We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is ideally located, close to wonderful local sites and the Ping River. The staff were delightful, and the room magnificent! Spa services were very enjoyable, the food tasty. The sense of calm and security added to the stay's pleasures!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ms. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,263 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I got the free voucher from the game winner for 1 night with breakfast. I had a chance to pass the front of the hotel, I know it is not beside the Ping river but it is closed enough to walk.

The hotel is with the contemporary decoration style, the old house - 137 pillars house is adjusted but we can still imagine about the old house. The room I got is the basic room, 1st floor with the balcony. The bathroom is fantastic, there is big bathtub, shower room and toilet. There is also the outdoor shower. It seems that the bathroom is bigger than the bedroom :) One thing I do not like is the mosquitos. Maybe it is only because during the time I stayed.

For breakfast, the line of food is not too much but we can get the fresh cook food, fried veggie, noodle or fresh bake bakery and homemade yogurt. The Chef was a breakfast tour guide, brought me along and explained. He is the first chef I have ever found.

This hotel is my place to stay when I go to Chiangmai next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I love this place. We stayed 3 nights here at room number 20. I asked for the quiet room as I think rooms in the front don't have much privacy which turned out to be great. The room is spacious with big bathroom and balcony.

Gym is small but good. The weather was too cold to swim but they have great swimming pool. The overall atmosphere and architecture is beautiful. I'm falling in love with the place. The piano bar area is nice and relaxing. I couldn't ask for anything more. It curtained became my 1st choice of hotel in Chiangmai town.

It is a bit pricy but I think you get what you pay for so I would recommend and certainly go back here again for a luxury hotel in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Spent 2 nights @ 137 Pillars House.

Booking : I sent them an email to enquire about their best rate for the East Borneo Suite. Altough there was still availabilities on their website, they told me the suite was fully booked and advised me to book William Bain Terrace Suite which is quite a different pricing. I could however book my East Borneo Suite afterwards via slh.com

Check-In : Was fast and efficient.

Room : Great room, great appliances, very comfortable bed, free mini bar (not all items though, so better watch out what you pick), great atmosphere, elegant decoration and Quiet room.

Lunch - Tried a few Thai dishes : What a disappointment ! I believe they try to be somehow fusion or modern Thai, but it this case it just does not work at all. My advise would be to focus on simple yet perfectly executed Thai dishes.

Breakfast - Although reported several times in the past reviews : The breakfast is really not up the level. The selection of dishes is good but there is definitely a lack of quality : Croissants are dry and the buffet is not refreshed regularly enough. No napkins on the table : You'll have to ask for it every time...

Service - I really liked the selection of songs within the room and I asked them if I could purchase the ipod nano from the hotel : I could not. Asked them if they could print out the list of albums or songs : They could not.

Overall : Yes for the room and overall atmosphere. F&B + Service are not up to the level and need improvement. Will explore other alternatives on a future stay.

Room Tip: Room NB 12 was a great pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponponfbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Location: Good location, easy to access the main street.

Room: Very nice decoration with complete amenities. Quality and space of the suites are perfect. Look wonderful both day and night, feel like staying in your own house.

Breafast: Good quality with great attention from all staffs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TTBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

By Penny M.
Houston, Texas
January 8, 9, 10 2014
My travel agent recommended this Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with all the amenities.
Lovely and helpful staff. We will stay here again. Loved the room decor. They packed us a very nice breakfast "take-away" box of food when we left very early in the a.m. for our flight. A very nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mrs. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Wow!!! What an incredible hotel, beautifully designed, fantastic food and great staff. We loved leaving Bangkok for a few days and arriving at this oasis.

The perfect location just across the river and only a few minutes from Old Chiang Mai. Some of the best restaurants in the area are just walking distance from the hotel.
We will be returning back for many years.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Triptitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $482 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing