We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be coming back”
Review of Dozy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dozy House
Ranked #49 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yeppoon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will definitely be coming back”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dozy House almost a year and a half ago but have only just started using TripAdvisor. We checked into Dozy House after driving around Chiang Mai. We planned to stay one night and ended up staying for the entire rest of our trip. Gina is an absolutely beautiful person who is always willing to help. She was so helpful to us. We spent many nights playing Jenga and cards with the staff. The rooms were quite large, bathrooms were spotless and the beds really comfy. One night Gina's friends cooked a bbq and shared it with us. We had a great time. We have planned to go back to Chiang Mai to stay at Dozy House and catch up with Gina and her friends one day soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonH1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
98
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the moment you check in the owners are so friendly and helpful. At check in we were presented with a map and the owner kindly pointed out where we were, the attractions nearby and helped with suggestions on what we could do for the remainder of the day, where to eat etc. Its rare you come across such hospitality and exceeded even some 5 star places we have previously stayed. The room was very clean and comfortable, there was a constant supply of free bread, jams and coffee/ tea in the downstairs kitchen. The location is great and within walking distance of all the major attractions within the city wall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have now stayed at Dozy House 3 times, and have never been disappointed. It is in a very convenient location within the city walls and is within walking distance of many Chiang Mai attractions. Gina, the owner, is infinitely helpful in helping to plan activities, arrange transportation, and anything else that may be needed. I have relied on her for more things than I can list! The recommendations have always been spot on.

As for the hotel itself, it is down a small alley so it can be hard to find at first, but once you do it is quite convenient. Rooms are simple but comfortable--the mattresses are definitely better than most I have encountered in Thailand. There is also free bread/jam/fruit/coffee in the morning. Downstairs there is a sitting area with drinks you can buy (honor system)--this provides a very relaxed environment for socializing.

Anyway, give Dozy House a shot, you won't regret it. I certainly haven't--already have 2 more stays booked!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful stay at Dozy House - owners and receptionist so friendly and welcoming. English was amazing. They help arrange trips and recommended places to go and eat.

Rooms were really clean and quaint - would definately stay here again!!!

little kitchen area where you can help yourself to toast, tea and coffee.

Only reason we moved on from here is to explore new places.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennythorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place the staff were really friendly and made us feel right at home ,the room was coulourful clean and comfortable ,there was a shared cooking space and they had basic supplies we could buy ,the price was right ,it wasn't Chintzy or tacky and they really went out of there way to be helpful with things like advice and finding reliable taxis.it is within minutes of many of the temples and places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesKlein1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I fell in love with the room immediately, a pink (double) room! Also the ensuite bathroom was lovely, made me feel like I was at the beach. The owner and staff are very friendly and always willing to help you with further travel plans or tours in and around Chiang Mai. They arranged for us a day tour to Doi Suthep and the Tiger Kingdom. Also just around the corner is a great local street stand/restaurant with a variety of dishes for a great price (around 50B each). The only negative remark is the location, it is a little bit difficult to find and not as close to the part in Chiang Mai where everything-happens than other hostels, but everything is still in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostel room was very basic with thin mattresses and concrete floor. The owner was lovely and couldn't do enough for you. The location isn't ideal but you are near a main road to get a taxi to the busier parts of town.

For the price you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#57 of 747 in Chiang Mai
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#37 of 747 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nonni Guesthouse
Nonni Guesthouse
#46 of 747 in Chiang Mai
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#31 of 747 in Chiang Mai
419 reviews
1.5 mi away
TR Residence
TR Residence
#53 of 747 in Chiang Mai
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Banilah
Banilah
#34 of 747 in Chiang Mai
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dozy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dozy House

Property: Dozy House
Address: 2/1 Soi 2, Singharaj Rd. | Sripoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dozy House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a brand new hostel in Chiang Mai city. Dozy House hides itself away from all the hustle and bustle, and is situated within the old Chiang Mai old city walls in the North West corner. Dozy House offers great value accommodation as it has been designed especially for the budget conscious backpacker, traveler or business person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dozy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing