We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Wat Lok Molee
from $45.57
More Info
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveler rating
288
207
40
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
288
207
40
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city beautiful temple lanna style city gate chang puak gate wooden structure interesting statues worth a visit assembly hall lanna kingdom main temple moat chedi buddha architecture century buddhist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came across this by chance really when monsoon rains caused me to look for shelter as I was walking the inner city moat /boundary. What struck me was the black and white decoration on the temple building, and the old stupa to the rear. The fact that this temple was simple was endearing, and I had time to appreciate the interior whilst I sheltered. A monk entered whilst I was there and I found the chanting he began for a couple of worshippers to be calming.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank VivienneS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

This temple was built in the 1300s. It’s grounds were a part of the royal palace until King Guna invited some Burmese Monks to stay here and teach Buddhism. The current 3 tiered building was constructed in 1527. King Phra Muang Kaew’s ashes were buried here. After the Burmese captured Chiang Mai they did not harm the temple complex and even buried the queen’s ashes next to the king’s. You can find it near the Chang Puak Gate.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank HINAWASEEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Wat Lok Molee is located on the north side of the moat. Unfortunately I didn't found any further information about the foundation of this Wat. However, it is obvious that this temple contrasts significantly from the others in the city, as it is less harled and gilded than most others. But that's why I think it's absolutely worth seeing.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank anspaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Wat Lok Molee's grounds were originally used as a Royal Palace until 1397 when King Guna turned it into a place to house 10 Burmese monks brought by him to further spread Buddhism. The present buildings were erected in 1527. First came the giant three-tiered Chedi and was followed by the large Ordination Hall.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank enikolova52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Wat Lok Molee Temple is situated about 400 meters west of the Chang Puak city gate, on the north side of the north moat that surrounds the Old City. It is not known when the temple was built but it was first mentioned in a charter in 13667 CE. During the Mengrai Dynasty King Kuena (1355-1385) invited 10 Buddhist monks from Burma to spread their teachings on Theraveda Buddhism, and the monks were housed in the Temple.
The Chedi was commissioned in 1527 by King Tet, and he also had a viham assembly hall built in 1545. The bare brick chedi (one of the largest and most impressive in Chiang Mai contains the ashes of several kings of the Mengrai Dynasty, who rulked the Lanna Kingdom from the end of the 13th century until 1558, when the Burmese invaded the Kingdom and it became a tributary state. The Burmese rule lasted more than 2 centuries and ended in 1775.
The chedi and the brick foundation of the ubosot (ordination hall) are the only original structures still in existence today. The viham in front of the chedi was built in 2003, a wooden structure built in the traditional Lanna architectural style. The front entrance is guarded by two magnificent Nagas. A teak wooden pavilion in the temple complex holds a statue of Queen Chiraprapha who rules the Lanna kingdom from 1545 until 1546. The Wat Lok Molee complex also contains kuti- living quarters of the monks.

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank remembertoremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews