We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must do this!!”

Sammy's Organic Thai Cooking School
Ranked #13 of 67 Food & Drink in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“You must do this!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

A day at Sammy's is much more than just learning to cook! You spend the day with him and his wife, at their rice farm, in a beautiful part if the countryside just outside Chiang Mai. The selection and choice for cooking is excellent, even if you are vegetarian, and the quality of what we cooked that day makes me feel I want to open my own Thai restaurant! Having a siesta in their hammocks in between courses was so relaxing, and their toilets are definitely the best in the whole of Thailand!! Thoroughly thoroughly recommend this experience - you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Nicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    26
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We attended this cooking class today and thoroughly enjoyed it. You learn lots about Thai cooking and get to cook and eat a variety of wonderful dishes. Sammy, his wife, and all of the staff are excellent and very good at teaching you. The class is held on a beautiful farm away from the city which is nice for a change.
Overall great value money for 1,000 bhat, and a great day had by all. Would 100% recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in chiangmai! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Its taken me a while to get around to doing this, but reminiscing of travelling and the wonderful memories of this place made me do this review. - sammy, his wife and his adorable daughter welcomed me and the group to his beautiful farm and learnt how to cook beautiful food and had the best thai meal whilst there, it is great value for money and the little touches like lemongrass tea from the farm and a siesta on the hammocks midway is fantastic!

Ps. Ask sammy about the famous toilets!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fun and smiling, Sammy has a wonderful cooking school just out of Chiang Mai in a beautiful setting: on his organic rice farm!

Delicious cooking in a warm-hearted atmosphere.
I enjoyed walking around his garden-like setting - with flowers and various plants growing everywhere... even in the 2 ''most beautiful washrooms in Thailand'' !
Very sweet environment, and kind & smiling staff working for Sammy and his wife.

Adapted well to a vegetarian menu!

Loved the cooking class itself,
and enjoyed lying in the hammocks after a delicious big lunch!!

A wonderful day!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Ella5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Was recommended by the staff at our guesthouse. Great day spent learning thai food on Sammy's farm just outside of town. It is absolutely beautiful area. Nice to get out of the city.

Food was excellent as was Sammy and his wife both speak great English and extremely knowledgable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Organic Thai Cooking School also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Sammy's Organic Thai Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing