We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly meeting hub.”

The Meeting Room Art Cafe
Ranked #372 of 2,143 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This unique old tradition teak house was turned into "The Independent Green Business" which is provided the non-profit space for the art, book,film and music..with Our selective Light food, Refreshment and Coffee..Thank you very much.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very friendly meeting hub.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a terrific little meeting place for locals, expats and travellers. Very arty with some excellent locally produced works and very interesting and genuine Thai artifacts. Jo is a great host, his menu and fresh cooking is a delight and the fresh fruit smoothies are to die for. He also has a very comprehensive wine collection. A charming man who has created a delightful Café in a very handy location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzienross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We popped in out of curiosity and glad we did. The art work on display is mostly locally created and of an impressive high quality; in a range of styles and pocket depths! It offered some nice beers not seen in other bars and the cake was delicious. The place had a really cool vibe and we are going to check out the lunch menu again before we leave Chiang mai.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christhegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It would have to be "aroi mak mak!!!!"”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Food fantastic!!!! I ate here twice ( so far) yesterday having an delicious panini and came back today and had the Mexican special.
Wonderful place - lovely couple who run it who go out of their way to make sure your food is memorable.
Lovely place to spend a few hours.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed in a bed and breakfast close to the Meeting Room. I stumbled in one day and loved it so much I went back everyday of my stay. Joe & Fon, the owners are incredibly warm and welcoming. Their space is filled with beautiful art from local artists and Joe's love of music is clear: the best music fills the cafe. It's got the best of Thai culture mixed with a great European feel. I adore this place and would highly recommend it to everyone. The lattes & fruit smoothies are great, as are the fresh salads and sandwiches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linds678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect afternoon”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped in for a late lunch. Best decision of the day. It was drizzling rain outside and the The Meeting Room Art Cafe was a welcoming and homey environment. Had a lovely chat over lunch with the owners about their vision for the cafe and what it could mean for the community.

I had the roasted vegetable salad which was delicious and also the chocolate apricot cake which was rich, moist, and delish. We bought a small, beautiful abstract oil painting which I will treasure.

This place is refreshing for the soul. I highly recommend stopping in and relaxing - this is not a place to rush in and out of - best to savor it for a little while. Also, it's located on a great street for shopping - not the typical tourist tat - there's some good fair trade places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meeting Room Art Cafe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Meeting Room Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing