We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were treated like Royalty the whole time we were there.
The William Baine Suite is out of this World!!
Great Location, handy to Old City, walking distance to River Restaurants and Markets.
The Staff are exemplary.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeterMorrisonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

Overall great service, wonderful place to relax, good location, historical setting with a modern design. Will definitely recommend to friends visiting Chiang Mai!

+ The staff were incredibly friendly and responsive - on our special request, they arranged some floating lanterns for us at the hotel
+ Amazing bathroom facilities
+ Calm and quiet setting, enjoyed lazing by the pool and on the bean bags
+ Beautifully restored teak house with a unique history - not something you'd normally find!
+ Good attention to detail - bedtime stories, providing insect repellant in the room, and the tailoring of the welcome note and daily news were very nice touches! (Seeing I was from Singapore, my note was in Mandarin while my European friends' were in English)

Some minor negatives:
- I thought there were too many switches in the bathroom! Was slightly confusing.
- One of the duvets was too warm; I woke up in the middle of the night sweating

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CX_Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Went with my Wife for dinner to the stunningly beautiful Restaurant here. Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived. Just walking from the Reception to La Palette lifts you into a world of the highest luxury. The lovely service which awaits you is so magnificent and so difficult to find in Chiang Mai.
But the undoubted highlight has to be the sensational food. The wealth of flavours on each plate is extraordinary as you sit in the exquisite Dining room that is breathtakingly beautiful. What an amazing date which we intend to repeat again and again. The Restaurant is not inexpensive by any means but certainly worth every penny.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DavidKins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The sevice is very good. The staffs are very nice. The welcome drink butterly pea juice is beautiful and tasty. The room are beautiful and comfortable. Very like the bedtime story. The breakfast is good, specially the waffle, ice coffee and the Pad Thai. Only one thing is the duck confit was not what we expected :) Anyway we love this hotel and definitely will come back again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Loletta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Was a great place to stay for a family vacation. Staff were friendly, however, many of the old staff are no longer there and the service at the cafe feels different. It's not as warm as before. Breakfast menu is limited as many items from the old menu were not featured anymore.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The service is perfect! Have a very good location.
The rooms are beautiful, lovely bedtime story every night.We did a cooking class, and it was really great. The chef is incredible, we could chose many recipes to do.


  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is my first time visit ChiangMai and this is a memorable experience that I 've ever had.The warm welcome from the staff was so nice .The spa treatment was wonderful. It was the most relax moment throughout my trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 393 in Chiang Mai
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $462 - $1,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing