We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and extremely friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #94 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value and extremely friendly”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the Kamala guest house for 3 nights in a double room with air conditioning. We paid 700bht per night which seemed like good value for the standard of accommodation. The room was spacious and clean with good television reception and 2 complimentary bottles of water each day. 

The only downside at Kamala was the Wi Fi which was inconsistent, sometimes fast, sometimes slow and sometimes dead. It had a tendency to drop out at ten-minute intervals, and it was also necessary to get a new password from reception every day. It is important to note that it was explained to us on arrival that there were some problems with the Wi Fi, so this is probably not normally the case.

The Kamala is well located to walk around Chiang Mai, and the staff are some of the most friendly and helpful we have met. There is a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere and they serve good food and drinks. Overall the Kamala Guesthouse deserves a strong recommendation and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
19
48
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

And this one BY FAR beats them all on many levels.

Location - slap bang in the middle of Chiang Mai...a stones throw from the moat near Thai Pei gate in a quiet side street. Very quiet location. Try staying on Loi Kroi road and having crappy music blaring till 3am and you'll know what noisy is! No sound pollution from late night bars in earshot because there aren't any within earshot. In the rooms, you cannot hear a sound from next door or from downstairs...even when the bar is busy on a Friday night.

Building - A lovingly restored Thai building that is both inviting and open...with all mod cons...just opened in summer 2012...very new.

Transport - Tuk Tuks and Song Taos are a 30 second walk away if you are venturing out to explore Chiang Mai

Rooms - Very clean, airy and bright, with fridges, TV, fan, aircon, all new furniture, mosquito guards on windows, desk and chair, everything you'd need from a guesthouse. They don't gouge you on the mini-bar either.

Food - Western food is high quality with carefully selected quality ingredients. Even their cooked breakfasts were better than you would get at many places at home! Thai food is expertly prepared to a very high standard and server with a smile in a relaxing environment. I know a lot of Chiang Mai restaurants and I rarely went outside to eat in breakfast and lunch.

Facilities - Huge open dining and bar area with FREE computer access, (really) high speed wi-fi over multiple routers, a high quality pool table and darts area, multiple flat screen TVs, comfy sofas for relaxing, high quality Western and Thai style furniture for dining and a 15 meter pool with sun bathing area just around the corner for small daily fee. Great for meeting other guests. Very sociable place if you want it to be...chilled out for Sunday mornings. Cheap and very fast laundry service. Again, lots of places will gouge you on services like this, but not Kamalas.

Price - Unbeatable. I've paid 1000 bhat a night for rooms half as good as the ones they have....which come in at around 550 bhat a night for large double rooms....less if you stay for a week or more. Beer and food is MUCH cheaper than you'll find in bars and restaurants around the city.

Staff - multi lingual, friendly, attentive without being over bearing, courteous and just good fun! I shared many a beer with Ian, Nok and Oi during my stay there. Had a blast with them!

Criticisms - Theres a very slight roll on the pool table which matters when you're playing Ian for a beer a frame at 11pm on a Saturday night. Don't play Ian at pool for beer!

Summary - Really enjoyed my time here and there is no other place I'll be spending my time in Chiang Mai during my frequent visits there. Just love everything about the place. I've tried a lot of places...this is the best I've found yet.

All the best

Barry

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryw831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

all in all it was disappointing. It looks nice from the outside. The lobby is big but too noisy with the televisions running and the pool table and the bar. Not a good place to relax. The room was big but could have been cleaner. The bathroom was dirty with hair on the floor. Very hard to get information when i told them that I had book my trek online.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norm j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was the second place we stayed in Chiang mai, first impressions were great, greeted by the very friendly owner who showed us around and was very flexible with checking in to suit our needs.

Rooms had everything you need and very clean. Beds had duvets instead of blankets which we found very cosy feeling like home with the air con on.

They were very helpful when needing a laptop to print some documents and allowed us to stay in the hotel after check out time and use the communal showers if needed.

Also do the most western style full English breakfast we found in Chiang mai.

Highly recommend this guesthouse, we will definitely stay again on a return!


  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaHayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala_CNX, Public Relations Manager at Kamala's Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 14, 2015
Thank you for reviewing Kamala's Guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I live and work just outside the city and like to have a place to stay at weekends, I am also used to hotels and a bit nervous of guest houses. Not anymore, this is the place I shall stay and I will eagerly recommend to anyone. Friendly, welcoming, clean, great coffee , great food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have just spent 6 days at this guest house and i realy enjoyed my stay here very much. I have been coming to Chiang Mai for the past 10 years and this is the best place i have ever stayed. I am going back in January and have booked my room already.

Room Tip: room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent two nights here and really loved the place. The receptionist Oiy was so helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom were both big and spotless. We had air con, tv, fridge and a writing desk. You could take two free bottles of water from the fridge a day. Our window looked out onto the stupa across the street. The breakfast was very good and you had a lot of choice, for 600 baht a night it was excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#153 of 757 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#19 of 757 in Chiang Mai
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 757 in Chiang Mai
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#44 of 757 in Chiang Mai
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
V Lodge
V Lodge
#27 of 757 in Chiang Mai
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 863 in Chiang Mai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Property: Kamala's Guesthouse
Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing