We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teething problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style
Ranked #169 of 822 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Teething problems”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Positives: Beautiful rooms, getting a similar room at thier promotional rates would be impossible.
Negatives: There was no master switch to turn off all the lights when you go to bed and there are very many lights, and switches. The jacuzzi is massive and takes forever to fill. This hotel is still a work in progress so there may be construction of various types going on.
We were supposed to be picked up at the airport but they were very late.
There seem to be a lack of protocols. When I noted there was no electric jug in my room, they searched around the room for it before getting another, there need to be a place for everything so it can be established if it is there or not. No one seemed to take responsibility for the area around the pool. There was the same ashtray with one cigarette but on a table for a few days beside the same small dirty glass. Used towels left on the loungers seen to stay there all day, even though it was clear that guess had left for a long time. They put out 3 clean towels at a time. When using the pool on an unusually busy time I called out to the front dest, only a few meter from the pool, we needed more towels. They asked how many when I said 3 they looked at me incredulously and asked "you need 3 towels" I needed 1 but there were other guests there too! At breakfast, the severing containers are too small. There are serving of breakfast cereal but enough for one so if two people want the same type its bad luck, It takes an age to get coffee and you are not going to get a second cup. The guy in-charge of breakfast doesn't refill anything until its empty (no anticipation here)
Over all despite the very comfortable rooms, mostly friendly staff, and excellent value, I was often frustrated and didn't fell relaxed or cared for here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBflysagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
41
88
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

For 2000+THB a night for the Lanna Suite, we thought this was a steal in Chiang Mai since it was a relatively new boutique hotel. We really liked the 'Lanna' style of the bedroom, it was clean, very spacious and luxuriously designed. The jacuzzi of that luxurious level was definitely a first for us too. It had touch screen controls where you can control the temperature, the strength and types of jet as well as the lighting in the tub. There was even fm music too! We used the hotel's laundry service which ranged from 25-50baht per piece, it was a reasonable price and we were very happy with the cleaned clothes. Staffs were amiable and helpful.

The bathroom, perhaps because of this style, is poorly designed for use. The sink especially, was a pretty sight but rather disgusting because the draining was in the middle where it was elevated from the bowl. Hence, you will always find a pool of water sitting there and any solids have problems getting drained out. The tap was at the side so water kept splashing out too. In the shower, they placed the shampoo, bath gel and conditioner in little ceramic open-topped jars which were hanging on the wall without any barrier. The shower hose accidentally swiped past and toppled two of the jars onto the shower floor which broke into a dangerous mess. My fault of course, but it was a potential hazard waiting to turn into tragedy. I had problems finding a place to put the towels so I left them on top of the jaccuzi. The huge wardrobe did not have a single available hanger too.

Breakfast was okay considering the size of the hotel and it was a low peak season. The F&B staff MIA-ed and front desk stepped up to get us a cup of tea. Altogether, the price is good but the positives only outweigh the negative by a little in my case.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatwelltravelwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka, null, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

the look of the hotel is very nice, huge room with balcony. Room decoration is beautiful with the jacuzzi. But there are some functional problem in the room that can be easily avoided. For example the room we stayed in, shower is separate from the bathroom and is in the balcony. Easily there could be a door from the bathroom to the shower room for convenience. Also in the shower room there was no place to keep towel or clothes. The jacuzzi is wonderful but maybe a more easily functional and two person jacuzzi can be environment friendly. The staffs were very helpful. The free transport service to the city made up for the hotel's distance from the center. breakfast can be improved. But for the price we paid as a promotion and off season it was well worth it. Also they gave us a upgrade as well from lana jacuzzi to the singha montra jacuzzi. Then again if someone pay the original quoted price then some more changes would be needed. overall we had a fantastic time there....:)

Room Tip: Higher floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeehan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the town center but well worth it. It is a new boutique style hotel and they didn't hold anything back when designing it. The rooms are huge and has an outdoor jacuzzi tub. The bed was comfortable which is basically the only one we found in Thailand. Staff go out of their way to help you but you can tell they aren't experienced and communicating was a bit difficult. They always came through though and even drove us to the airport at 5:30am. They will drive you in to town but you haven to take a tuk tuk back which was super cheap. Just make sure to bring a map and telephone number because many drivers aren't familiar with the hotel since its so new. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Dreamy !!! Amazing hotel and room. Nothing bad to say at all. Price was spot on and staff where so so nice and helpful with arranging anything we needed like trips. Chiang Mai is amazing place and real slice of thialand. 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lhardy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Jitti, 29 juli 2012

Brand new hotel with Lanna decoration (Northern style) in a quiet location not far from the airport and Chiang Mai town centre. We had booked the Lanna Suite room with jacuzzi but were upgraded to the Singha Montra Suite. This is a very spacious room with jacuzzi & separate rain shower. Bathroom offers all amenities. Free shuttle service between hotel and airport and the town centre. Very good guest relations management. We can therefore recommend this hotel.
If the hotel wants to be upstandard and attract more tourists the following items should be improved: Breakfast should be improved by offering more warm and cold food at all times during breakfast hours. Cocktail ingredients to be improved to the standard of a luxurious hotel. Would be nice to have a coffee bar and small restaurant where you can profit from the fine decoration the hotel has. A nice green area would also add extra charm to this hotel. More light and air in the hall and the room would be appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Genuinely one of the nicest hotels I have every stayed at.
From the minute you arrive, to the moment you leave, the friendly staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble.

The property is stunning, and stands out from the neighbourhood in which it can be found.
The rooms are exceptional, and with the offer we managed to find, I almost felt like I was cheating them out of money.

Our Lanna suite was complete with a good sized Jacuzzi, which was an absolute treat at the end of each day.

The pool outside was a modest size, and quite boxed in, but it was clean and well looked after.

Breakfast was basic, but nice.

The hotel provided complimentary transport to the centre of Chiang Mai, the airport Shopping Centre or to Airport itself.

I really cannot praise this hotel enough!


Footnote:
Taxi/Tuk Tuk drivers sometimes have difficulty in finding this hotel as it's still relatively new.

Room Tip: I imagine that all the rooms are as amazing as each other. It's worth paying extra for a Jacuzzi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gduff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
1.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#43 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pingviman Hotel
Pingviman Hotel
#7 of 822 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Is Am O Chiang Mai Resort
Is Am O Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 14 in Doi Saket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style

Property: Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style
Address: 9/1-2 Sriping Mueang Rd. soi 3 | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 822 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a boutique style, designed and built by applying from Northern Royal Palace and the classical Lanna cultural arts with Laxury Jacuzzi Outdoor in every Guest Room.Impressive view of Suthep Moutain and Gold Pagodas.The Hotel is beautifully surrounded by the old Lanna cultural Arts in the Waulai community such as the old beautiful Temples, silver wares, wood curving shops. Near Chiang Mai International Airport.Half Day : Program : Singha – 01Doi Suthep Temple & Hmong Hill Tribe Village Visit the most beautiful and the sacred temple situated on Suthep Mountain.The contains the holy relic of the Lord Buddha. Until became Chiang Mai’s famous tourist attraction since it is a must go place tourists both Thais and foreigners who visit Chiang Mai. At the temple, you can see a panoramic view of Chiang Mai city at 3,500 feet above the sea level. You can also find a 306- stair case which you can walk up the temple or you can go up the temple by an elevator. After that visit Meo Hilltribe village at Doi Pui. Visit the museum and learn their history and lifestyles. And also we provide A supreme Private Tour included: English speaking Guide, VIP Van 9 seat with leather cover / 3 point safety belt/ Drinking water/Cold towel for refreshment/First aid kit box , Transportation Fee , insurance 1,000,000 THB for each person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing