We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$103
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$105
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$136
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$176
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$558
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$376
$340
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
91
44
31
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
44
31
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubrooms are hugejacuzzi suitetuk tuknice jacuzzilots of tv channelsmassage servicefamily suitethe hotel staffbuffet breakfaststaying at this hotelgreat boutiquetown centreairport transferspent nightsbeautiful hotelthai food
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 195 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Singha Montra with our 3 boys, all under 10.

We arrived into Chang Mai early morning via the overnight coach from Bangkok, where we were met and taken back to the hotel via complementary shuttle. Most welcomed.

Even better, we checked in at 07:30 and fully expected to have to kill time until our booked family room could be made available early pm. However, the hotel took it upon themselves to find us a room to freshen up, relax and sleep in until our room was ready. A gesture that was really appreciated, especially by the sleep deprived parents!

The rooms here are fabulous.They offer a nice balance of luxury with authentic Thai opulence without ever being too much or chintzy. We had a family room, which was very spacious for the 5 of us and the kids loved the jacuzzi.

We spent a bit of time in the pool which was generous in size if you want to actually do some swimming. Didn't have any issues with pool cleanliness but had to watch out for the slippy tiles.

We only ever dined there for breakfast as we spent afternoons and evenings out and about. The breakfast is traditional Thai and offers limited familiar choices for Westerners. But, hey, you're in regional Thailand which we accepted as part of our hotel choice and the Chang Mai experience.

We would highlight that there is no aircon in the communal areas of the hotel (inc. restaurant) and this can be uncomfortable on hotter, more humid days. However, again, we took this as a small price to pay for a genuinely pleasant stay, with the staff being very helpful and eager to help.

We've seen other, less generous reviews on here that focus on the cleanliness standards and the poor location.

Personally, we never had any issues with the cleanliness standards in any way and to rate this hotel poorly based on its location would be to miss the point.

Whilst it isn't in the city itself, the location means you get a very high standard of room accommodation and service at very good value. Getting in and out of the city is 200 Baht a time in a tuk tuk, of which there are many. In fact, the tuk tuk 'commute' became a feature of our stay that our kids loved.

Overall, if you want to be in the thick of the action and within walking distance of temples and bars, then this isn't for you.

But if you want to experience a quiet stay in a real Chang Mai suburb with lovely traditional rooms and caring service at good value prices, then we would have no hesitation recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyrusj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Cyrus Johnston and Family
I can’t thank you enough on your kind words and great review. I and the team are thrilled to know that we created a memorable stay for you and your family. It would be a joy to welcome you and your family back to Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style Hotel, Chiang Mai.

Warm Regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We would like to say Thank you very much for our holiday , We are stay on period 13 - 15 August 2013 only 2 nights but very nice to stay there , The staff is so kindly and professional. Everything was perfect until the littlest detail , The choice of the decoration put the guest in one dream. We would like to say a special thank you to Mr Praphon (front office manager). Thank you for his smile, his disponibility and his happiness.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiripornandDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Miss Siriporn and Mr.Denis,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were overall enjoyed staying with us. We also do take note of your added feedback much appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sigha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai very soon.

Kind regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have been to Chiang Mai so many times, especially in the year of 2012-2013. Mostly I was there for business purposes, yet I searched for very nice and distinguish places to stay. Among those places, Singha Montra is right up there at the very high ranking. What I love about this hotel are the design, decoration, convenience and services. First look at the design, it looks like traditional northern design ( Lanna Style), but looking at it in deeper detail, I've seen the Myanmar's architecture hidden right behind that i.e. the Giant Twin Golden Lions at the front gate, the Decoration of the wall and ceiling. The Decoration of the room is not minimalist at all, it is really an oversize designed in everything to provide the best comfort. I stayed in the room 501, and I think it is one of the most comfortable rooms I've been staying. it is spacious and the room equipped with everything I would need. Its huge balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi and Separate Bathroom(the toilette is inside the living area of the room), it was very relaxing after my long day of meetings. Further, the services from the staff were friendly and helpful. Of course, the traditional northern style of services emphasize the tenderness and smooth. Overall, if I go to Chiang Mai again, this is the place I want to stay when I want to live in a cultural atmosphere with friendly services.

Room Tip: 501 is the best..
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were overall enjoyed staying with us. We also do take note of your added feedback much appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sigha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai very soon.

Kind regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My sister and I came to Chiangmai on holiday. We had a good time to stay in Singhamontra boutique hotel. We enjoyed staying in the hotel very much because of its lanna cultural
atmosphere. Our room is decorated with lanna architecture and real antigues. There is big Jacuzzi with many switches and buttons. We used them as we like . We are very happy with its bubble. We also see the beautiful scenery of Doi Suthep mountain and many golden pagodas in the temples around here from verandah.

Besides our room , there are many beautiful rooms such as the sky roof and Singha room which are very fantastic. I think, this hotel will be very nice place for a new married couple on honeymoon. We are also appreciated with the staffs’ services. I wish I were with my husband to day. I hope,I may come here again with him. My sister and I will never forget the day we were together here forever.

Room Tip: I recommend " Sky Roof or Singha Montra", nice view & high floor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thanya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were overall enjoyed staying with us. We also do take note of your added feedback much appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sigha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai very soon.

Kind regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

You can get the complete feel of Chiangmai by staying at this hotel as it is nicely decorated in luxurious Lanna style. Although the location isn't the best because it's hidden in the small streets off the highway, it's pretty close to the mall and the city if you have your own transportation. Otherwise, The hotel does provide shuttle service when requested.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Among other things, we love the romantic atmosphere, mountain views, and the private jacuzzi. The room service was really fast, too.

We would recommend this for a couple or a family who seeks for the true meaning of relaxing holiday or a romantic getaway. We were very happy and satisfied during our stay.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest rate room and it was amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KannikaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were overall enjoyed staying with us. We also do take note of your added feedback much appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sigha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai very soon.

Kind regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews