We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rooms and property but...”
Review of Qi 68

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Qi 68
Ranked #205 of 734 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms and property but...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Qi for five days while in Chiang Mai and while the rooms and the hotel property were very stylish and clean, the service was lacking a great deal. I'm not sure if it is because we arrived at 10pm the first night we got there and they assumed 'someone' had given us some information on the guesthouse and services or if it was because they had a group of friends staying there at the same time but we felt pretty ignored during our stay. Noone gave us any introduction to the guesthouse's services, the neighborhood, or anything. We weren't even sure what the cleaning situation was or whether or not breakfast was offered. Granted the couple of times we had a question and my boyfriend asked, one of the guys there helped and they also helped us switch our room after the first night because of a noise issue but other than that we were pretty much on our own.

The neighborhood is a little far from the trendy area but you can easily walk there in about 15 minutes. The old town is also about 5 or 10 minutes away by foot. It's really not a bad location.

I think if we had to do it again we would probably have stayed somewhere else just because of the service issue and because the guesthouse was quite loud most nights and got pretty annoying. It's a shame though because like I said, the guesthouse is really quite lovely and very clean. I just wish we were made to feel more welcome and that guests weren't always so loud at night in the common area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the two front rooms that have one full bed and a twin bed. They are right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rasmitaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful 5 day stay at Qi 68 - a guest house like none other. The rooms are very well conceived - contemporary, stark and yet warm and inviting. The bathroom floors were covered with river stones that made every shower feel like a foot massage. The bathroom and main bedroom area are separated off by a cool, steel framed dividing wall filled with wood blocks. The terrace off our room was the perfect spot for a coffee in the morning sunlight. But what makes Qi 68 special is the blend of professional hotel/guest house with B&B home stay. The owner and staff got it right - they treat guests as if they are staying in their own home - as family friends, yet the property is fully equipped to function as a professionally-managed guest house. The open kitchen is available day and night if you'd like to make your own food. The common fridge holds what you bring back from your day in the city. We travel to Chiang Mai often and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The larger rooms (good for small families) have a nice terrace overlooking the front of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jon_kapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Absolutely loved my stay here at Qi 68! Place is gorgeous and located 5 min away from Old City, 15min away from the airport, and walking distance to the neighborhood eateries, bars, and laundry which are aplenty in this area.

Highlight of this place I would say is the moped/bike rental they got right downstairs that they offer for 250baht a day. Not too bad considering that its right downstairs from you and a little more trustworthy than renting from somewhere else.

Some things I think would help though is having some English channels in the room. Everything was in thai which was a bummer one night. They do have internet though so that was a plus. Also would be nice to have the sink with designated hot water switch handle instead of the one handle on system. Sucks to shave when the water doesn't get hot enough!

Also keep in mind that its a shared fridge/kitchen area. No fridge in room. So label your stuff so you remember which is your's!

Aside from these little quibbles..would definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: You have to explore Chiang Mai on a Moped!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barack-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trang Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Uniquely contemporary with great energy and excellent service

Just off the beaten path yet not far from all Chang Mai has to offer, Q I 68 is an amazing find! Kee, Gan and their amazing staff took excellent care of me and I felt immediately at home. This is one of those places that the actual room looks even better than the photo. In the photos look great!

They've really done a nice job of blending the "B&B style" and " boutique style hotel concepts together. For example: my room was very open with high ceilings and all the modern conveniences I wanted, without feeling like I was in a "Western style" hotel.

The French style doors next to the sleeping area opened up to a beautiful Koi pond. The bathroom was awesome! Unlike many Thai guest homes/hotels that have the tiny individual hot water heater for the shower (any weak water pressuree), Qi 68 has a full on, modern shower that had the "rain" style showerhead that never ran out of as much hot water as I wanted.

Although they will have your breakfast ready for you in the morning, there is a full kitchen available to all the guest who want to use it. And… They have real coffee rather than the little satchels of instant coffee.

Do yourself a favor and check this place out. Don't be afraid to not stay in the old city or in the heavily populated tourist areas. This place is close enough to everything yet far enough removed from all the craziness.

I know what it's like to book a room coming from another country and arriving to be completely disappointed. This will not happen here. You can definitely book with confidence. Enjoy Chang Mai!

Room Tip: I've taken a peak at all rooms, not a bad one in the bunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akastavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

QI 68 is a guest House indeed.

Quite hard to find but what a surprise once you there.

Excellent & smart archetecture....we loved it indeed.

the owner being sick. It was a young man which we do not even know his name who took care of Check us in - Housekeeping - breakfast - bell boy!!!! everything and I have to say that he was just great!!!! we loved him.

We asked for a few addresses in town and within a minute it was printed out for us.

Yes it is out of the usual center - but located in a very charming environment.

Great found!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soapopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very well designed guesthouse but still cozy with a lot of nice plants.
Ambitious breakfast but unfortunately without service- dissapointing in this pricerange.
Less touristic neighbourhood means you have to travel quite a long way reaching everything else. I would recommend staying somewhere else for a better price and better service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rheinschiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great funky new hotel run by its owner. You feel like you at home when you get there but with the privacy of a hotel. Its 2 min into the old town so lovely if you want something quieter and you can rent a scooter from the owner for 200 BHT a day so its worth renting one and staying there and you can drive around and see the whole city. Rooms are very spacious, modern, free wifi etc etc but great modern thai zen feeling to it :) would highly recommend to thoose who like boutique small places snd slightly more superior things in life ;)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Private28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.9 mi away
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
#118 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
B2 Green
B2 Green
#93 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Korbhun Khinbua
Villa Korbhun Khinbua
#118 of 734 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santitham Guest House
Santitham Guest House
#57 of 734 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plern Plern Bed and Bike
Plern Plern Bed and Bike
#47 of 734 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qi 68? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qi 68

Property: Qi 68
Address: 68 Santiruk | Chang Pueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 734 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Qi 68 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Boutique Guesthouse located on Chiang Mai Santitham area, close to Nimmanhaemin which is the funky area with great restaurants. We are also close to great eateries and the main Kad Suan Kaew - Central Shopping Plaza on Huay Kaew Road. We are the perfect accommodation option for those looking for a budget friendly option with class & style. Our guesthouse can be reached from the airport in 15 mins and we recommend the airport taxi service at just 120 baht or $4USD. If you would like to cook yourself at Qi68 we have a kitchen at the loft space lobby available for you 24 hrs per day and don't forget our complimentary, panoramic Bar-B-Que area available for all our guests.Nothing is too much for us to do for you so just ask Me, Kee or Garn my Manager who is at your service.Don't forget we also have free pushbikes (bicycles) for all guests and motorbike rental on site at competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qi 68 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing