We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of 60 Blue House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60 Blue House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“lovely”
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

i stayed here for a few days and had a lovely time. i met some really nice people and Tao was super smiley and nice. very clean and quiet with a homely feel and free fruit and coffee :) Tao also made us all a little snack in a pot with our names on which i thought was a sweet touch. definately stay here if you would like to be central and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieMentall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
111
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

One girl i met in KohChang recommended me Blue House if I would be in Chiangmai. And in the minute I walked in Blue House I felt like back home. Owner Tao was so friendly in 3 weeks I stayed here. Always helping with advices. And she bakes so yummy cakes and gives them to try. So spoiled I felt here. ;)
Place is very quiet, only ladies allowed, no drinking or parties. Very relaxing. And every morning u do get fresh fruit and coffee or tea. Loved cause its clean too.
Would definitely come back here if I'm back in Chiangmai.
Also the location is great. Close to Chiangmai gate evening market with great food.
P.s. Tao makes the best chocolate brownies. ;)

Room Tip: Got first the double room but after moved to dorms downstairs. Both are good. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maija A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend and I are Americans working in Thailand, and we recently stayed at the super clean and cute 60 Blue House. Situated in the easily walkable and lovely Old City, it was within walking distance of many hip, charming restaurants, cafes and boutiques, and close to sights both inside and outside the Old City. The big weekend market takes place just down the street, and even though it can get crowded and overwhelming, the guesthouse's street remained a quiet oasis after a night of shopping for exotic items at that nearby night market.

It was refreshing to stay in a ladies-only guesthouse. It felt very safe and cozy, and staying in the dorms got us interacting with girls from around the world. Perhaps the ladies-only rule attracts a calmer and more thoughtful clientele, which is great. Having a latte in the guesthouse's hip little cafe was also a nice way to start the day.

On our first night, the train got in late, but it was no problem. Tao, the owner, had everything arranged for a late check-in and let us pay the next morning. So the next morning, we slept in late, but Tao was available and welcomed us with little gourmet, homemade cappuccino-flavored jellies, and was very happy to give us advice on the best temples and sites to visit in the city, as well as the best ways to get there. It is clear that she was born to be a hostess--she was cheerful, eager to help, and like a second mother! She had little sweet treats for us every day that we stayed in the guesthouse -- a nice touch!

The dorm was very comfy, modern and beautifully decorated in a blue/green theme, and it was cool in the room, so we didn't feel overheated. The bathroom was very clean, and near the very generously sized lockers and refrigerator, we found an automatic teapot with a nice selection of instant coffees, teas and other drinks waiting for us.

Tao also helped my friend and I when we thought our song-taew driver had left us behind when we were out at an elephant camp. We gave her a call, then she got in contact with the driver and told him we were ready to depart. Again, always willing to help!

On our last day, after check-out, we were scheduled to take the late overnight train to Bangkok, but we wanted to take advantage of the daylight hours and see more sites. Tao let us leave our bags in our lockers all evening and even said we could take showers before we left. I thought that was very generous.

In Thailand, I've stayed in everything from 5-star world-class luxury Bangkok hotels to dorms in Pattaya. 60 Blue House offers better service than even luxury big-city spots with its warmer, homier atmosphere! Above and beyond all guesthouses!

Room Tip: The dorms are a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiachicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Having stayed many times in Chiang Mai, I finally found a wonderful place to head back to for future visits. The staff and owner are not only amazing, they are on hand to help with anything you may need to organise during your stay, whilst simultaneously respecting your privacy to enjoy an incredibly comfortable stay... The decor and attention to detail makes you feel like you're right at home with indoor and outdoor spaces to sit and relax...
The added bonus of home-made ice cream makes it a treasure!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananaskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasbourg
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you Tao for making such a homy athmosphere and beeing so helpfull.
Best rate and quality i have found in Chiang Mai old center in one month.
The guest house is nice and clean and has got a beautiful garden.
The guest house has also a good coffee place and Tao used to cook delicious bakery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisetatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This guest house is a wee treasure exclusive for Ladies. Ticks all the right boxes. Charming Hostess, and an adjoining Coffee Shop with delights including Ice Cream. "There's no place like HOME in Chaing Mai like 60 Blue House!!"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born2dream40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, calm and very friendly guest house, this is your place. All details are taken care of. U feel like at home

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itzipitzi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 842 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#27 of 842 in Chiang Mai
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 842 in Chiang Mai
88 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arch39 Art & Craft Hotel
Arch39 Art & Craft Hotel
#15 of 842 in Chiang Mai
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 60 Blue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 60 Blue House

Property: 60 Blue House
Address: 32-34 Ratchaphakinai Rd. | Phra Singh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 842 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 BLUE HOUSE is a ladies only guesthouse located in the heart of the old town in Chiang Mai. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing