We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay!”
Review of 60 Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60 Blue House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing place to stay!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This place was soo sweet. I stumbled upon it walking around looking for something cozy and boy did I find it! The owner Tao is soo kind and helpful, she even left me a small gift on my last day! Rooms and dorms are clean and painted nice, great shower, clean toilet, free bananas and tea, free wifi, super close to Chiang Mai gate and food stands and just overall really wonderful! Made a lot of nice friends here... Very easy ;)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerenaDoodlbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    24
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
110
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chofu, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

First of all, Dorm room is for only 200B which is very cheap.

The room is huge enough and each beds are separeted (not bunk beds). Desk and chair (or shelf), small bedside basket, cup, outlet and light, large security locker with padlock for each. Towel hangers and toiletries shelf are severalty prepared besides bathroom. Beds are made up once in 3 days. Everything is super clean.
Tables with sofa and chairs in pretty Garden (outlet built in!) Free bananas, oranges, cofee and tea.

I've been luckily meet Tao when I checked in. She warmheartedly welcomed me with homemade sweets. She gave me tons of information about Chiang Mai (Good restaurant, Massage, Temples, Shops etc...). She had been traveling a lot (She even had been my small hometown in Japan. Which makes me so happy. :D). She loves talking to people. She speaks very good English.

You would get much much more than you pay. This is one of the best guest house ever!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzusaSakaguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent 5 nights here and felt safe and comfortable as a single woman traveling alone. Tao is a bright, cheerful, happy, kind and accommodating owner. Jae, her helper, does a great job keeping things spotlessly clean and makes a great soy latte too. Will absolutely return if ever I return to Chiang Mail again. What a great place!

Room Tip: I was in room 2 which can get some noise from the street, but as long as you bring ear plugs you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylGuerriero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was looking for a single room when I found the blue house and meet Tao, the owner. She showed me the dorms and I liked it so much that I decided to go for it instead. It felt more like sleeping over at friends house than a dorm, which is a great achievement. The place really felt like a home and Tao was incredible sweet and caring. When I came back to Chiang Mai I stayed there again and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

60 Bluehouse is very clean, very safe and in a great location in the Old City. The owner, Tao, is generous with her time, her energy and treats (loves to bake)! She is warm and always available to help you sort yourself out; where to go, how to get there etc. Filtered drinking water, tea and fruit are included in price and make you feel at home. There is also a refrigerator to keep some food and bikes for rent. Wonderful for long or short stays. There is also a coffee shop on the premises and Jay makes the best Cappuccino in Chiang Mai! Male friends are welcome in the coffee shop and there is is a lovely outdoor space to sit and enjoy your coffee/tea as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskiaAsFlora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This woman only hostel is a great value in Chang Mai. We had the double room, it is perfect. Spacious and very clean. Free coffee, water and fruit available. Very helpful and friendly owner. Very good location. The colors are bright and it puts you In a great mood to walk of to the city. Great great place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I should start by saying that I travel often and widely and never leave reviews (there just sin't enough time in the day!). But the Blue House is so special I've made an exception because everyone should know this little gem exists and get to enjoy it.

The house itself is attached to a little coffeeshop on the great road and easily walkable to all the sights. There's also an amazing fruit shake shack opposite. The decor is simply beautiful: dark wooden floors, calming colours, wooden desks by the windows, a really nice bathroom and lots of little touches like a place to hang your laundry and a little 'nook' for your toiletries. You also get free herbal teas, coffee, bananas and there's a fridge which is nice if you like to have a late night ice-cream like me!

I stayed in a dorm with a comfy single bed, the linen is soft and impeccably clean (as is the rest of the guesthouse) and the towels provided are big and fluffy. There are only four beds in each room (not bunks) and each has a little desk with it.

I was here finishing up some writing work and so spent a lot of time at the little desks, writing, drinking tea, chatting to the other guests. There was a really homely feeling and Tao the owner is incredibly kind and gracious while letting the guests be independent. She also kindly let me check out in the afternoon when I was catching a night train at no extra cost (frequent travellers will know how rare this is!).

Basically, if you are in Chiang Mai STAY HERE! Chiang Mai is a great town but staying at the Blue House enhanced my visit hugely. I've stayed in everything from boats to bamboo huts to Hiltons and this is by far one of my favourites ever!

Room Tip: Though I usually prefer a private rooms the beds are so far apart, and the rooms all nicely curtaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#33 of 822 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#24 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 822 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 60 Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 60 Blue House

Property: 60 Blue House
Address: 32-34 Ratchaphakinai Rd. | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 822 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 BLUE HOUSE is a ladies only guesthouse located in the heart of the old town in Chiang Mai. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing