We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and new rooms - not central”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Poi De Ping

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poi De Ping
Ranked #157 of 720 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Munich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and new rooms - not central”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel opened recently so everything is very clean and new. The restaurant had not been opened when we stayed there.

We had a good sized double room with aircon/balcony/tv (600 Baht). The hotel rents bicycles for 50 Baht/day or scooters.

That is definitely good because the location is a bit far from the main tourist area (20 mins on bicycle).

Atmosphere is rather business/IKEA so do not expect a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferenczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
14
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is one of the best places for the backpackers.
It is located within walking distance to Chiangmai long distance bus terminal.
From the railway station, you can take songthaew or tuktuk for five minutes.
The room is maintained quite excellently and you can expect clean white bedding sheets.
You can take hot shower 24 hours.
The owner of this hotel is an old man of real good character.
You can have free coffee and free tea at the reception all day.
And dringking water can be filled free.
There are many reasonable places of eating nearby.
I would like to choose this place in the future.
And I would like to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwldfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here over chirstmas, and we really enjoyed it. the rooms were extremely clean, had a good tv, desk and dresser. our room had a balcony with large glass doors for light, but it also had dark curtains which was nice at night. the owner was very nice and helpful. we discovered a lot of very good street food close by. its close to the bus station and train station, but we found it better to rent a scooter, which was easy to do through the hotel for a good price. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

i would advise this place to those who like reasonble prices, not much crowd, clean place, very friendly boss(smart and can give you some fine advices) and they have wifi, ekspreso...... overall i would recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simkeslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I probably would not have stumbled up Poi De Ping unless I needed to visit a nearby business, but i must say I'm glad I did. The rooms are new and comfortable, but the true jewel of Poi De Ping is the owner. Fluent in English and highly intelligent. He provided service far and beyond any hotel I've spent time at in Thailand. The drink and food menu is extensive and very delicious.
The kitchen is equipped with every modern convenience to make your dining experience superb.
If you don't mind smallish rooms, I can not say enough good things about Poi De Ping!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
Inspire House Hotel & Service Apartment
2.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 mi away
7 Days Hotel
7 Days Hotel
#488 of 720 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hueandin Klinmai Boutique Hotel
Hueandin Klinmai Boutique Hotel
#94 of 810 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.3 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#4 of 810 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
#124 of 720 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poi De Ping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poi De Ping

Property: Poi De Ping
Address: 276/5, Thung Hotel Rd. | Wat Ket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 720 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet and cozy guest house. All rooms are air-condition with LCD, cable TV, Hot shower and free WiFi. Every room have bathroom ensuite.There are 4 type of room:- Single Deluxe : Single bed with balcony or terrace.- Double Deluxe : Double bed with balcony Double Standard : Twin bed. Family Suite : One Twin room and one single room in private floor, suitable for family with children or group traveller. Facilities: - Bicycle/Motorcycle for rent. - Kitchentte Near by facilities : - Coffee shop/Restaurant. (Opposite) - Swimming pool, Gym, Fitness. (5 Mins walks) - Bus terminal (5 min walks) - Hospital (Mc Cormik hospital 10 min walks) - Convenient Store (Opposite) - Department Store and Community Mall (5 min ride) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poi De Ping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing