We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful/friendly staff, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #103 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had reserved a room with a double bed and small deck on-line and received an email confirming our request. Unfortunately, our request was not properly recorded in the books (I'm not actually sure we were in the book at all) and we ended-up in a room with two twin beds and no deck. Not the biggest deal, but disappointing as this trip was our belated honeymoon/one year anniversary trip. Moreover, usually when a business makes a mistake such as this they offer free drinks or dinner--no such offer was made. The rooms are basic, but very clean and spacious. They have 2 wifi networks, one of which was usually working but we often had to bounce between them while searching the internet. We both thought the beds were hard and not the most comfortable (this could be said of most places in Thailand though). Aside from our initial check-in, the staff was incredibly helpful and always friendly. We booked all of our trips through the front desk (elephant camp, cooking class and Doi Suthep) and had wonderful experiences. The location is perfect, just outside the city wall within easy walking distance to everything; especially the Sunday Night Market. We ate at the Guesthouse and had one of our favorite dishes while we were in Thailand, it was an "egg salad" (fried egg over noodles). This is a nice newer guesthouse that is very spacious, clean, friendly, and has a great common room. It could be a great guesthouse with just a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tube_pendous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Kamala's Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 157 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had a great stay at Kamalas Guesthouse.I travelled on my own and I was very welcome at Kamalas guesthouse. It's owned by a british/thai couple and they know what hospitality is. I would def. go back here. They just opened the guesthouse in the summer of 2012, so everything is brand new, fresh and shiny.

The guesthouse is at the old city in a quiet street, close to the food market, main street, thai pae gate, nightmarket. Everything is just within a 10 minute walk.

The staff and the owners are super friendly and made my 6 day stay very pleasant.
Free wifi is available plus a computer in the hall for unlimited free use. Each room has a mini refrigerator, fresh towels every day. The shower is great, the best I had in Thailand, and the sheets are hotel-like quality. Good and quiet airconditioning + fan at your room.

To summerize the above, kamalas guesthouse is a very good deal for the price you are paying. Definitely worth a visit when you are going to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggypositive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I arrived here by accident, searching for a hotel. The staff was super friendly and the room was perfect, very good airco, good beds and very clean. The staff helped me with booking my meditation course and booked everything I wanted to do very good, the girls are really friendly and had a nice drink with them. Then there is Jojo, the chef. She is super nice and friendly and makes najmmie good food. Thanks for a lovely stay, if I'm ever in Chiang Mai again, I will surely come back here.

Greets, Sarah from Belgium

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Found it by luck on my first visite to Chang Mai, and with good beds ,food,service,and nice staff, made the visite worth repeating.It's close to the center of town which means no need for taxis at night, With all services in the guest house (good food, drinks,T.V. lounge and pool table) you don't have to move to enjoy yourself.You won't regret a stay here (if you are lucky enough to to get a room)

Room Tip: up to your budget,it wiil be good value
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

They were booked out so couldn't stay here but we ate here a few times. Food was excellent as was service. Well worth a try. We actually ended up getting breakfast here 5 times and met some French people staying here who absolutely lived it. Free wifi and pool table was great to pass time!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Ended up here accidently because Chiang Mai in was full. I got lucky and stayed here the rest for my stay in Chiang Mai. Rooms are too big for my small appearance and loved the big window attached to a mini balcony. With everything in it for only 400 baht, you dont need anything else. It is located in the middle of the centre, but you have the peace of a living area and the view of some ancient ruin from your window. Last but not least, the staff ladies are more then helpfull, very attractive ;-) and funny! :)

If you like an open guesthouse go to Kamala's!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Clean, comfortable, cheap, perfectly located and above all: such a fun place to stay. Kamala's is how every guesthouse should be. You simply cannot beat the price for what they have to offer. Good food, clean and bright rooms, free WiFi, great vibes and a staff that goes out of their way to make you feel completely at home and give you advice on the best things to see & do in and around Chiang Mai. Although be warned: you might not even want to go out in the city at night, and just stay and enjoy a good laugh and a nicely chilled Singha in the lobby, with guests and staff. I definitely wouldn't want to stay anywhere else next time I go back to Chiang Mai. Perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
Eurasia Chiang Mai Hotel
#80 of 387 in Chiang Mai
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#151 of 776 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#10 of 776 in Chiang Mai
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#45 of 776 in Chiang Mai
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manee Guest House
Manee Guest House
#101 of 776 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#39 of 776 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $11 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing