We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #67 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The place is well located and it has a really nice design to it. We felt comfortable and had everything we needed in the hotel.
Breakfast was included and it was good as well.

I have nothing negative to say about the hotel but it is still not an amazing hotel. Its just very good for the price we paid. Its also very good for any hotel anywhere so I am sure you will be comfortable there.

Room Tip: All levels have different themes so any floor will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabstercrbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about Nimman Mai? Design Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays among us.

We will continue working to improve our services and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    121
    48
    18
    4
See reviews for
42
91
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel offers many styles to choose from. Clean room and beautiful. Near the entertainment Nimmanhenmin. Good breakfast. Good idea of providing IPad at the lounge area for free internet access.But, the swimming pool is quite small.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Noom_Mixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about Nimman Mai Design Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays among us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your facilities and services . We will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

First time visiting Chiang Mai, I stayed at Nimman Mai for 2 nights on a business trip. Strategically located where you can find lots of dining places nearby.
Labelled as design hotel, you can’t be mistaken by its exterior that, mind my comment, I think was ‘trying too hard’ to live up to its label. The deluxe room, however, was clean and quite spacious for 2 persons. Service was good.
I could be wrong, but perhaps this hotel is representing what the city is all about: laid back, no-frills type, and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baskoroadiwiyono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your comments about Nimman Mai Design Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your business and holidays among us.

I will pass on your comments to our team. They will be delighted to read them. I am sure they will help us to keep and even improve our commitment to guest service.

We will continue working to improve our services following your comments and would have pleasure in welcoming you again in the nearest future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very clean, surroundings are quiet, located near good restaurants. Breakfast was okay. No swimming pool but a small jacuzzi near the check in counter, no privacy. Transportation is not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Nimman Mai? Design Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
Your feedback regarding our service is very important to us. Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location of the hotel is quite strategic, which near Nimmanhemin Road. There are some boutique of local brand fashions, and local food along the road. It is quite happening during night time.

The receptionist is quite friendly and sharing the tourism info with us with packages provided in reasonable price. Even though it is just a small hotel, the design sense of the common area is good and homey, especially the bistro and second floor. American breakfast is provided, and it tastes good too. And, I like the idea of providing IPad and the lounge area for free internet access, instead of huge PC. But, the swimming pool is quite small.

The room is quite huge and nicely decorated with diffrent themes. And there is a small courtyard at the balcony with water feature.

But, there is a minus. I lost my handphone sim card as I left my handphone in the room. I only discovered that when I am at the airport leaving ChinagMai. No complaint was made because I did not have a strong evidence for this incident. Just share this for your awareness, if you are reading this. Never leave your handphone in the room even though you are not using it when you are travelling.

That's it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Absolute V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Our Precious Guest,
Thank you for your great feedback on our hotel. I would personally like to show you our policy on lost item and our control system. Please read below information so you can be sure that your phone is definitely not get stolen from our hotel.

Security encompasses areas such as security of the property itself, company assets, employees' and customers' personal belongings and valuables, life security, personal security etc.

In all workplaces management stipulates that it is not responsible for valuables and employees personal belongings (their handbags, items kept in the personal lockers, etc.). Yet management must take all possible measures to prevent theft among employees and of employee belongings through its hiring practices and through the implementation of effective management, human resources and operational policies, such as:
• Background checks of selected applicants
• Policies related to employees' entry to, and exit from, the workplace
• Spot checks of locker rooms and lockers
• Effective supervision and control during the work cycle
• Policies related to the discovery of criminal records and wrongdoing among, and by, employees
• Control of people entering and exiting the workplace
With regard to guest valuables, management informs guests that the hotel is not responsible for valuables left in the room, advising them to secure these in safety deposit boxes provided by the hotel. Besides taking care of security issues related to the people they employ (as outlined above), management must undertake some necessary measures, among which:
• Providing "secure" (safety) deposit boxes and areas to keep valuables
• Policies and practices to ensure the security of these boxes and areas
• Management and operational policies regarding the security of guest rooms
• Management and operational policies regarding the security of public areas
• Security policies and practices for the back-of-the-house areas
• Employment and training of security personnel
• Policies and practices to minimize the "presence" and "patronage" of "shady characters" and criminals, verification of registration and check-in personal data and documentation submitted, and curtailing free movement of unknowns on the premises, as well as direct, free flowing communication with local, national and international security authorities)
• Training of staff in guest and valuable security
• Effective supervision and control procedures.
We hope you will be clear with our policy and we look forward to be in your service in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This fairly new 'designer' hotel has a solid basis to become even better: its location within walking distance of the Nimman entertainment area and close to the downtown university.
Reception and service are fine, friendly and helpful. The rooms are conveniently furnished, quite comfy but they do lack the 'designer touch'. Despite the name everything is pretty much average. Cleanliness could be improved, but nothing to complain. Some hooks to hang garments or towels in the bathroom would be highly welcome. The waterpressure is a little bit on the weak side, but thats not uncommon in Chiang Mai hotels. Certainly hot water for the sink would be nice - shaving with cold water?
Breakfast is offered in a simple but functional little restaurant on the second floor. Plain and simple, but you can order eggs any way you like them - and if lucky you will get them that way too.
Construction noise during the day from a site close by will certainly stop, once that job is finished; tends to be a little disturbing if you hang out in your room. You can check the punctuality of aircraft too, as the hotel sits right under the runway approach; and that will not change. But: its just a 15 minute ride from the airport, which is very convenient.
The pool is a nice touch, for sure a good promotional gimmick, but unfortunately not more than a gimmick, as it is simply too smal to do anything more serious than splashing around.
In any case, with the friendly staff and its really great location it is a good value-for-money place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shitaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,
We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Nimman Mai Design Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Your feedback regarding our service is very important to us. We are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and working on improvement.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location near Chiang Mai Uni and there are plenty of great bars and cafes. THe hotel itself is quiet and the beds coffee. It is a new hotel and obviously made by IKEA. Which is fine for now but I wonder how it will stand up over time. DIdnt experience any noise issues etc.

For the price (We paid approx $50AUD per night) this place is great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganlee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimmanMaiHotel, Manager at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We highly appreciate your comments and thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Nimman Mai? Design Hotel Chiang Mai. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback.
Your feedback regarding our service is very important to us. Thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
#85 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
BED Nimman Hotel
BED Nimman Hotel
#6 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yantarasiri Resort
Yantarasiri Resort
#149 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanae Hotel
Sanae Hotel
#81 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 2/1 Soi 2 Sukkasem, Nimmanhemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nimman Mai? Design Hotel is a new kid on the block created as the trendy space for vogue travelers, nicely located on the Nimmanhaemin Road, one of the greatest hip venues in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Offering an entirely new experience with creations of a new 8 floor building rising to the blue sky shift to conceptual of stylish silk pattern that reflect on every dimension of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing