We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Coffee”
Review of Ponganes Espresso

Ponganes Espresso
Ranked #27 of 141 Coffee & Tea in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Ponganes Espresso began in a tiny shop on Moon muang soi 5 in Chiang Mai's old city, Thailand and one common goal :to develop a place where customers would be guaranteed an excellent coffee experience every time they visited the store.
LED
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Coffee”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I lived next door to Ponganes, and would stop for a coffee there at least once a day. I enjoyed every cup, and found no better coffee place in Chiang Mai, although I tried several.
Central, small, peaceful cafe with rich, beautiful coffee drinks and nice service. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    29
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“top notch”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice little area to enjoy to truly first class drinks. It has been a long while since I had a latte that good and it brought me home to Melbourne. Get your fix at Ponganes.

Helpful?
1 Thank Porksalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Okay Coffee in a Good Location”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The coffee here is good, and the garden is a nice spot to sit and relax. I can't honestly say that it's the best coffee in Chiang Mai. However, if I was in the area and wanted a coffee, I would stop in again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice coffee and location.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice small cafe with cery good coffee by Chiang mai standards. Both espresso and cappuchino were 4+ but red velvet cake was underdone with icing not mixed properly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and a creamy coffee done right”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Were here just after January 6th, had a cortado and a cappaccino, both excellent and we also bought coffee beens which we brought home. Friendly service and you can see they are serious about coffee when you go in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Canadians_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponganes Espresso also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Ponganes Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing