We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality addiction...”
Review of Ponganes Espresso

Ponganes Espresso
Ranked #28 of 141 Coffee & Tea in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Ponganes Espresso began in a tiny shop on Moon muang soi 5 in Chiang Mai's old city, Thailand and one common goal :to develop a place where customers would be guaranteed an excellent coffee experience every time they visited the store.
Taichung, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality addiction...”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Found this little place when I was staying in the hotel next door and quickly realised how lucky I was. While the Nimmanhemin area of Chiang Mai has more coffee shops than you can shake a stick at, the old town is more hit and miss. Not any more... Ponga and Nes - a friendly couple who got their inspiration from Australia - have set up a tiny, stylish little caffeine den full of character and the smell of freshly ground beans. Pricey? maybe a little, but worth every Baht because the coffee is perfection. Probably the best way to start your day in Chiang Mai.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank theChaiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    29
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hands down ...the best!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a great find!
My friends and I are all coffee junkies! Gotta have it!
We tried a lot of coffee shops in Chiang Mai based on tripadvisor reviews and in person recomendations. All of my friends and I agreed that this was by far the best coffee we've had on our trip!
One of the reviewers here said that Ponganess was not as good as Akha Ama so of course we HAD to try Akha Ama.
Not one of us thought that it was better than Ponganess!
The owners, Pong and Ness, are really nice people. They worked in Australia for years so they speak good English and were very interesting to talk to.
Pong is a serious Barista! This guy knows his stuff! Coffee is his life.
They have an incredible esspresso machine that looks like a work of art! The brand is Mirage. It's from the Netherlands.
Out of couriosity I pulled up the manufacturer website. Crazy expensive machines! I would be surprised if there was another one in Thailand. In their gallery they even have a picture of Pong with his Mirage!
On our 2nd visit Ness was sorting coffee beans when we walked in. She was rejecting individual beans for their defects before the roasting process. Unbelievable attention to detail!
This great little shop is ran by a great couple with really big hearts and a serious passion for coffee. It's no wonder that their cappuccino is soooo good!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUSfoodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice little coffee cafe”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Sweet little cafe down a littly soi selling good coffee and bites to eat.me and my partner both had a mocha here...very nice indeed.The staff were very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in what they were selling too. Good find... If you can find it :)

Helpful?
2 Thank IndsJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“NOT a restaurant, but nice coffee”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is listed as the best restaurant in Chiang Mai. However it is only a coffee shop. They have very limited food: croisants. Coffee quality is above average, but not as good as the coffee at Akha Ama. The location is very conveniant for tourists, close to Tha Phae Gate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredTC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herk-de-Stad, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The best coffee we had in Thailand”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was by far the best coffe we had in Thailand. Ponganes is located in a small alley (soi) It was very relaxing to sit there and have this wonderful cup of coffee. We also ate a sandwich which was also very good. Our son played with they owners son and that together with this great coffe made it a wonderful experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Werner1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponganes Espresso also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Ponganes Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing