We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple facade but great inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Come Chiangmai Lanna Boutique House
Ranked #145 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple facade but great inside”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Location- great. Near everything but far from the noise. Close to nice restaurants, a massage place and walking distance from the center.
Room- spacious, light, simple but well decorated.
Bathroom- very clean, good shower, hot water.
The staff- friendly and helpful.
This is not a luxurious hotel but it is very nice and cozy. A comfortable stay while feeling in Chiang Mai and not at an impersonal resort.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floor are better as those on the lower level and close to the stairs are very noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mendietan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location - inside the old city, walking distance to the Sunday Night Walking Market and the Saturday Night Walking Market. Also very close to Chiang Mai Gate in the Southern end of the Old City. There are lots of excellent restaurants nearby, and plenty of temples as well.

The hotel is clean and simple with a Thai flavor. The staff is friendly, and the free breakfast is decent. Our room did not have much outside light - no windows, which was a bit of a bummer, but I think there are other rooms with windows. Worth checking when you book your room.

Overall a reasonably priced and pleasant guest house. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marymoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

2MovingTheChi enjoyed this hotel. It is not fancy but it is comfortable. We stayed in room #5 which is a standard with a small balcony over looking Ratchaphakhinai Road. A bit noisy with traffic.

Our guest room was somewhat rustic with a comfortable king bed. The cement floor is painted yellow and brown with a small throw rug on the side of the bed near the entrance door. Wall pegs are on one wall to hang clothes or gear. A table with a small television (we do not watch TV so I can't tell you about reception or channel selection). The only other furniture in the room was a dresser to hang clothes with one shelf.

The bath room measured about 3 foot by 12 foot, a red tile floor, a floor drain at each end, a western toilet with sprayer, a sink and shower. The doors leading to the bathroom make getting in and out a bit cumbersome. The shower offers a choice of a sprayer or rain shower head. Water pressure was adequate with hot water. Drains are slow.

All rooms have a padlock on the entrance door. When inside your room, the key is inserted into a wall unit to engage the electricity. The air conditioning unit is operated by a remote and worked very well.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. You select from a limited breakfast menu. I had the scrabbled eggs with toast, fruit and tea. Actually, we had tasty dinners in this restaurant a couple of times. We also liked their "Guilty Passion" smoothie.

The staff is friendly & accommodating, though not overly outgoing. They understand enough English to help in any way.

For what we needed, it was great. Located in the southeast quadrant of the Old City, it is within walking distance to many markets and Wats.

2MovingTheChi.com has been traveling since April. Starting with the U.S. and currently in Thailand. Travel posts can be found at 2MovingTheChi.com.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have balconies overlooking the street and can be a bit noisy. Great for people watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2MTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 5 nights in total and really enjoyed ourselves.

The resort is Thai 'lanna' style. Clean, uncluttered and big rooms. We had a deluxe room so had a fridge and plenty of space (I think the standard rooms are smaller).

The location is second to none. Right in the old city and a 5 min walk to the huge weekend market. We hired bicycles to get around the temples for 50bht just down the road. Plenty of restaurants, bars, shops etc.

The breakfasts are great. Varied choice, fruit, tea/coffee, juice and a choice of eggs and toast, croissant, bacon, muesli or Asian breakfast.

The food at the restaurant is also very good.

My only niggle would be that the staff aren't massively friendly, no easy smiles etc. but that is just a tiny thing.

Definitely book here, you don't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senttocoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Come Chiangmai hotel is well located in Ratchapakinai Road being near the corner of the old city thus being close to both Tha Phae Gate and Chiang Mai Gate. It is in an area with many restaurants, cafes, internet cafes and laundries.The rooms have over-large wooden doors which are locked with a padlock on the outside and with a wooden bar across a latch on the inside. This system may look good on an architect's plan but in practice it is awkward and noisy at night. There are similar doors leading into the bathroom. As you open them you face the basin but they get in the way for the shower to the left and to the toilet on the right. The bed looks nice until you realise it is just a mattress on a raised wooden platform with access space on one side only. Also in this access space is a table and lamp standard leaving very little space to get in out out of bed unless you do this by crawling to the foot of the mattress and clamber over the platform. It is a very odd arrangement indeed and ultimately very annoying. The only cupboard was a curious box half the height of a normal cupboard and useless for hanging clothes and storage. Unlike every other hotel I have stayed in in SE Asia, there was no fridge and no coffee/tea making facility and the TV was the smallest I have seen in years. Make your own mind up but I will not be returning to this hotel because of the room. On the plus side, the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: See my comments about the room style
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talismanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had the advantage of being in Chiangmai for 1 day at the start of our trip (at Galare, which is not recommended), and thus the time to search for a nice place to stay when we would return to Chiangmai for 2 days at the end of our trip. My wife had booked several spots that looked promising from her search of Trip Advisor and Booking.com. We rejected all when visiting them (and with 3 day cancelation policy at Booking.com, cancelations are no charge). So we started wandering around, and found this road with many "boutique hotels". Many were sold out the days we needed (just before New Year's, when half of Thailand vacations)...and the rest had tiny rooms, very expensive rooms, dirty rooms, on busy road, etc. Come Chiangmai had a great mix of what we wanted - a nice room, on a quiet road (albeit one infested by Farang), with decent restaurant food (though we chose to eat breakfast from our grocery supplies and/or at other shops after 8 days of hotel breakfasts), quite helpful staff, an available room (the staff was nice enough to spend time with their reservations to find a room we could stay in for both nights), and an excellent price (1100 B = $35 withOUT breakfast. 200B more to include breakfast for family).

We had no complaints about the place (which is odd for us).

The staff helped us find just the right type of restaurants, arranged for a cheap, safe, ride to the hotel (in what turned out to be an unlicensed taxi, but safe non-the-less, and he knew the short routes through the city), and helped in a variety of ways. My wife chatted with them in Thai, but it seemed they spoke fairly good English also.

There is a 7-11 type place half a block away which had some basic supplies.

The alley-based laundry next to the hotel did a great job on our clothes (30B/kg) even if it looked sketchy.

The VW-bus-based bar down the street had terrible drinks.

After 8 nights on the road in a variety of locations, it was great to end our trip at Come Chiangmai - we'd return (if we had a reason to visit Chiangmai again).

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are about the same... Note that there is no elevator, so lower floors easier as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleBasedVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed 3 nights, my room is clean and spacious even it has no balcony but there's a balcony in the public area that you can chit chat and reading book. Staffs are very friendly and helpful, and they speak good english. Location is good that there's lots of coffee shop and eatery near by, 10 mins walk to Chiangmai gate, there's lots of food stalls and do not miss the Saturday market! Plus, they have good signal and high speed wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joelleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
#81 of 381 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
99 The Gallery Hotel
99 The Gallery Hotel
#43 of 381 in Chiang Mai
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
R & N House
R & N House
#185 of 826 in Chiang Mai
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Canal Boutique house
Le Canal Boutique house
#31 of 826 in Chiang Mai
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
ThongRan's House
ThongRan's House
#12 of 736 in Chiang Mai
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Pillow Hotel
La Pillow Hotel
#147 of 736 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Come Chiangmai Lanna Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Come Chiangmai Lanna Boutique House

Property: Come Chiangmai Lanna Boutique House
Address: 64/1 Rajaphakinai Road,T.Phrasingha ,Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Come Chiangmai Lanna Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Come Chiangmai Lanna Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing