We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel and nice service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Ranked #29 of 733 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel and nice service.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, quiet, private, good service, comfortable bed and clean...I like steam room and sauna which offer 24 hr for guests to access....all staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed for 2 nights in dec, 2013. Except there was few mosquitoes in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratchanee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    32
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
56
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in VC@ Suanpaak for six days and really enjoyed it. It is a lovely touch to be collected at the airport by two very friendly hotel staff. Even though it is very near the airport, do not let that put you off. We didn't hear one plane for the whole stay. The rooms are really spacious and we found them to be really quiet, probably because our room did face onto the beautiful pool. The manageress, Ariel (I think that is her name) was really helpful. We did a thai cooking course during our stay, and she even gave us some cooking sauces to bring home and make our own Pad Thai!!The breakfast was fine. It is a good idea to take the eastern options and they grow the most gorgeous lettuce and vegs in their own gardens at the back. if you get a tuk tuk into town, ask at reception to write the name of the hotel and wherever you are going to in Thai. We found that very helpful. The staff if you wish will bring you to town and do run a taxi service to collect you as well. We had laundry done and this was excellent and reasonable. Every staff member we met could not do enough for us, very polite and very friendlyi would definitely stay here again on hopefully my next trip to Chiang Mai

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bed- rm family suite which was immensely spacious. There was so much space to move around, it felt like a home, complete with a kitchen, dining area, living area n launday rm. The bedrooms could easily fit in an extra bed n still u probably won't find it crammed. In fact, we felt it was quite a waste, given that we were hardly in d rms to enjoy it. Poolside/garden landscaping was beautifully done. Staff was helpful n attended to us w a smile constantly. There is a rustic, unpolished feel to it's exterior (with d numerous decorative handicrafts n sculptures, both large n small).

Breakfast is cooked to order n it takes a while, take note if u happen to b in a hurry. The choice is simple, nothing fancy. But one thing we looked forward to each morning. The PANCAKES! They r so fluffy, fresh n fragrant, we found ourselves ordering extra helpings each time.

Located next to d airport n a sprawling mall (Central Airport Plaza), it'll take 10,15min by tuk tuk to reach fr d old city (depending on d traffic). We had completely no problems with noise though. From what we could see, occupancy was probably low during our stay. We had d whole pool to ourselves on a Saturday morning!

In d nite, the exterior of the establishment is lit up with warm yellow lighting. Turns up the romantic vibe! There were hanging lights draped from the trees, which resembles rain drops/snowflakes falling. Jr was enticed, in wide-eyed wonder. Overall, I would definitely recommend this B&B, especially for families n couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here in October. Free airport pickup, beautiful room with balcony, great pool amid tropical garden. The staff were really friendly and helpful with good English. The on-site restaurants are good enough to attract locals, and they even grow their own salad vegetables at the back. Can't really fault it, real comfort in Chiang Mai which is pretty hectic these days. Can't really say I noticed it was noisy, it is in a sizeable city after all. Our room faced inward on the pool/garden area which was quiet.
There are many nice touches and little artistic works and objects that give the place some character. Shopping centre is next door and markets etc are a few minutes ride away. The hotel will shuttle you there or enjoy the tuk-tuk rides.
Will be back here next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Finefox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice but noisy

Overall a nice place.  The staff was very welcoming and friendly, and the rooms were new and clean.  Very comfortable beds!  The location was not too bad.  It typically cost us 60-100 baht to take a tuk tuk back from town at night, depending on how much haggling we felt up for.  You can find an inexpensive ride to town at the mall next door.  You could also walk to the main gate area of the old town in about 45 minutes if you're looking to explore.

The breakfast was ok - small omelette, lots of brekky meats, and a big salad from their garden.  Great strong coffee!  The wifi worked well.

There's a mall next door where you can find a wide variety of shops and restaurants.  The local Thai shops in the basement level were particularly interesting.

The only real negative about this place is that it's fairly noisy.  Something about the way they constructed it means you can hear pretty much everything going on around you, both inside and outside.  The building we were in was along the road by the mall and there was constant traffic until late at night, including those annoying trucks that blast advertisements from loudspeakers.  They frequent the mall area in particular so we heard them constantly.  It sounded like they were in our room.  

Anyway, sound also travels quite well between the rooms.  Our neighbor liked to stay up late watching TV.  It seemed like he was in our room too.  We could even hear him yawning.

The good news is that most of the noise (both interior and exterior) dies down after about 11pm and doesn't start up again until around 7:30 or 8.  The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel may be a little better as they're farther from the mall, but I couldn't say for sure.  

Overall a nice, comfortable and convenient place if you don't mind the background noise during the day/early evening.

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the mall/road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our car's GPS took us directly to VC@Suanpaak on our way from Phrae where we had spent the previoius night. The room we were taken to was enormous by any standard: 30'x15' (9mx4.5m) and was bounded completely on two sides by 2-meter-high windows. The ceiling sloped upward from the windows to a height of around 20' (6m). The bathroom was superb, with a full-sized bathtub and separate shower stall. However, here arose the problem that keeps me from giving this hotel a perfect rating. For fully half of our 3 night stay there was no hot water at all. The hotel has opted for solar panel heating of water, and for this I applaud them. We came during the rainy season and both the solar panels and the back-up electric-powered heating system were out of commission. My Thai wife wasn't at all bothered because traditionally Thai houses have no water heaters, and she is used to cold showers. The management and I worked out a compromise whereby I was allowed to do my washing in an apartment in an adjoining building that did have hot water. Other than that, the only other negative was minor: the breakfasts were mediocre. The location next to Central Airport Plaza (a huge mall) meant that eating in the basement food court was very convenient, as was all of our shopping. Trips to the Night Bazaar and Walking Street cost just 30 baht for each of us each way. Oh, just two more oddities: first, you'll see a heavy use of found wood pieces around the property, and second, a persistant and annoying insect kept up a sleep-interrupting chorus outside the room all night. Finally, hats off to Ms. Aree and her well-trained and competent staff for making our stay as successful as it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camelbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

After spending 2 nights at a guesthouse in town which had 250+ 5 star reviews and was located in a spot where the traffic and other noise was unrelenting we escaped to Suanpaak and regained our sanity. As others have mentioned, totally quiet, great customer service, a 3 minute walk to Airport Central Shopping Plaza and a large Rimping market (and great Ciabatta Bread!), nice swimming pool and an ambience that allows you to think. Like others, we booked a hotel room and were upgraded to an apartment overlooking the pool. The hotel offers transportation services for between 100-150 baht to must in town locations. Less expensive transport can be used at the Shopping Mall next door. If you are into Thai food, Sushi or Hot Pot the mall next door is as close to heaven as you can get. Ram hospital is less then 7 minutes away if you are looking for some really affordable high quality health care unlike what's available you know where. The interent was occasionally less then optimal, it turns out that it was the ISP not the hotel's fault and massage is difficult to find down that way. Tons of banks in the Mall including the elusive AOEN ATMS on the third floor which don't charge transaction fees. I'd definitely recommend even though you are a 10 minute or so ride out of old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
The Chiang Mai Riverside
The Chiang Mai Riverside
#25 of 379 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
2.5 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
#78 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hi Guest house
Hi Guest house
#105 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amata Lanna
Amata Lanna
#14 of 733 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment

Property: VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Address: 61 Moo 3, Airport Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 733 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully furnished property includes quality amenities and every convenience to ensure you enjoy a comfortable "home away from home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VC@Suanpaak Hotel & Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing