We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chiang Mai Summer Resort
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Chiang Mai Summer Resort for 2 nights, a lovely small place with only 4 authentic refurbished Thai wooden houses with all modern amenities, tastefully decorated and perfectly maintained by the owner, a beautiful and warm Chinese couple. If you are interested, they may have a long story to tell regarding how and why they chose to settle down in CM and run this small business.
The hotel is very well located with only a few minutes of walk to Sunday market as well as to the south gate of CM, you can get all the travel tips from the owner (resto, attractions, shops, etc.), they even provide tour package booking services to the guests of the hotel. The elephant package is highly recommended despite its higher price compared to those can be found in other agencies, but trust me, there is a good reason to be and your money will have its right value there.
Breakfast is not provided, ask the owner for places to eat, we loved the small eating house they pointed out for us.
There are 2 cats and 1 turtle living in the hotel with some more cats visitors coming from the neighborhood. If you don't like those animals, better go elsewhere as you will find them right in your living room from time to time.
We loved the feeling of being home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Chiang Mai Summer Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Chiang Mai Summer Resort is down a small Soi there are tuk tuks and eateries just round the corner and the markets are a small walk away. We stayed here for 4 weeks and would have stayed longer if we could. The young couple running the place turned a good holiday into something special. We will be staying here again.
Keith and Jen

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were amongst the earliest guests to have booked and stayed with Chiang Mai Summer Resort. A little skeptical at first since there was not enough reviews anywhere.

It turned out to be one of the most enjoyable stays we had. Aside from the attention given to minute details from the garden to the pond, to the charming swing (made from a tree), to the friendliest house cats, to very attentive and friendly hosts who made sure that we had everything we needed, we couldn't ask for more.

The hosts speak good English, although it did helped that we understood and converse in some Mandarin too. The couple was so exceptional, we always get extra food stuffs for them when we returned from outside.

It was a very memorable and unforgettable vacation. On the last night of our stay, one of the guests whom we hand mingled with, decided to cook for everyone in the house. The hosts were very generous to lend a helping hand and set up a large table at the garden. It was Lunar New Year period, it sure felt like a warm reunion dinner.

By the end of our stay, there was probably a hint of sadness. We didn't get to say goodbye to the lady host as we assumed she was out to run errands; she surprised us at the airport with some gifts, she was out to buy the gifts for us, while we left for the airport.

Our 12 nights stay was exceedingly enjoyable, and definitely recommending to anyone visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quirkymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our vacation in Thailand was perfect. This hotel was icing on the cake! You can really feel at home in this charming lanna style house, with wonderful garden, cute cats, lovely helpful owners and convenient location inside the old town. The amenities were more then enough (fast internet access, silent air con, good shower, confortable bed and cushions) If Chiang Mai were not so interesting as it is, especially during Songkran, I would be difficult to leave the hotel in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stop looking and stay here!! This resort is comprised of 4 teak houses which were renovated with satalite tv, air conditioning, a huge bed room, your own balcony, an open air living room and a kitchen. It is in a perfect location near the TaePaeGate (spelling?).

The couple that owns the place are some of the most geniunly kind people we have ever met. They have 3 little cats are are so sweet and friendly. I loved them!

Go to the Woody's Elephant Camp that they recommend. Woody loves his elephants so much and spends his time and money saving them and taking care of them. Truely an unforgetable experience.

Stay here, you won't regret it! It was one of the best places we've ever stayed and we travel A LOT.

Room Tip: I personally think the Village#2 is the nicest. Best view, porch and gets nice sun during the day.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The Chiang Mai summer resort is a wonderful place to stay. with 4 separate living houses and a pretty garden open area to sit out under the lime trees, this little
piece of heaven should be a must if you are planning on staying in Chian Mai. we ended up staying in 2 different homes during our stay to allow for a larger party to sleep as we had a large place to begin with. Our houses, like the others, are raised up with the bedroom/sitting room on the top floor. equipped with a/c, tv and very comfortable beds & pillows you will rest well. the below area has an open sitting area with either a couch and hammock or lounger chairs as well as a table and chairs for eating at. the kitchenette has a toaster, kettle and coffee maker and the owners supply you with bottled water, fruit and bread for making your breakfast in the morning. the bathrooms have a toilet and a shower that has shampoo and some body wash and everything in the whole place is kept very clean. the owners are a wonderfully kind couple who will get you anything you need, including allowing us to use their laundry machine. they supply some mosquito coils if you need them at night as well. Now that we have stayed here we really couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when we return. Not to mention they have 3 of the most sweet kitties we have met. fantastic value. fantastic people. fantastic place. we really loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeeDeeFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Torentje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.0 mi away
sala lanna Chiang Mai
sala lanna Chiang Mai
#68 of 386 in Chiang Mai
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Thapae
Villa Thapae
#66 of 882 in Chiang Mai
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Suns
Seven Suns
#87 of 775 in Chiang Mai
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thapae Loft Hotel
Thapae Loft Hotel
#35 of 775 in Chiang Mai
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Nara
Hotel De Nara
#97 of 775 in Chiang Mai
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Love CNX
Love CNX
#106 of 882 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Summer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Summer Resort

Address: 4 / 1, Soi 6, Prapokklao Rd. | Phrasing Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 882 Specialty Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $78 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiang Mai Summer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiang Mai Summer Resort features four Thai traditional wooden villas with beautiful garden. Each villa is equipped with king-sized bed, free internet access (wireless), air conditioning, in room safe, retro fan, 32-inch LCD TV (cable TV), hair dryer, microwave oven, induction cooker, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, electric kettle, cutlery set, traditional Chinese tea set, etc. We also offer free self-laundry service and tour information consultation.Chiang Mai Summer Resort is situated in the southeast of Old City, next to Wat Muen Toom. You will have a unique view of the temple from the villa. Our location gives you easy access to everything: 3 km from the airport, 900 m from Chiang Mai landmark Tha Phae Gate, 3 minutes walk to Saturday night market, 2 minutes walk to Sunday night market and 3 minutes walk to Chiang Mai's most famous temple Wat Chedi Luang. We are only 2 minutes away from Old City's largest market Chiang Mai Gate market where you can enjoy many authentic northern Thai snacks and tropical fruits from the food stalls there.For reservation, please send an email to us, with the following information: your name, phone number, number of guests (adults/children), names of guests, passport numbers, number of villas required, check-in and check-out dates and any other special request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chiang Mai Summer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing