We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect River Prawn in a nice surrounding”

Paak Dang Riverside Dining
Ranked #54 of 2,786 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Deli, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set on the Ping River, Paak Dang offers a beautiful dining experience in a 2 story Lanna Style Teak Wood house. We serve authentic Thai food that will tickle and tantalise the tastebuds of both the Thai local palate and our friends from all over the world. The open concept kitchen run by led by Chef K-Jin offers a full Thai menu with something to suit each and every single person. Paak Dang has also been set up with a mission and vision - to provide employment to the less privileged from the neighbouring villages and hilltribes and currently has a team of more then 20 staff catering to a 60 seat restaurant. With a wealth of experience between them, the owners of Paak Dang, K-Jin & K-Lin both work hand in hand to equip their staff with many important life skills. Open for dinner daily with a serene and beautiful setting on the Ping River. Reservations highly recommended for the best tables by the river. Come and have an unforgettable dining experience at Paak Dang!
Reviewed March 5, 2019

I like restaurants or places who have a good concept. Paak Dang supports and employes young people and give them a chance to work and get an education.
We wanted to support that concept and booked a table.
We were surprised how good everything worked. The staff is highly motivated and does a very good job with minimal lacks. But that was much more than we expected.
The food was absolutely excellent and they offer a nice choice of wine too.
I spend a lovely birthday evening there and we had a good time.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BadHomburgTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2019

Local restaurant by the river side, famous for seafood but price of seafood is pretty high, need to pay US 100 for a crab. However, local thai dishes taste really good at reasonable price. The river view is fine but the place is not elegant, but very local. Ambience is very casual, with use of disposable chopstick and tissue box on the table. Servers are local thai kids which are not so trained.

Suggest to avoid pricy seafood, go for local thai dishes with beer is probably the best way to enjoy here.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex_AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klinl, Owner at Paak Dang Riverside Dining, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Dear Alex, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and I am glad you at least enjoyed our authentic Thai food.

However, for the sake of our future guests, I would like to take this opportunity to clarify that the price of 1 crab IS NOT US$100! The average weight of 1 crab is about 700 grams and at 2000B per kilo this works out to approximately US$40. If you had paid US$100 then you would have eaten a giant crab weighing in at 1.6 kilograms!!! The biggest we have seen and few and far between is around 1 kilogram at most.

Also, as Chiang Mai has no access to the sea, all our seafood is imported from neighboring countries like Vietnam, Sri Lanka and even India - therefore the reason why it is on the pricier side. We could have shipped our seafood in from the South of Thailand but that will not give us the size or quality of what we would like to offer at Paak Dang.

If you read the 1st page of our menu, you will realize that Paak Dang hires the underprivileged and at-risk youths in line with our mission of “changing lives”; so all our staff come to us with zero experience. Our mission is to teach them the technical and life skills necessary in order for them to eventually break out of the poverty trap.

Finally, we have never positioned ourselves as a fine dining, white linen establishment, so tissue boxes, a rustic setting and even a couple of mosquitoes sitting by the riverside is what we are about. We would therefore definitely not recommend those expecting service staff who speak perfect English and butler service to dine with us.

Yours sincerely,
K-Lin Lim
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

This restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The setting, service and food were top notch. The outdoor dining on the Ping river was beautiful and the live music was an unexpected delight. The river prawns were the size of small lobster and just as delicious. The sampler platter was a perfect appetizer as it let us try all the specialties. The ribeye was tender and delicious and perfectly cooked. Overall a great experience.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank buzz33beth54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Paak Dang Restaurant, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Paak Dang is a traditional Seafood restaurant serving its signature dishes of Seafood with fresh offerings available too. Situated just off to the east side of the square with a secluded and private Riverside setting.

Outside view - from the roadside, you enter into a large entrance with a lots of greenery and an open reception. The open air kitchen is on the left side with lots of people preparing the food.

Inside view - Very open and spacious from the roadside as you enter, walking through the main inside restaurant to the rear which opens up into a variety of outside eating areas. The whole area represents a garden with water features including views of the river.

There are seating options to suit couples to large groups on different platforms next to the river.

Menu - Is quite ample, with a theme of seafood and typical thai dishes, from rice to noodles including full seafood buffet options. Prices are pretty good and average for the area. Menu is available in English and Thai but they also have chinese speaking and probably other languages too.

Drinks - They also have a variety of soft drinks, juices and alcoholic drinks.

Food - We ordered a whole steamed fish and a pineapple rice dish with some appetisers which were also recommended by the owner who was absolutely amazing. The fish took about 15 minutes to prepare and came out looking great, presentation was 10/10. Taste was fresh and full of flavour leaving us wanting more.

Prices - Competitive for the area.

Suitable for - Anyone, locals, tourists, travellers, anyone who loves good local home made food.

Staff - Are wonderful with the owners presenting their community driven project with great customer service and giving customers plenty of advice to choose the right meal for them. From the moment you enter until the moment you leave you will have a memorable and relaxing experience.

Additional information - Free WiFi available, everywhere within the restaurant with a strong connection. See before you dine option as the staff will show you the seafood before they prepare it for your approval.

Parking - motos/bikes at the front. Cars, minibuses across the street.

Top Tip - Book your table before you go, they are very responsive and you will have peace of mind with a reserved table by the Riverside.

Recommendation
A must if your in Chiang Mai and especially this place as they are community driven, training locals in all aspects of administering and managing a restaurant.

So you will see plenty of people in the kitchen learning from the chefs and preparing your food from the heart.

#LetsGuide #fsya #localguides #travelblogger #garystribe

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GarysTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2019 via mobile

This time around I brought my Fiancee to Paak Dang for dinner... for the first time and she love it! And did I say she's Thai?? She simply love the authenticity amd amazing food of this restaurant that is not own by local Thais. Paak Dang never fail me at all... every time I brought guest there! Thank You once again!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jason2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paak Dang Riverside Dining also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Paak Dang Riverside Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing