We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Located right next to Thapae gate, so perfect for the old town. Sunday market is right on your doorstep but noise isn't a problem. The staff are friendly and the rooms clean with a hot shower. We had a smaller room, but with a window (we had a choice of small room with window or large room with no window when we arrived) and it was fine for us. They do sell breakfast but we didn't try it. Very close to lots of restaurants and within walking distance to the night bazaar and the Saturday market (10-15 mins walk). The WiFi wasn't great in our room but was fine downstairs.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy and Lindsa... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    38
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
74
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rietberg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice and clean guesthouse in the center of Chiang Mai.
The rooms were nice an clean and the prices were very reasonable.
The staff is really nice and the tours are offered for really good prices compaired to the rest of the travel agencies. Especially the owner, Hugo, is a really nice guy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veraaa_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at central Guesthouse for 4 nights and it was amazing, the staff were so helpful and organised. We booked two excursion's through the hotel and saved a lot of money and time, there's a Muay Thai boxing stadium next door which I would recommend due to brilliant cultural experience. If you visit Chang Mai, central Guesthouse is defiantly something to consider

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaronfarmer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in early 2013. I went to extend my stay two nights. The Lady working there,possibly the owner,said there was only deluxe rooms for an extra 350 Baht. I declined and went to pack my belongings. The room cleaner knocked on my door and said reception wanted to see me. I went to the desk and suddenly there was a standard room available. I am too kind, and said ok and stayed another two nights. She was a bare faced liar. The rest of my stay she was desperately trying to get money off me any way she could,of course she didnt. She was quite pathetic really. Also to spite me they never cleaned my room. I should have told her to go jump when she first lied to me. When I checked out she shook her head at me. In her warped mind she must have convinced herself I was somehow at fault for her dishonesty??? Dont stay here at all,there are cheaper places in Chiang Mai,with much more honest people there. This lady was truly despicable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeSchweiz, Owner at Central Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello, thank you for you review, you actually helped us to find out more about this person that wasn't honest and wasn't the owner. She has been fired since July 2013. Sorry about the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Central Guesthouse for 4 nights during the Songkran Thai New Year festival. Everything about my experience was nearly perfect. The price was excellent, the hotel very nice, the staff helpful and welcoming, and the location beyond compare. It was at the epicenter of the festival, and within easy walking distance of all the restaurants, shops, bars, and noodle stands you could want. The room was clean and had air conditioning, and the bed was excellent. I particularly enjoyed my conversation with the owner, Hugo. He informed me that he had purchased the place four months prior, and was very interested in making improvements. He actively solicited my feedback and ideas. I couldn't think of anything to tell him because I was so pleased with my experience! I will be visiting Chiang Mai again, and when I do, I will definitely stay at Central Guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I must say that this experience in a guest house is my favorite so far. The staff is so great, polite and very helpful! They are so classic and all round happy! Hugo and Pin are such fabulous hosts and you definitely get the bang for your buck! You can trust to do our bookings through them because they are generally just there to help. They even have a great
Little restaurant to check out. I would recommend this place to any of my friends and would come back for sure! Five stars all the way!!! Thanks team!

Room Tip: The a/c actually works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grape V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for over a week, deciding to stay longer every few days. Hugo is constantly improving the place and its already changed a lot since we came. After the new year in April there will be even more upgrades. He was so helpful to us, saved the day multiple times when we were confused, out of ideas, or hungry in the middle of the night. The rooms are basic but worth the $ for sure. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Super central like the nme says! post office; bazaar and market, $ exchange, temples, you bame it. Check this place out!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojiberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
1.4 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#37 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Guesthouse

Property: Central Guesthouse
Address: 47 Moonmuang Road | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 787 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Central Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central guesthouse is a friendly place to stay with the best location you can find. Located an Thapae gate, from your room your are walking distance from most famous area. Sunday walking street, night bazar, old town, temples, massage, restaurants... We also have a nice terrace with a bamboo house and a tree house that are smoking and relaxing areas. It is great to exchange information and drinks with other travelers ;) Our restaurant, Ugo bar & restaurant is open from 7a.m to midnight and proposes breakfast with famous egg Benedict, traditional Thai and European food with the touch of our french Chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Central Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing