We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I traveled Thailand from our honeymoon-- we spent a few days in Bangkok, a week in Chiang Mai and a week in Krabi. 137 Pillars was by far the BEST place we stayed the entire trip. It truly is a paradise. The staff, the accommodations, the food-- everything is top notch. The rooms are so luxurious, and the bedding makes you feel like you're sleeping on a cloud. We loved every minute and can't wait for our next stay at 137 Pillars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
There are newer reviews for 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

extremely comfortable,nice balcony,exellent service mind,cool and peaceful surroundings, beautiful garden,we appreciate many extra little things in the room especially Bedtime Story on the pillow .Everything was amazing,we love here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Khun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

What a beautiful hotel. I love the charm and the teak main house where we enjoyed relaxing in the parlor listening to live piano and violin music as we sipped our cocktails. It couldn't be more romantic, and relaxing.

The rooms are spacious and gorgeous with a huge bathroom and indoor/outdoor shower. My only complaint is that there were mosquitoes in our room and even though the hotel had graciously put up a net over our bed, I still got bit. Many times. They do provide bug spray for you, but for whatever reason, they still bit me! My husband didn't get bit once though…

It's in a great location; short walking distance (be careful of cars and motorbikes!), to restaurants and night markets. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mirathsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have only good things to say about this amazing hotel. Gorgeous grounds, amazing staff, the most helpful concierge I've ever worked with and extremely clean, spacious, beautiful, well decorated rooms. Great location! On one hand it's away from any chaos but on the other hand you can easily walk a few blocks and be in the center of cafes, art galleries and the night market. Not sure why some of the other reviews had complaints about noise. I didn't hear a peep other then a few mosquitoes buzzing in my ear but they even provide organic mosquito repellent. The breakfast could use a slight improvement if you want to get very picky but I was content with it. Great lattes! Overall I highly recommend this place!! It's very zen. =)

Room Tip: can't go wrong....all rooms are like little suites
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MellyMel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

137 Pillars House is quite possible the nicest hotel we have every stayed in. From the stunning, immaculately kept grounds to the high-end design elements, delicious food at every meal, beautiful pool, the one thing that stood out above all of these was the exemplary service from each and every member of the staff. I would not stay anywhere else in Chiang Mai and would return to Thailand solely for the pleasure of another stay at 137 Pillars House. Outstanding.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelingfoodietribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Found this hotel to have a wounderful feel about it, lends itself to reading, resting and relaxing. Close to the old city and markets if you want to shop and walk about and some nice river side restaurants nearby. Found the breakfast to be a real adventure, the Thai food was different each morning and the cheif would bring out different dishes to taste. Also the afternoon tea was a highlight that I would recommend. We stayed one week and tried all the three different style of rooms, if the budget allows the room with the private swimmng pool is very nice, but I found it to big. The old building has been beautifully restored and contains a library and cigar room. The hotel was full while we stayed but it didn't feel that way and the swimming pool was never crowded and I found it an excellant pool. My wife used the Spa frequenty and enjoyed the service provided.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNNY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Beautiful property, wonderful service and exquisite rooms. The most comfortable hotel bed EVER. The spa was amazing too.

Walking distance to a strip of restaurants and bars located right on the river.

You'll love it! Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mrs. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 387 in Chiang Mai
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 387 in Chiang Mai
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 387 in Chiang Mai
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $325 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing