We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for live music.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear Bar

The Bear Bar
Ranked #11 of 36 Nightlife in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best live music in Chiang Mai! Music lives here.Home-made pizza, Thai and Western food, and a wide selection of cocktails.
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great venue for live music.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed Bear Bar with a large group of Thai and western friends. Live performers were outstanding, beer was cold, and the pizza was among the best in Chiang Mai. Taka, the owner, is a gracious host and outstanding sax player in his own right. Heartily recommended for a laid-back night out in the wonderfully musical city of Chiang Mai.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bronx4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearBar, Manager at The Bear Bar, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We're trying to build a serious music venue, so it's always good to see people who appreciate and really want to listen to the music. Good food and cold beer come as standard :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The go-to place for blues in Chiang Mai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Now that the Brasserie is gone, we have to get our live blues fix somewhere else and that place is the Bear Bar! Fantastic music.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Arlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearBar, Manager at The Bear Bar, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Yes, it's sad that the Brasserie has gone but we're continuing to carry the flag and give the bands a place to play. Blues is an important part of our schedule and there are some great bands in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great live music spot in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Bear Bar is a great venue in Chiang Mai, with live music nightly. The music tends toward jazz / folk / blues by local bands, and the owner is a musician himself. Great staff and the Thai food is excellent, featuring a lot of Northern dishes (the sun-dried fried pork dish is fantastic). Overall a nice, more chill alternative to the usual bars and restaurants further down Loi Kroh Road.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearBar, Manager at The Bear Bar, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks.

We were lucky to get the cook we have - when she "auditioned", I hired her when she brought the dishes out, before I even tasted them! - and her sun-dried pork is a favorite of the regulars. She'll teach you how to make it next time you drop by... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best choice for live music in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The music here is great. Wednesday is jam night and there were some great blues musicians playing. Lots of guitarists, as usual, but there was also a mad sax player who walked around the room, screaming his [--] off on his horn!

Great pizza, good cocktail menu, I'll be back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearBar, Manager at The Bear Bar, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks. We've put a lot of effort into our cocktails and the staff are starting to become known around town for them :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good music in a very comfortable bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Passing by one evening, we were drawn in by some very pleasant live folk music. Food was great, drinks menu was wide ranging and reasonable, and there were a solid line up of live acts all evening. Went back the next day, and it was exactly the same. Very much enjoyed my visits here.

Helpful?
3 Thank ciarancreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearBar, Manager at The Bear Bar, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. Consistency is an important part of any great business and we try hard to provide good music, food and drinks *every* night :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bear Bar also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Bear Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing