We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place and great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #101 of 732 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good place and great staff!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I can reccomend Kamala, I spent 1 mounth and loved it.. clean and nice room, staff very friendly and happy to help you. confortable and close to center city!. go there and 'll be a good experience!
Alex :)

Room Tip: room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    53
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
48
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nok jeap

Showed up in Chang Mai with no idea where I was going to stay or what to do, but could not be happier that I found the Kamala Guesthouse!!!! Nok and Jeap (the owners) helped me set everything up from jungle treks to motor bikes to sleeper busses and even gave me a ride with their scooter to a really good local massage place. There's a pool table and a TV with full service cable for all the sporting events that you might be missing from home. At this point in our trip we have been to Vietnam, Malaysia, Vang Vieng, Luang Prabang, and the Gibbon Experience, but Kamala definitely played a huge factor in making Chang Mai my favorite city yet. I definitely recommend this place to anyone stopping by the city for two days or two weeks to stay here, you'll have an awesome time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IggyLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Looked at a number of places, many are much the same but Kamalas looked either a bit or a lot cleaner than the other options and was significantly cheaper than many.
The room had a/c, fridge, tv, bathroom (hot water) and complimentary water.
Wifi throughout the building.
Downstairs is a large communal area with tvs, dart board, pool table, couches, tables and food/drink.
Staff were all really helpful and friendly.
The other guests were made up of a good mix of people, not many annoying gap year kids.
Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed in Kamala Guesthouse for a month during June 2012. We have been travelling for a year and consider Kamala to be in the top 5 accommodations we've stayed in.

Reasons include, brilliant location and extremely friendly and helpful staff - I booked a day trip to an elephant sanctuary and a bus to Laos through the travel desk. So much easier than asking many travel agents that I don't trust. The owners here are very trustworthy and take pride in their business, so reputation is important to them. The staff here all speak excellent English. There is a communal computer and excellent free wi-fi throughout the building. The food is delicious and interesting, breakfast is fantastic value for money. There are many restaurants and cafes nearby. Chiang Mai is a very charming city and well worth a visit.

The main reason why I love Kamala is that it charges the same rate as many other guest houses in Chiang Mai, but you get SOOO much more for your money. It is brand new, so the furniture and the rooms feel like a high end hotel. Rooms are cleaned everyday and drinking water is included in the price. They have a huge communal area, with a pool table, sofas and a great atmosphere. The rooms have very comfortable beds, are quiet, have a tv with cable and are spacious, with plenty of room to hang clothes etc. There is also a fridge in each room. The private bathroom has good ventilation and the shower is strong and hot. The A/C units are brand new so very efficient and silent.

In summary, after staying in hundreds of guesthouses, hostels and hotels over the past year we now have a good understanding of what most people want from a good accommodation. Kamala definitely stands out as a homely, modern, fun place to be. I'm looking forward to coming back and will certainly be recommending to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the guest house are a bit smaller but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

the place is clean, well priced, safe, fantastic location. we had a great time with the people working there, partied with them even. they were also very helpful in helping us book tours:) I'd recommend Kamala to all my friends and family and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtineToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#166 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#57 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#155 of 732 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#19 of 820 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#202 of 732 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Property: Kamala's Guesthouse
Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing