We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUYER BEWARE! Do NOT pay in advance”

Gems Excursion Advisor - Day Tours
Ranked #89 of 272 Tours in Chiang Mai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Gems Excursion Advisor" has always specialized in small custom private tours of Chiang Mai and the North Country especially for those travelers who are looking to explore authentic Thai history and culture on a personal and intimate level. "Your enjoyment is our GOAL"
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“BUYER BEWARE! Do NOT pay in advance”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I booked a private full day tour with Gems several months in advance in order to secure the date that we wanted. They required a deposit on the tour, which we paid through paypal. Two weeks before our departure I emailed the company (by responding to the email which was used to make the reservation) to confirm our tour. No one ever responded, so I sent 3 more emails, "Hey, I'm just trying to confirm our tour for this date and time..." I never received any response. And unfortunately I found that you can't get a refund through paypal after 30 days. In the end we found a higher rated tour company on TA a few days before we arrived and they didn't require any advance payment. Stay away from anyone like this who requires you to pay in advance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank soonergirl1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiangmaiOnStyle, Manager at Gems Excursion Advisor - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

We value all opinions both positive and negative. Your email was our first bad review and we are very sorry for this.

1) Event if a customer pays by PayPal we will happily refund the money back to you if there is any problem. If you contact our office we will check our records and will refund your deposit.
2) If you would kindly send us your email address that you used to make your reservation we can check our records and will see where the problem occurred.
3) Thank you for leaving an honest review with Tripadvisor. Please let us try to resolve your problem and if there is a refund due to you we can check with PayPal and we will personally return your deposit. We read your other reviews and it seems that your stay in Chiangmai was not as good as you would have liked. Please remember that you are our business! Write us soon so we can resolve your problem and we hope your next visit to Thailand will be a better experience.

Best Regards,

Gems Excursion Advisor Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“A fun 2 days with Jimmy”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have booked a 2 days private tour with Gems and our tour guide is Jimmy. Jimmy is not only a tour guide but a good friend and my two kids love him. He is professional, knowledgeable and provided us a lot of information about the culture and the places we visited. He even spent his own money buying small toys for my kids from the hill tribes as well as pineapples for my wife. When I was trying to stop him, he just told me that he just want to help the tribes people a little bit... this shows that he is a caring person. Overall, we have a great time with him and if we go back again, we will definitely engage him again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Tour”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

my husband and i went on a tour with gems excursion advisor.
jimmy our tour guide was very knowledgable about thai culture
and provided a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Tour and Professional Guide”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We used their van service and guide for 4 days during the Loy Kratong festival. Their services were reliable and the vehicle we used was well maintained. Our guide, Jimmy is a very friendly and knowledgeable person. He provided us with lots of information about the places we visited. Though some of the places that we visited were overcrowded with tourists especially in Tiger Kingdom and Doi Suthep, Jimmy was very accommodating and did not rush us throughout the tour. Our tour to Chiangrai was a long and tiring one plus on a rainy day, nevertheless both Jimmy and our driver did a great job in getting us back our hotel safely. We felt so thankful to Jimmy & Mr. A for the wonderful experience in Chiang Mai and of course, we will definitely use them again for our next visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MindyFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great 2 days!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Jimmy was our guide for 2 days. Our first day was a half day tour to the Doi Suthep temple and Jimmy was full of information and very few tourists were there. Our second day was to the golden triangle and hill tribes and so memorable. Jimmy is very professional, funny and a joy to spend the day with. Thanks again Jimmy will be back next year!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank raebray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gems Excursion Advisor - Day Tours also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Gems Excursion Advisor - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing