We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch heaven”

Khaomao-Khaofang Restaurant ChiangMai
Ranked #161 of 2,727 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "The Imaginary Jungle" restaurant For the last 20 years, Khaomao-Khaofang Restaurant, in Amphoe Mae Sot, Tak province, has created a beautiful harmony between the natural flora, our delicious fresh food and our friendly service. Our loyal customers have gone so far as to even have a plaque engraved saying that we are the most beautiful restaurant in Thailand.Today, Khaomao-Khaofang Restaurant has transferred the imaginary Jungle to our new restaurant in Chiang Mai. Experience the numerous plants and our beautiful waterfalls to give a cool and relaxing atmosphere during the day, with warm and delightful music at night. Your are welcome to feel the friendly atmosphere and taste our delicious original Thai dishes everyday.
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

The food was very average, duck very dry, curry boring, no idea why people rave about it. The music was crap too. Not recommended. Maybe if you like looking at flowers, they where nice

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank novo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 105 of 371 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2016

The best considering the total experience, atmosphere and food. It's in a great setting with a little pond, you feel like in the middle of nowhere, in the jungle perhaps, don't see or hear the nearby roads, absolutely great. The food is very good, too. The architecture with its large domed roof is impressive, toilets interesting, clean. There is ample parking. Nice paths lead to the restaurant, lined with greens and orchids, flowing water, moss, ferns, ..

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank ErnstThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

We were taken here by locals and it was truly inspiring to see. The place was packed out, infact we had to take a number and wait on the lounges to get a table! The food was pretty good, although for the buzz this restaurant has managed to create, I believe it is the venue / atmosphere more so than the food. The staff were attentive, but a little inflexible. They didn't ooze the beautiful thai nature we had been experiencing all over Chaing Mai. The venue was incredible with enormous fake trees and oddities everywhere, a must to see indeed. The view from the dining tables was a beautiful waterfall and the whole restaurant had an enchanting forest presence.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ASSunnyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

The waterfalls and water features attracted me when we just entered the place. The eating hall is huge and surrounded by trees, plants and water.
The service is marvelous. The food is perhaps the best in Chiang Mai. I recommend the fried duck. Price, well, is surprising cheap!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank kktengkkteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

A popular & busy place. Some negative reviews, likely this how it goes when they are busy. But the place is scenic, and if they are not too busy it comes out very good. I like here the Nam Prik Ongh, a northern speciality.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Giuseppe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaomao-Khaofang Restaurant ChiangMai also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Hang Dong, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Khaomao-Khaofang Restaurant ChiangMai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.