linen, bathroom isn't luxurious but had everything I needed. Location is great, just outside the Old City, everything within walking distance. Staff are helpful after a bit of encouragement. The breakfast included in the room rate (if you opt for it) isn't worth the extra 100 baht. I paid 650bht per night including breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedub85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#152 of 801 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#48 of 801 in Chiang Mai
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#80 of 801 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#33 of 801 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Little Lanna Cafe & Premier Guesthouse
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $16 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing