We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”
Review of Sixty House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sixty House
Ranked #463 of 776 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I was quite concerned when I read about the crazy owner, but during our stay we didn't experience any of that behaviour. In fact the receptionist was incredibly helpful and nice (don't know if she's the owner though)!

The room as well as the bedsheets were very clean, shower worked good and the wifi signal was perfect!

During our stay the guesthouse was fully booked and I can totally understand why!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Dankpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Sixty House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My and my boyfriend have recently stayed here . I'm not sure why people have given this a bad review because of the "reception".

I had booked the wrong date online as we were arriving from Bangkok and didnt realise how long the journey was. I emailed ahead and they changed the reservation to the following day with no fee which was a god send!! (Thankyou)

We were greeted with smiles even though we woke up reception because of how early we arrived. I can understand the reviews about the attitude of the staff but we began to just use the back entrance, this way you dont see the staff at all. The hotel/shop front (as it is a tour operator too) shuts at 9pm but this is not a problem because the back entrance can be accessed 24hours a day.


The rooms themselves were very clean although small. There's no tv, no air con (which was advertised on the website we booked with) and no fridge. But we were happy as the price helped us stay on budget. Our room never got cleaned, towels changed and we just about made it to the end of our stay with the toilet roll we had. Im not sure if this was our fault for sleeping in but other places we have stayed have still knocked and asked of we wanted fresh towels ect.

Overall our stay was pleasent and we will probably stay here again on our return to Chaing Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geestarr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and blight room. Comfortable bed. Ample hot shower. Strong Wi-Fi connection. Louver windows (For women, it’s very good. You can sleep with the windows open). Good location and quiet. My room was relatively small, but 60 House has everything definitey I need! Actually, I came back to this hotel. Worth for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sky-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a great location. It is close to the centre but without the noise. You have free wifi in your room and a laundry service next door. The down side for me was the staff... They were not friendly and did not make us feel welcome. My boyfriend and I don't spend much time in our hostel because we like to explore but for the short time we were there it felt very uncomfortable. I wouldn't stay here again (Finlay's cottage is just a few meters away on your left and is much more friendly)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very unpleasant atmosphere due to owner/manager attitude. She is not friendly,at all and at times openly hostile. She made my fiancee feel so bad, we knew we had to move. Rooms there are smallish and it is very loud during the night thanks to drunk backpackers who love to rent their 3+ room, so there is no peace and no normal frindly connection you experience in other places in Chiang Mai - don't waste an opportunity to make new friends and enjoy the city - avoid this place and give others a try.

Room Tip: ask if you can stay on a lower floor - may be you can sleep better
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The owner/manager of this place is very hard to deal with - she is smiling one minute and reprimanding you the next, or treating you with classic passive-aggressive vibes, or ignoring you... She makes a point to be nice at first, but that doesn't last long... It does not depend on your behavior- she is just always switching moods, and since she is there all the time you have no way to avoid it... It is very unpleasant and kind of crazy-making...
We have stayed at the place for several weeks, and we could never make sense of that... Finally, it became so unpleasant we just had to move - too bad for other people who are working there - they are all very nice, but her negativity overrun all of them...
I'd definitely give this place a pass -why stress when there are so many nice places in this city

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a very good, quiet "no frills" guesthouse for the budget traveler. Rooms are very clean, and well maintained but on the small side. They have bed, table fan (quiet), luggage table, chair. private en-suite bathroom has western toilet and good water pressure and hot water. They provide a towel and blanket, bring your own soap.

This is typical of many guesthouse in this area. The really great thing is the location. It is on a small soi just off Tha Pae Rd right in the center of the traveler area. It is a 5 minute walk to the Tha Pae gate, and 10 minutes to the night bazaar. There are many restaurants and shopping just steps from the guesthouse.Their is an attached internet shop and right next door is to a motorcycle rental shop.

They show rates of 280 baht to 500+ baht, I assume the higher amounts are for air conditioned. For a fan room this place is great value, if you are a couple + and willing to pay the extra cost for air conditioning, check around you might be able to find something with more charm in the 500+ range.

Check out their website. Best to pre book on phone or internet (no pre payment needed) as the low priced places fill up fast in the high season. It's not really easy to come and walk around and check out places, because they are spread out on a labyrinth of small lanes.

A final tip for dessert or a snack.. Every night right on the corner of the soi there is a Muslim roti cart, selling the best rotis in Chiamgmai. (try egg and abnana) I've been buying them for over 7 years.

Enjoy Chiangmai.

Room Tip: I had room number 1 on the condense floor. It had two windows. Pretty quiet. Ask for the lower floor...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falangsabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
4.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 387 in Chiang Mai
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 387 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
2.3 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#25 of 387 in Chiang Mai
679 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sixty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sixty House

Address: 15/3 Tha Pae Soi 4 Rd, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 776 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $19 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sixty House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sixty House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing