We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
174
49
19
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
174
49
19
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 248 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a very convenient stop in Chiang Mai for 2 nights located on the busy Moonmuang road, and minutes' walk from one of the main strips for nightlife (and seconds from the converted tuk tuk cocktail bar on the pavement outside).

The double room I was staying in was completely internal so had no windows but stayed wonderfully cool and very quiet also. As you would expect it was very simple in design but was of a decent size and had a good shower. As I booked for more than 1 night I received a nice discount to 450 Baht/night and the owner was helpful in providing advise and assistance around the city as well as use of the hotel safe for all belongings.

It felt secure with CCTV prevalent and staff on hand in the restaurant downstairs until they close up, and you then have to enter via the back door. Flakey WiFi and a recurring door knob detachment would be my only real issues, but other than that it provided a good roof for a good price.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeSchweiz, Owner at Central Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Hi, wi fi system has been change in january 2014. It's now working great in all rooms ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two nights. For what you pay it's excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff are really friendly and laid back, in a good way. The decor in the downstairs area is really homely. Defiantly recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kstaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Cheap guest house right in the heart of the Old City. This was one of the cheapest private rooms we could find online, and after seeing the condition of some of the cheaper rooms around Chiang Mai – this is a must for the Budget traveller. The hotel is clean and the staff were really helpful. We stayed in a fan room, but air-con is only 100 baht more per night if that is a must. We stayed 2 nights and then returned for another couple after visiting Pai. One thing I will say is that if you are staying there on a Sunday night you won’t get much sleep as the Sunday walking market is straight across the road! Our fan in our room kept making strange noises, but so did the ones downstairs so I assume this was normal. Had to ask for fresh towels, even though we put the ‘please make up my room’ sign on the door – it was just turned over and room wasn’t made up. But again, it’s cheap and close to everything so we would stay here again.

Just a tip regarding getting there, we arrived on the train from Bangkok, and NO tuk-tuk or taxi drivers knew where this place was as it is not on the free map handed out at the train station. We got a really good tuk-tuk driver who just took us to the vicinity of Moon Mueang Road, and we saw it straight away as it looks exactly like the photo’s online. The best thing to do is tell the driver that it is right before the Tha Pae Gate next door to the Thapae boxing stadium, and make sure you have a copy of the address at hand!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandManisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed in Central guesthouse for 4 days and we feel like home . Location and hospitaly great!

Also Mr. Haluk ( the owner of guesthouse) is so helpful about everything!

and ı loved great music and atmosphere !!!

Room tip: soon they will have dorms also.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melisozdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I booked this guesthouse originally for 2 nights and ended up staying 9nights. We got there at 7am(after the night bus) expecting just to drop our bags and wait till check in at 12 but the owner insisted we could go to our room and rest.He showed us our room but told us he would upgrade us for free to a suite as there was one empty at the time. The room was fantastic with plenty space .After the 1st night we decided to extend for another 3 because it was so central,very clean and Noi gave us great advice on places to go. They gave us bicycles free of charge to discover the city and surrounding area's. Noi also gave us a cooking lesson on one of the days which was fantastic and saved us buying dinner for a few days. For all these reasons and more we stayed 9nights and would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews